We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and location”
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Sands Negril
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value and location”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed Feb 9 to 16 2013.

This is a great basic 2 star on a fantastic beach in a great location in Negril Ja.

Stayed in Junior suite. On beach side. Nice bedroom with flat screen. Basic washroom. Basic kitchen. Very basic living area - good for vegging. Relatively private.

The hotel rooms are are a great value -$55 - $70/night.

Go and enjoy!

Owners and staff very nice - no problems.

Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Away from road is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_c_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Director of Sales at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Great review that is short, honest and to the point. Glad you enjoyed your room and your time with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to hosting you again soon.
Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    280
    88
    48
    34
See reviews for
130
272
84
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I hesitate to do this only because I don't want to ruin my chances of getting a reservation. This is my home away from home every January. I wait all year long to return to heaven on earth, Negril and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Francis and his staff are wonderful. I have nothing bad to say about this place. It is my favorite place on earth, wonderful staff, the people of Jamaica remind me of the joy and beauty in this world!!!!! Till next January my Jamaican family. Respect and love from Philadelphia

Room Tip: Garden side is quieter, you have to cross a road to get to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Director of Sales at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We will make sure to reserve all of January for you ! Thank you for spending time with us and enjoying our little piece of paradise. Stay warm during the winter months and come back again in January for sun, sand and relaxation.
Kindest regards,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed at White Sands for 9 nights the first week in November 2012. It was just my husband and I. Our first impression was how quaint our room was (we stayed in a standard garden room not on the beach side). We really liked the exposed beams on the ceilings and the french doors opening to the wonderful balcony. The room was basic and functional. The room had bed with a night stand and lamp on each side, dresser with mirror, chair, armoire, stand and mini-fridge. We spent our first night in room 210 with a full size bed. After spending the night with my bum hanging off the bed and my husband's feet hanging off, we spoke to the Manager, Francis, after checking the availability offered us the room next to ours which had a king size bed (room 211). All was right with the world :)

Pros:
- Great Value: price is low for a perfect location as you are right in the middle of 7 Mile Beach.
- Better then an all-inclusive as you can pick and choose where you want to eat.
- On site restaurant serves breakfast and lunch. Food was excellent, good size portions, reasonable price. Horace is an awesome cook!!! Try the Aki and Salt Fish! Jennifer was very accomodating and always prompt with service and smile!
- Best drinks on the beach!!!! Great 2-for-1 drink specials.
- Office staff friendly and helpful!
- Owners are on-site and very involved. We had the opportunity to speak with Henry, the owner, on several occasions. He wanted us to be happy with our stay, even offered us a ride to the airport, so we didn't have to pay for a transfer, as he was flying out the same day. Shout out to Judy!!
- They have security on the beach during the day to ensure you are comfortable and not bothered by peddlers. Our stuff was always safe. Additional security at night.
- If you are staying on the garden side don't worry. The property is located on both sides of the street with access to the beach within several hundred feet.
- A/C in the rooms work great!
- Updates to the rooms were being done while we were there. This never impacted our stay. They actually waited until we left our room before they started.
- Walking distance to many great local restaurants and bars.

Cons:
- No wash clothes in bathroom.
- No microwave
- No inroom safe (there are actual safe deposit boxes in the office) FREE of charge.
- Lumpy pillows

All in all the cons are very minor for the value you receive. Depending on how you look at this, for us it didn't matter, there is no phone or TV in the room. We will definately stay there again.

Get more for your money and a more authentic experience by staying here versus an all-inclusive.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Going1Going2Gone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Director of Sales at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your detailed trip report. We appreciate your Pros and Cons section ( very well stated ) Glad you were able to meet the owners and spend time chatting. It is what makes White Sands fun and relaxing. We appreciate your business and look forward to hosting you again.
Regards,
White Sands Negril

PS
Little comment about the washcloths. We have them, but so few people use them that we do not stock the rooms with them. But if you ask for them, housekeeping will bring them every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

While the Jamaican tourist bureau has coined the phrase, it is also very specifically befitting WHITE SANDS.

Henry Moo-Young and his family offer a cozy haven in Negril for a multitude of return visitors. With a tidy 45 rooms, WHITE SANDS offers accommodations both on the beach side and across the street, in a lovely setting with garden views, that are comfortable and extremely reasonable.

There is a no-nonsense beachfront bar with daily 2 for 1 specials.

Sadly the White Sands restaurant is the weak link in this otherwise delightful, family-run operation but there are other options within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clearingcustoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your kind words. Our grill has limited service for breakfast and lunch. I agree that there is room for improvement with respect to getting food served more quickly. We appreciate your honest feedback, it shows you care, which is extremely important to us. I hope the property will work on this soon.
Cheers, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Whitesands many times over the years and we KEEP going back! Very well run hotel convienient to everything on the beach.Very clean and well kept.The staff and crew of Whitesands always go out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable.The manager Francis Williams treats all guests with a unique enthusiasm which is second to none.The beach bar is fabulous.Paul and Tony run it well and we are always happy to see their smiling faces.Security is very good here and it is truely a great place to take the family! cant wait to book our next stay!
The Wolfs

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveandLois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a trip report. We are thrilled to have such loyal clients who make White Sands Negril their home every year, something multiple. Glad Tony and Paul greeted with you smiles and great cocktails each day. We are truly blessed to be located on the best part of the beach. We look forward to hosting you on your next as much as you look forward to returning. Cheers, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed at White Sands Jan 9 - 19 2013. Once again our trip was fantastic. What made it even more enjoyable this time was the fact that Francis and most of the staff remembered us from our last trip and greeted us like old friends. Yes, sometimes the food is slow, sometimes the water was off and sometimes the wifi was not working, but these were not typically normal occurances. Things do not always go right at home and the same goes while on vacation. But these people try to make it right. There are too many instances to list of small acts of kindness that we experienced from the staff. They are what make this hotel a place you want to return to. If you are looking for a luxury hotel this is not the place for you.
One recommendation - please replace the mattress in G9! It was our second stay in this room, and the bed is still like a cement slab!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamaicaGyal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a trip report. We are thrilled that everyone treated you so well when you were on property. Regarding your comment about the mattress, they are tricky..some like them firm, some like them soft, others like them medium. They are hospitality grade mattresses. I will check out the room you mentioned and we will see if something can be done. We recently installed a new WiFi system on property, not sure if it was installed when you were there. Coverage should be good and the goal is to get coverage at a minimum on each balcony, and inside as many rooms as possible. For those reading this who have not stayed with us yet, please note WiFi is free. Thank you again and if the winter gets too cold please come back down, we would ove to host you again !! Cheers, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I return year after year to Negril, Jamaica and I keep returning to White Sands. The hotel staff from the front office to the maintain crew all care about you and your experience. The vibes at White Sands is calming, yet the energy has great vibes. Too many staff to name them all, but the staff at White Sands has been the same for years (that speaks volumes of the management) Your experience at White Sands and your trip to Negril will be what you make it, but White Sands will help you facilitate an authentic one. If you are a easy going traveler, this is the PERFECT place to spend your money and time.

Room Tip: garden room for nature feel, beachside if you run back and forth to your room alot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ruttday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for allowing us to host you again. You are absolutely correct, the staff are a large part of what keeps people coming back to White Sands year after year. We are truly blessed to have such loyal clients and we thank you for allowing us to host you each year. Safe travels and we will keep a seat ready for you at sunset...
Kindest regards,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#17 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#12 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Property: White Sands Negril
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing