We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Sands Negril
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Negril
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This "hotel" is really a joke. I wouldn't give it any type of "star" rating. I stayed here with a family member for 6 nights and everyday the service got even worse. First, the cleaning lady Nora had a major attitude when I made a complaint that there was an ant infestation in the room and soiled linen/garbage outside of it; she came back to myself and cousin and yelled at us! Next, White Sands are completely fraudulent. There was a faulty, ancient refrigerator that broke while we weren't in the room and they charged us for it! The manager, I believe is called Mike, maintenance man and cleaning lady ganged up on me in a rude, unprofessional manner. As a young businesswoman in her 20's I was appalled and felt unsafe; the police were called to the scene. There is really no incentive to staying in this place but a major headache. There is no phone in the room so if you need anything while staying on the beachside, you have to walk across the road...so annoying!

If you want to stay in a run down "motel", here's the place. God Bless and bring your own insect repellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LeeeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I was waiting for it. I am eminently qualified to respond because I was the one who personally dealt with you. You checked into your room with a refrigerator that was in perfect working condition. You reported that the refrigerator door broke several days after you arrived. The hotel owner personally visited the room to inspect the broken door. The refrigerator was over packed with supplies.

When you checked into White Sands you signed the registration card that clearly states you agree that you are responsible for breakage and damage to anything in your room. It would not surprise anyone reading your rant that you were not happy when you were told you had to pay for the broken refrigerator.

As for the police…I asked you if you wanted me to call the police so they could come to the hotel and hear your story and give their impartial feedback. You agreed to this and that is the reason why the police were called. They listened to your story. They asked you if you used the refrigerator extensively while you were in the room. You said you had. They asked you if the refrigerator was broken when you checked in. You said it was not. They asked you if the refrigerator broke while you were using it. You said it did.

They then asked you if you felt you were responsible in some way for the damage. You said you were not responsible in any way. They asked you if you felt you should pay anything towards the damage, you told them you should not have to pay a single penny.

The police asked me how I wanted to proceed to settle the matter. In a show of good faith, I discounted the fee that was originally accessed and you ended up paying a grand total of $50. An amount that will not allow us to replace the refrigerator. So we will take a loss for the damage that you caused. The police told you that it was only logical that you should accept some form of responsibility for the breakage, but you refused to accept any responsibility.

Before the police left you said that as soon as you got home you were going to write a terrible review about White Sands on Tripadvisor. In this respect, you are true to your word.

As for your comments about our staff….the woman who cleans your room has been with us for about ten years and if you read previous posts you will read that people love her. Henry handles all our maintenance issues and has been with us for about 30 years. If you read previous posts you will read that people love him.

We have been receiving clients for over 40 years and will continue to do so for many years to come. We are very thankful for our wonderful staff for making it all possible and for the service they provide to our clients throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    278
    87
    48
    33
See reviews for
125
264
83
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed in a normal room a few nights then upgraded to the one bedroom. All of these rooms are very large. The one bedroom is great if you are looking for a bit more amenities (like cooking!). Most of your time will be on the beach anyway so for those that don't need much a standard room is fine. Everyone who worked there is amazing. So nice. Would stay here again on next trip to Negril

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mahal0al0ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you were able to experience different rooms. You went from the smallest to the largest, which gives you a great idea of what we have to offer. For those new to White Sands, in addition to cooking, the One Bedroom Apartments also offer TVs.
Glad to read you will be returning to White Sands should you find yourself in Negril again, and when that happens, we look forward to hosting you.
Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We've stayed here several times in the past couple of years, others we know have stayed here every year for 15 consecutive years. They know a good thing, and so do we.

The location is perfect. You have the entire expanse of 7 Mile Beach at your disposal, but you don't have to move an inch if you don't want to. Find a chair under the shelter and relax, sooner or later the beach will come to you. If you're hungry Patty-Man, Lobster Guy, Jerk Pork guy or any number of vendors will be by to take care of your needs. Smokes, Juice, jewelry, newspaper... anything. If you miss it the first time, don't worry, they'll be back!

The rooms are a good value for the money, although the prices have gone up recently. At this point, we'll probably continue to go there, but if they go up much more we may have to take a second look.

Altogether we have always enjoyed our stay at White sands. We've stayed at several other places, but always squeeze in a few days or more at White Sands.

Room Tip: Try 8B, it's a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your loyalty. Yes, it is true, we have been receiving many clients for 15 years, some for much longer, 35+ years. The realization of just how wonderful it is to see so many familiar faces each year came as a progression for us. Clients came with their young children, then before you knew it, the kids were married and returning with their children AND the grandparents. All at the same time, all on the same vacation and all doing things together on the beach. Wonderful to see and it really makes us appreciate and cherish our little resort all that much more.

It is true we have increased our prices a bit over time in some rooms. But our summer rate for Standard rooms, which are the majority of our rooms, have been the same price since 2008 ! $57 a night double occupancy for a room with a/c, refrigerator and balcony, we feel is a great rate. What tourists do not understand is that the costs for water and electricity have gone up exponentially over the past 5 years and yet we have kept our rates low. We did increase One Bedroom Apartment rates a few years back after they were totally renovated. We know the rates in Negril, we know the level of management at the small hotels, so we are confident we offer very good value for money.

Anyway, the best thing to do is shop around. The intangibles we offer are out great staff, management and location. Hard to put a price on those !

Thank you for taking the time to write in and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Four of my nieces stayed in the one bedroom apartment and six of us sisters and cousins stayed in the private villa for a week in May 2013 for my 40th birthday, with all ten of us enjoying the villa's private pool and staff-prepared meals. We had a fantastic time in Negril and loved staying at the White Sands, aiming to return in April 2014. Service was great and friendly except for the bar which was very poor, bringing my rating down from excellent to average. The value was excellent, especially considering it was off-season, lowering already low rates. Sleep quality was average with the beds not thick pillowtop mattresses. The location was excellent on Seven Mile Beach. The rooms were average but large and clean. We did not have room service but the maid service was regular. There is no fitness centre.

Room Tip: The four bedroom, four bathroom villa with its own private pool was awesome for groups and my nieces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank boomtown73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for writing a review. Great to hear your family booked a One Bedroom Apartment and the villa. That is the ideal way to host a group because the family has a place to hang out when they are on the beach, and you can then all spend time in the private pool at the villa.

Sorry to read about the bartenders. I have to say, over the years we have received great ratings about our bar. Our bartenders have traditionally received great reviews. I would like to know more about the experience so we can improve the current service. If you want to email the hotel directly they will forward your email to me and I will follow up with you confidentially. Entirely up to you, not a problem if you prefer not to. Your point is well taken and I will follow up with the bar regardless.

Thank you again for taking the time for your fair and balanced review.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Let me say it was a pleasure to stay at the white sands hotel,my three grown up children and i had a great time.The staff were helpful and friendly expecially Jennifer and Henry,the rooms were of a good size,clean,and comfortable.The location is great, you've got the beach on your door step,restaurants,waterpark,cambio, and a 20 minute drive to the famous ricks cafe.There is a chef on site, and cooks a wicked ackee n salfish.If you like pinacolada the bartender gets it right every time.
Great value for money!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor seem to feel larger due to the elevation of the ceiling(roof) it's no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank iwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Great to hear you and the family had a great time with us. Wonderful to know the staff took care of you. Jennifer and Henry are tremendous. Henry has actually been with us for over 20 years ! Glad you enjoyed the food, drinks and beach. And yes, it is true, we are centrally located on a great part of the beach. We love it when people appreciate getting value for money!

We look forward to hosting you and the family again real soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Visited White Sands in July with family and friends. We choose the beach side room thinking we would have a view of the beach but the beach side is exactly how it sounds, the side of the hotel with the beach. The room on the beach side was extremely small. We decided to switch to the Garden side because we were with our children and would have to cross street when returning from dinner at night (parking is only located on the Garden side). The room on the Garden side was very spacious however, the room had a very bad stench which I could not tell if it was coming from outside or from the bathroom. The sheets and towels in the rooms were old and the pillows were lumpy. BEWARE, there are no TV's or telephones in the rooms and the front desk closes at 8pm. The pool was dirty and I never seen anyone in it for the three days that we were there. No place for children, this hotel would be the perfect place for some fellas that are passing through Negril and have night activities planned.

Room Tip: Garden side rooms are much larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Magdelena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
We actually do not sell or describe any of our rooms with ocean or beach view. Please read our website. We feel the room descriptions on our site are accurate. I agree with the title of your review ‘You get what you pay for.’ For the dates you stated with us our Summer Special rate is less than $60, including tax. A great rate for a hotel on the Negril beach with our amenities and level of professional management. To think you would get an ocean view room on the Negril beach for that rate is a bit of a stretch. All our standard rooms ( beach side or garden side ) are priced the same.

If you had any issues with your room while you were here and had brought it to the attention of management we would have done our best to accommodate you. Based on what you wrote, you did not come to us, so I can only suggest that when you travel next and have an issue with your hotel room, bring it to the attention of the hotel so you can give management the opportunity to correct the issues.

If you read the ‘About Us’ page on our website we tell readers that if they are the type of travelers who require TV in their room then it would be best if they booked another property. So I gather you did not read our website before you stayed with us.

Your comments about the water quality of our pool are absolutely not true. I also categorically disagree with your comment about children staying at White Sands. Families with children have been visiting us for the past 40 years and love it. And the children come back with their children!

As for the pool, your comments are simply not accurate. The garden side pool is cleaned daily. In addition to the daily chemicals that are added, we run a ‘Tigershark’ machine through the pool that cleans not only the bottom of the pool but also the sides. The pool is absolutely clean. If you did not see anyone in the pool it is because there was no one swimming. It has nothing to do with the water quality.

I can read between the lines and take great offense at your comments about how you feel that White Sands is a ‘perfect’ place for men to stay who are ‘passing through Negril’ looking for ‘night activities.’ We do not condone that type of activity and it offends me that you would stoop to that level in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at a quiet time - lovely - at the beginning of May, 2013 and noted that everything worked well.....hot water, air conditioning, fridge, comfy beds. We did have one night, when, next door, some loud people arrived and I then realized that the wall wasn't soundproof but fortunately, they left after one night and we were again in peace. The barman wasn't your usual jolly Jamaican but was OK. We didn't eat meals there - fortunately had a car to get to "town" for a patty and a box Orange, the typical lunch, or a meal. It is good that the Patty guy comes by on the beach but you should try an unusual treat nearby. On the beach, just to the left of the hotel, you will see a sign "Niah's Pattie Shack". Go through the gate in the metal fence and you will discover unique patties cooked over a charcoal burner...more like Mexican empanadas. They are huge and have curious fillings which vary day by day. I used to live in Jamaica for years and never saw patties like this! Give them a try.
We liked the pool table, ping pong and visits with the young parrot, by itself in the cage near the office - the 2 parents in the next cage were not hand-raised and are fierce but the young one will allow a person to scratch its belly. Wait for an owner to show you.
My one suggestion would be to post a list of evening musical events that are scheduled along the beach at various hotels., usually from about 7-9 pm. This would add some fun activity and a chance to experience some REAL Jamaican old time music or support up-and-coming musicians. They were playing to almost no one when we eventually located them.
All in all, White Sands provided a reasonable price for a super location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Glad you enjoyed your time with us. You cannot time arriving when it is quiet, but when you are lucky enough to hit it, you feel like you won the lotto. Good for you! I will to have a talk with the bartenders. We only have two, so I am not sure which one you are referring to. But nonetheless I will let them know they need to get Happier ! Strange because many guests write in saying they are a pretty happy bunch of guys. Maybe it was slow and he was not feeling the vibe. No excuse though. Thanks for the feedback.

Good suggestion for posting the evenings events, but not sure how practical it would be. We do tell people to check with the bartenders because often the events are announced by the guys walking the beach giving a shout out about the events. So that is why we simply tell people to check with the guys at the bar.

Glad you liked our price and location. We are a simple place that is affordable and luckily we are located in the best part of the Negril beach.

Thank you for your post.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#13 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#7 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Property: White Sands Negril
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing