We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“White Sands Negril is great!”
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Sands Negril
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in Negril
A TripAdvisor Member
“White Sands Negril is great!”
Reviewed 5 April 2004

I can't tell you how much we love White Sands! We just returned from 6 glorius days there. It was clean, quiet, and beautiful. The grounds are so beautiful. The maid cleaned our room very nicely each day. We always had clean towels and sheets. I have stayed in other places on the beach where you have to beg to get your floored swept each day. Our floors were cleaned and the bathroom was always sparkly clean. She even folded my clothes and neatly put them on the chair! The beach bar has 2 great bartenders and really great 2 for 1 specials. We were very happy with our experience at White Sands.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    280
    88
    48
    34
See reviews for
130
272
84
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 March 2004

Due to the reviews at TripAdvisor and the very nice home page of White Sands we booked a 2 weeks holiday there. We were looking forward to a peaceful stay and also to meet the friendly staff. On our arrival the first impression of the resort was good though we were disappointed because of its location near the beach road with heavy traffic. Since our room (gardenside standard) was nice and clean we decided to stay.
Unfortunately the coming nights were not peaceful at all and we often were not able to sleep until 4 in the morning (extremely loud music, dog barking, screaming and partying of other hotel guests, traffic).
Due to Spring Break (of which White Sands did not inform us before settling our travel dates) every other hotel in Negril was fully booked and we had to stay there. Although we never complained the staff was not very friendly and we think they didn't really care. We wont go back there.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 March 2004

Just a note to thank everyone at White Sands Hotel for your hospitality, warmth and kindness. It was very enjoyable. Francis and his staff went out of their way to make our stay a pleasure. Hope to see you next year.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winona, mn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2004

we really enjoyed our stay at White Sands. The room was very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We appreciated the central location and the fact that it was quiet at night. The beach bar was fun with the different drink specials every day. We hope to visit again.

Helpful?
Thank jpb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 March 2004

We have been staying at White Sands every year since 1998. We started with 2 weeks, then 3 weeks, 4 weeks and are now up to 8 weeks every winter...Just back a week ago and already miss our Jamaican family.
What can I say that everybody else hasn't already said.....They are Family!!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 February 2004

White Sands has become our second home in Jamaica. Having visited the island six times and explored many other lodging options in Negril, this quaint resort definately outshines the competition (including the mega circus resorts). White Sands provides a true Jamaican experience that the big resorts will never touch. The hotel has employed an excellent staff who will consistently amaze you with kindness and warmth. Take advantage of the laid-back atmosphere by exploring the property's spectacular flowers and birds. Rooms are simple and very clean. Location is excellent with nightly entertainment within walking distance along the beach. The best value in Negril, hands down!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 February 2004

The hotel is really OK. It seems to be among family people. Everybody there made my stay in Jamaica be really wonderful. If I come back to Jamaica, I'll stay at White Sands.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#17 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#12 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Property: White Sands Negril
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing