We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaican Paradise”
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Sands Negril
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just back from White Sands.

Wonderful (second) stay, made all the more wonderful by the bar and restaurant crew who serve up the best food, drinks and music on the beach. Friendly environment with many guests who come back year after year.

My family and I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you have kids, beach side will avoid the worries of crossing the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Glad to host you on your second visit. All Negril tourists love our beach bar and grill, thank you for the kind words to our staff.

Love to read that you will be back, we look forward to hosting you.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Location is perfect - 7 mile beach. Everything is working properly and room is cleaned, but... Standard room is tiny and dark. Even with lights on I could not read during the day, forget the evenings. Rooms do not have: phone, TV, beach towels, coffee makers or hot water pots, clocks. You have to go to the bar for each cup of tea or coffee. Standard rooms on the beach side are just off the main road, so traffic noise in the room is terrible all day or night even with balcony closed. Also each square foot of land on that side is used for rooms, there is no place where you can sit and relax, you have to be only at your room or at the beach. Beach is tiny for the hotel size and very crowded, most of it is taken by bar and restaurant, very few beach chairs in the shade and they are taken from the very early morning. Pool is across the road on other side.

Room Tip: There are so many hotels in that area, I am sure you can find something better for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zanuda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Sorry the room did not meet your expectation. We do not advertise that we provide beach towels or that our standard rooms have TVs, phones, coffee makers, hot water pots or clocks. Our units with cooking facilities have coffee makers and appropriate cooking utensils.


We are consistently voted as offering the best value on the beach, an accolade we are proud of. Many of our Tripadvisor reviews also comment that we offer the best value on the beach. And for this I am happy because it is true.

I hope you will be able to find an accommodation that better suits your needs on your next visit.

Regards,
White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Prime location for a low key vacation. All resort type of activities are near by and the serenity of a private beach. The staff are friendly, informative and attentive, it's my favorite spot in JA :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gelilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Wow...love to read that we are your favorite spot in Jamaica. We are blessed with being located on the best part of the Negril beach. Near to everything but far enough away to escape.

We all look forward to hosting you again soon.

Cheers,

White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you are looking for a clean, quality room to sleep in, and be centrally located on 7 Mile beach then I don't think you can get a better deal than White Sands. It is nothing crazy luxurious, but that is not what I look for when traveling. I would rather spend my money on food, drink and activities so White Sands is as affordable as you can get. The rooms comes with A/C, a fridge for rum and Red Stripes, and a clean bed. The staff and bartenders are friendly too.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach side room, then you will not have to cross the road to get to the beach/bar/restarua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spax0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you for such a great recommendation and review.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We just returned from our 5 day stay at the White Sands. We had been there 4 years prior, and we liked it then.. but now it's even better. We stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment, with our two young adult children. We had plenty of room are we were impressed with the improvements to the apartment.

The WS is not fancy. But it is clean, friendly and all you need. The staff is wonderful: Francis and Henry were always more than helpful, Kay did a wonderful job keeping our room clean & organized. And Jen has done a wonderful job with the restaurant ( good food, service, and always remembered our names).
You can't ask for a better beach, or location on the beach... it was just perfect!
I am going thru withdrawal now, I miss it all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cat8Gainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

So wonderful you allowed us to host you and your family again. Glad you loved the One Bedroom Apartments. We are glad you like the improvements and updates have made. We are constantly investing our money back into the property and it is nice to read a review that acknowledges our efforts.

It is true, we are not fancy. As you say, we are clean, friendly and located on the best part of the Negril beach. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, they are what keeps clients coming back year after year.

Don't go through withdrawals too long...come back soon and share our beach with us!

See you soon.

White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel staff were very nice and helpful (Francis, Henry and Ms Kay), but the accommodation is basic..... A/C is in the room, the eco-friendly type, the bathroom was great, water pressure fantastic. This hotel has wifi that allows you to still stay in touch with the rest of the world. The beach was nice and the restaurant staff friendly (Ms Jen) and food great and affordable. For the price this property is a great deal....... i would recommend it, not at all the all-inclusive hustle and bustle. This is a great place and get away and relax.

Room Tip: Stay beach side if possible for a great view of the ocean. Also, you want to bring beach towels alon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you so much for the great trip report. My apologies for posting my reply so late, I guess I missed this one. I owe you a Red Stripe !!

Great to read the staff treated you well and you enjoyed your time here.

'Ms Jen' served me breakfast this morning and I will be sure to tell her you gave her a shout out the next time I see her.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel staff were very nice and helpful, but the accommodation is basic..... A/C is in the room, the eco-friendly type, the bathroom was great, water pressure fantastic. But there were no rags or beach towels. The beach was nice and the restaurant staff friendly and food great and affordable. For the price this property is a great deal....... i would recommend it, not at all the all-inclusive hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you liked the accommodations and the staff treated you well. It is true we are a budget property so we do not provide you with beach towels. We have a gift shop on property for those guests who do not bring a beach towel. Thank you for recommending us to future clients and we hope to host you again in the future.

Kindest regards,
White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.5 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#17 of 80 in Negril
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#44 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 80 in Negril
1,151 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £51 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing