We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Week at White Sands”
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Sands Negril
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Great Week at White Sands”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was the third time staying at White Sands Negril for my wife & I.....no complaints, so we will definitely be back. WS is a basic, family run hotel with all staff treating all guests like extended family. We stayed on the garden side and our room was always kept clean with great AC. The location on the beach is second to none, great swimming and an easy walk to anything on the 7-mile beach. The bar is a great place to hang out as Tony & the gang serve a different "2-for1" special each day of the week. Thanks again to Francis and the entire staff at WS!
Mike & Joy
Wisconsin

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelRWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Wonderful to host you and your wife for a 3rd visit. Francis does a great job taking care of the guests, as does all the staff.

Look forward to sharing our beach with you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    282
    90
    48
    34
See reviews for
131
275
86
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had a great time last week of January 2014. Good food nearby. Small rooms on beach side, larger across road. Good AC. Nice staff. Highly recommend if you like a la cart Jamiaca. Beautiful Beach. Water pressure is weak.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan_c_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Wonderful you read you had a great week with us. We appreciate your kind words and hope to host you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is our fifth time to Jamaica and we thought we would try White Sands because it had good reviews and cheap prices. Truly you get what you pay for. Positives : cheap, good wi-fi, clean. Disappointments: dated accommodations, toilet made noises and faucet dripped all night, tiny pool, uncomfortable chairs by beach and very little shade area unless you like sitting in rows behind others and not getting a good view of the ocean, no beach towels available to guests, no ice buckets, no tv, and no safe in the room. The safes in the office were not big enough to hold electronics and you could only access it 8 am- 8 pm. We love staying in places that are not all inclusive,as we love to dine out at all the wonderful beachside restaurants, but White Sands was a little too sparse in amenities for even our liking. I recommend the Coco La Palm if you want a nice place for a fair price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review. Sorry you did not enjoy your stay here. Hopefully you will find a place with the amenities you desire on your next visit.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Ok - the drinks at the bar are strong & well priced, hotel's location & beach are great, & restaurant had GREAT tasting Jamaican food...if they didnt run out of menu items, i would stay positive but the service is slow (even for Jamaica) and sometimes rude, although Henry and the security crew are top notch and make u feel safe and comfortable. I am disappointed to write that we probably should have stayed elsewhere because of the basic basic basic lackluster of the room that we overpayed for...we had a "deluxe" room on the "oceanside" and am curious as to why the room was labeled deluxe (just a dark room and 2 old beds, old bedspreads, old nightstands, and rusty fridge) or oceanside (it is next to the road). When we asked for clean towels, the housekeeper inspected our dirties and chastised my husband on the cleanliness of our dirty towels - Nevermind that we voluntarily cleaned our own room every day and only asked for towels after the third day. Luckily we had brought our own towels for the beach as we read and realized they don't provide pool or beach towels - Coffee or tea? - u must buy it at the restaurant and deal with rude, slow service when u first awake. Paper thin walls - I heard TMI from all sides - every conversation, bowel movement, flush, and coital groan. Too bad there was no tv or radio to drown it out. Stay here only if you get the bottom dollar price that most payed (unfortunately not us - i learned we got ripped a new one after I talked with others) and can tolerate all the negatives described.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenandKim2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Sorry you feel you overpaid for your room. The vast majority of reviews are quite positive about White Sands Negril being great value for the money.

Negril has many different resorts, I hope on your next visit you find one that is a good fit for you.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The last thing we wanted was an "all-inclusive" vacation. We wanted our experience to be real and be part of all that was happening on the beach. White Sands is clean, simple and offered exactly what we desired in being able to be close to the beach and places to see. We brought our own small coffee pot and on the way from the airport (an hour ride) to the hotel, we asked the driver to stop at a supermarket where we purchased Jamaican coffee and snacks. The beach was spectacular and we actually loved all of the native Jamaicans walking by throughout the day selling banana bread, fresh juices, fruit, and an assortment of other things. The beach is pretty much in the center of the seven mile strip and we were able to find lots of good places to eat. We recommend Best of the West for the best jerk chicken and Niah's for the best patties on the beach, both within 100 yards of White Sands.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Always nice to host first time travelers. Wonderful to read you did not fall for the trappings of the all inclusive sales pitch. Smart. Great to read you were able to walk the area and eat at some great local spots.

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Allis, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

6th time to Negril, 1rst time at White Sands. I picked White Sands because of the price and reviews. I was a bit nervous because of the lower price and what some guests had said. But found all the positive reviews to be more accurate. My husband and I stayed in a room on the garden side which we will do again. I enjoyed the walk to the beach and the quietness. Only one morning we were woke up by our rowdy, spring breaker neighbor boys @ 5 AM which was a bit disturbing , they were foul mouthed and extremely rude but not White Sands fault. We talked to Valerie in the office and security and it didn't happen again. Our room was spacious and clean. Good refrigerator and quiet air conditioner. Our windows had screens on them also which I found to be a plus. Our friends were on vacation with us but stayed at Grand Pineapple, a small all inclusive which they love but they had an old noisy air conditioner and no screens on all their windows. It was important to me that I read one or two reviews suggesting you bring your own wash cloths and beach towels, also own shampoo, lotion,soap, etc. which I do any way. Janet, our lovely, Fun housekeeper supplied us with plenty of clean towels and made our comfortable bed up and cleaned our room daily to much satisfaction. Valerie, Janet, Henry,Ariel, Jennifer,Paul, the Chef were all friendly and accomadating. All the security guys were all great also, sorry I didn't get eveyrbodies name. I believe it was the owners also that rode a golf cart and greeted us every day also. Our spacious patio was very nice too to sit out on and watch the wildlife right in front of us in the palm tree's. Little hummingbirds, colorful finches and little lizards chasing each other. Favorite places to eat was Montanas(really good inexpensive food, basic or fancy) on the road across from "rooms", Niahs Patties just a hop skip and a jump from us and Tonys bar was a favorite hang out with the greatest bartenders Milton and GraceAnn. Met the most fun people every night. Going towards Grand PineApple thier is a bar and little store called Mara's (not sure of the name) to buy cheap beer to fill your fridge or hang out there to drink beer with locals and tourists, Great times!!! Can not wait until next years trip. We stayed 3/8/14 to 3/16/14.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pajoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
6 time Negril traveler pretty much puts you in the elite category. Glad you chose White Sands for your trip and based on your review you had a nice time here. Great to read you enjoy the laid back local scene which is what Negril is all about. As long as you do not get trapped behind the walls of an all inclusive you can get a true Negril experience if you are looking for it.

See you next time through.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was my third time to Negril and second time I stayed at White Sands. The first time a group of us stayed in the villa which was amazing. It is across the road from the beach and has a private pool. This time I booked my trip just 17 days in advance. My room was sold out and was upgraded to a junior suite with no problems. Francis was great to work with on this and assured me everything was good prior to arrival. Check in went smoothly. Henry took care of getting our luggage to our room and every time we saw him he would always ask if everything was good. A group of us were walking to Best in the West one night - a restaurant down the road and Henry rode by on a bike and again asked if everything was good. Henry is awesome! At first I was nervous about leaving my travel docs, money, etc in the safe boxes in the front office but there was no worries with that either. They have a key and you have a key to open them together. The property is safe and a great location. We enjoyed many cocktails at the bar and their 2 for 1 drinks are great especially the dirty bananas. Beach was beautiful. Weather was beautiful. Great price. I would stay here again and recommend to others. Everything is always good in Jamaica. I can't wait to go back. Stayed 3/17-3/24

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Glad you host you again. Very nice to read you had the chance to stay in our villa, it is a great place for small groups and families. Francis always takes care of guests and I am glad he was able to move you into a Junior Suite. Glad you enjoyed your time again and we look forward to hosting you again and sharing our little piece of paradise with you.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.5 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#36 of 80 in Negril
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 80 in Negril
1,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Property: White Sands Negril
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing