We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Sands Negril
Ranked #20 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

White Sands is a wonderful little hotel. If you are looking for lots of bells and whistles this isn't your place. Ditto if you have small kids.

If you want a relaxing get-away this is perfect. Very clean, great maid, all staff helpful. Stay on the beachside if you can, it's worth it. There is no TV (didn't miss it) but it is quiet and it was roomy with an amazingly comfortable bed and they have free wifi. Location is convenient to just about everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDK882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you...I gladly accept being called a Great Little Hotel !!

We do offer a laid back relaxing vibe and I am glad you agree.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to hosting you again.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    282
    90
    48
    34
See reviews for
131
275
86
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We went down, two girls for a 5 night vacation and had the best time ever. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We especially loved the bartenders Paul and Tony. On our final evening I happened to step on a sea spike and Paul was quick to help pull the spikes out of my foot. Bless his heart. The 2 for 1 drink specials made each day enjoyable and you really can't beat the location. Right in the middle of it all. Close enough that you can go in any direction for great food and live music. The grounds have heaps of beautifully coloured flowers and the sunset from the beach is breathtaking. The rooms, although nothing special, were very clean. You can't beat the value of this hotel. We will definitely be back next year and likely with a few more girls in tow!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We love hosting families, thank you for allowing us to take care of yours. Paul is a great guy who makes great drinks and now I know he is a pretty good doctor.

Thank you for your kind words.

Wonderful to read you will be coming back with more friends!!

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at white sands with my family for the easter weekend. our accommodation was a standard apartment on the beach side. there was plenty of room and then some. it has a small kitchen with full size fridge. there was a bedroom with 1 queen bed and single then 2 singles in the living room. the furniture is a bit dated but most hotels in negril are like that. the shower was nice and hot. the rooms were clean and staff friendly.
I was worried about being right next to the bar but we heard no noise and slept very well after a day in the sun.
breakfast was good and very fast, they serve lunch also but we didn't eat so cant comment. the only down side was that the parking was on the other side of the road which is difficult when you have sleepy children that don't want to walk. the pool could also do with a bit of a clean. I see why people keep coming back to white sands its great value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your kinds words. Great to hear we were able to host you and your family.

You traveled a long way to get here. If you are every in the Caribbean again we hope to see you again.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at WSN for one night and the reception was poor...there isn't much parking available...and no security/lookout/anyone to guide us properly.
We arrived at night and the property was very poorly lit-had some trouble finding our way around.
Also, i found hair in the sink and the bath was not properly cleaned since the last guest!
The WSN beach area opposite is relatively quiet and very clean...lovely beach experience made up for the hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karuna_moonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Sorry to read your comments, they are not representative of what we offer as a hotel.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaska, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This was my 4th time staying at the White Sands. I think it's the best value and location on the beach. The staff is very helpful, food is delicious, and the bar atmosphere is very friendly. Booked my next two weeks for next year before I left.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
You took the words right out of our mouths....we love it when people tell us they find us the best value on the beach. It is especially nice when it comes from people who are multiple time visitors to Negril.

Smart of you to book so far in advance. Winter months book out well in advance.

Have a great 2014 and see you in 2015.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for the 3rd time this past winter. Splurged a little and booked the deluxe room on the beach side. The room was huge, not a lot of furniture, the bigger fridge was great, but we don't spend too much time in our room so the furniture was not a big deal. The view from the small patio was amazing, a little slice of the beach, you could hear the waves every night. That was occasionally drowned out by the neighbors next door and behind us; the ceiling is not sealed between the wooden beams, but usually it was not a big deal, but if you like it quiet, stay downstairs or on the garden side. Everyone at White Sands is so kind and most remember you, which I love. We will be returning, and I can't wait!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamaicaGyal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Yes, we are still family run and I am glad you enjoy spending time with our family.

Come back soon, we look forward to sharing our beach with you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at White Sands and found the room price to be very affordable. The staff were amazing and did everything to ensure that we were comfortable and satisfied. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, and the property had great security. The room also had a fridge and air conditioning which worked great. The food at the restaurant is delicious and Jennifer is the sweetest waitress who always has a big smile on her face and she is always happy to see you! Also there was always lots of seating at the beach or by the pool. We stayed on the garden side because it was less expensive and the rooms are bigger. I would prefer the location of the beach side, BUT the garden side was so quiet and peaceful and closer to the pool.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are less expensive and bigger in size and closer to the pool and it is more quiet on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKAT2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
We appreciate your kind words. Many echo the same feelings and we enjoy being considered one of the best values on the Negril beach.

Thank you for writing taking the time to write a review, we look forward to hosting you again when you visit.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.5 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#37 of 81 in Negril
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 81 in Negril
1,120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Property: White Sands Negril
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing