We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at White Sands”
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Sands Negril
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Paradise at White Sands”
Reviewed 22 May 2005

April 18, 2005
New York

My husband and I were just looking for a small place to getaway from New York and we found our little peice of heaven at White Sands. Of course, the weather was perfect but, the staff ( the family which is how we consider them) were great:) Every day Ethel would meet us for breakfast and prepare the best veggie omolets, while chatting up a storm to make us feel at home. Sonia, Tony, Francis and Uncle Henry made sure we had a drink in our hands, any questions answered, and if we were too burnt Uncle Henry to the rescue with Aloe from the garden plant. We only spent five days but, to them we were family:)

Our plans started with doing every activiity known to us and by the time we left we only had taken up sun, relaxed on the beach and thought about nothing. The seven mile beach is beautiful no matter what time you want to take a stroll. The waters were perfect, clear as a glass of water. (So clear we were able to see a sting ray pass by us.) The new friends we met at White Sands just added to the perfect vacation.

White Sands is now our second home away from home. We are planning to return again in April and we are counting the months until then. Our daughter is also planning on going for her Spring break with her friends. So you see what White Sands does to you; it makes "everyone" want to be a part of the family. Thank you:)

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    282
    90
    48
    34
See reviews for
131
275
86
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2005

The best place I've stayed in the Caribbean (have been to all-inclusives in Montego Bay and Ocho Rios, to the Negril cliffs, to other places on the beach in Negril, and other islands). White Sands is what I imagine old Negril always was, a small hotel on the best part of the beach with wonderful staff, catering to those of us who don't seek out luxurious rooms, but who treasure feeling like we live in Negril while we are there, like it's our home too. Rooms are bare bones (bring kleenex, shampoo, everything but toilet paper and soap), but clean and safe. Forego the air conditioning, open the window louvers at night! The beach side deluxe room I stayed in had a refrigerator and a nice balcony where I read in the mornings and evenings. Horace whipped up scrambled eggs each morning at the beach restaurant. Tony and Paul remember your drink preferences at the bar (and look out for your safety on the beach). As a single female I felt totally safe. Francis, the manager, caters to your every need, when you need him, in the most laid back, but reassuring way. You can easily walk down the beach to other places for dinner. Bonus points for the pool table by the pool and the book library!! I met people who have been staying at White Sands for years. If you are looking for the simple pleasures in life (no TV, phone, alarm clock, or beach towel service, bring your own), early morning sunrises, calm water, and lounging by the bar with a Red Stripe during sunset, then White Sands is for you!

Helpful?
14 Thank athomptig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2005

We just came back from Negril in April 2005. We stayed at White Sands hotel for four nights. We had a blast. The hotel is a simple place to stay on a beautiful beach. We spent all day on the beach and did not even noticed that they had no phones or tv in the room. The room was very bare with no pictures. I gave this hotel an average review because the hotel is nothing fancy. We were going to stay at an all-inclusive hotel, but we wanted to eat at the different restaurants in Negril. The restaurants were great on the cliff side and they will send and pay for a cab to pick you up. The only bad thing about Jamaica is that the food service is so slow. Make sure that you are not starving because service takes up to an hour. I guess, they are on Island time. White sands is in a great location on the 7 mile beach. We were able to walk, on the beach, to Jimmy Buffet Margaritaville. They had great food and drinks. White sands also, had a great bar. Frances, the guy who ran the place was very nice and helpful. If we are ever in Jamaica again, we would stay at White Sands.

Helpful?
8 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2005

We first picked this hotel because of the great price and good reviews, and we were not disappointed. From our first contact (email and phone) before leaving home, until finally returning home, we were always well looked after. The grounds and gardens were absolutely beautiful, and the beachfront, bar & grill were perfect. Everything was well kept, our room clean and comfortable, and service always with a smile. We would definitely go back to this hotel in the future.

Helpful?
7 Thank constantlearnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 May 2005

I want to give a wonderful review to White Sands Resort in Negril, Jamaica. I was there from March 30, 2005 to April 6th, 2005. It was the most relaxing week of my life.

This is not an all inclusive or fancy upscale resort. There are no TVS or phones in the rooms so do not expect luxury. However, we had no problem getting a phone when needed and no problem catching any news from the TV in the bar area. I never needed to know the time, the temperature or needed a pair of shoes.

Our cabin setting was great for what we wanted and needed. We had a fridge and stove in a kitchen area. We had enough air conditioning to allow us to sleep well at night but not so much that we were cold, or would even want to sit around in our cabin with all the beauty we could enjoy outside.

The staff was wondeerful. they had a bus or cab waiting for us when and if we needed to go outside the immediate area. We were able to get on a snorkeling boat right from the beach outside our cabin. It was a short walk from our door down the sidewalk to the beautiful beach which was well taken care of by my new friend Bentley!! It was definitely among the best beach fronts there were, the size and cleanliness was perfect.

The bar was great, we could get breakfast or lunch and drinks all day.

I loved it!!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2005

Returned recently from Jamaica. While we were there we stayed at the White Sands in Negril. Great value, and the mangement and staff there are fantastic. Professionally run, well managed, gracious and very hospitable. The rooms are clean and the maids do an excellent job of maintaining them throughout your stay. If you need anything all you have to do is ask.

They have accommodations on the beach, and across the road. Our room was across the road from the beach. It was only a short walk to the beach and the room was in a new building and it was a good trade off from being on the beach side... The plants and flowers were magnificent.

We have stayed in other third world countries, and the White Sands rates among the top of our list. One can certainly spend a lot more money, and you may even find a fancier room, that being said; you will never find friendlier people, or a better vaule than the White Sands in Negril, Jamaica.

Our only regret; "we sound have planned to stay longer, 8 days and nights just isn't enough time." Contact Francis at the White Sands and book your vacation today... tell him we said hello!

Helpful?
8 Thank JohnBoyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, KS
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2005

We stayed in the 1 BR apartment right on the beach next to the bar--family of 4 with 2 teenage girls--March 12-19, 2005. White Sands is the kind of place we like--laid back, casual, right on the beach. We are not into big hotels and all-inclusive atmosphere. We are not fussy people so we were OK with the place--it wasn't as clean as we would have preferred but wasn't bad. The room worked great for us--kitchenette, separate beds for everyone, plenty of room, right next to the beach--just what we needed. Francis and the people at the hotel were very nice and very accommodating.

We were honestly expecting much more noise and "teenager problems" since we were there during spring break but were pleasantly surprised that we had little trouble sleeping--a few kids drifting in late at night making a little noise but not a big problem at all. All in all, the kids I saw were remarkably sane and well behaved--their parents would have been proud!

The location of the hotel is great--not next to any noisy clubs--the bar closes early enough not to be a problem (10?). Easy walking distance to several places to eat on the beach and taxis always available to go across town.

For restaurants, we liked Irie's and Alfred's. Kids loved Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville. I didn't find the food at the White Sands bar to be great--OK if you don't want to walk somewhere else. Best restaurant we went to during the trip was the Rock House--beautiful view and great food.

Have to say, that overall we were not too excited about the food in Negril--much prefer Mexican. But, the main attraction here is the beautiful beach and seeing someplace different.

We did wave runners and snorkelling from the glass-bottom boats and parasailing--great fun. See Everton Shuttleworth--he'll be on the beach at White Sands--he took good care of us, getting restaurant reservations, party tickets at Margaritaville, water sports etc--good guy.

See Mr. Phang the taxi driver / tour guide at the White Sands front gate for nice "sane" taxi trips around town. Some of the drivers were absolutely terrifying (and I don't scare that easy).

Well, back to the cold, rainy reality of KC, MO! Hope your trip is as nice as ours!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KC-Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.5 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#36 of 80 in Negril
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 80 in Negril
1,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Property: White Sands Negril
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing