We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to escape everything.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Sands Negril
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Negril
ny,ny
1 review
“The perfect place to escape everything.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

This family owned hotel combines a great loaction on the beautiful White Sands Beach with a environment free of television, computers and telephones. The rooms are simple and no frills yet roomy and clean. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Most of the clients that visit this hotel come back year after year creating a friendly and familiar environment for all guests. With beautiful gardens, beachfront, pool, ping pong table, pool table and a book library this hotel is the perfect place to escape all the stress of life and recharge your batteries. We enjoyed are stay here so much that we are returning April 2010. It definately was the start of a tradition for us!

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank boneco64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind words in your trip report.

We look forward to sharing our beach again with you soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    273
    87
    48
    32
See reviews for
123
251
83
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

My husband and I wanted to have the "true Jamaican experience" this time around as we stayed in an all-inclusive last year. White Sands is amazingly affordable/inexpensive. Our room was clean and basic, and that was all we needed. The air conditioner was great and needed as it was very, very warm. We also had a mini fridge so we could buy food on the beach for the next morning and we had someplace to store it.

Our housekeeper Cheryl was fabulous. Put $2-$3 in the envelope for your housekeeper everyday and you will get great service. If we needed anything extra, I just wrote her a little note daily and it was there when we returned to our room at night. They work hard, it's hot and they don't move fast like we do in the USA because it's incredibly HOT and it's just slower paced and that's what you're paying for.

Bar staff was great, Tony was fun and sang all of the time. I liked having breakfast on the covered patio in the morning where Jennifer served us. She's very nice, just a bit reserved. Be friendly and they are friendly to you. I found the beach to be really clean. I've been to the Bahamas a few times and was bummed out by all of the trash and cigarette butts, but this beach was well kept. The security guy does a good job of cleaning it and raking it everynight. Tip him when you leave as he's the one doing all of the cleaning and keeps sinister people from bugging you on the beach. He was GREAT!!

Everton works for the hotel with all of the snorkeling, Wild Thing cruises, scuba, etc. He's a good person to ask "Is this a good price for coffee?" or he'll help you get a normal deal on beachtowels. Very helpful, good guy. If you want to buy Jamaican coffee, buy it from a very thin older woman on the beach..I think her name was Georgina (ask Everton)..it's $15 for a pound (a steal!) and she's very professional and sweet. She noticed I was sunburned and brought me some aloe vera to put on my burn. The people are thoughtful and nice and helpful. I was witness to a machete incident in the outdoor market a few places down from White Sands on the beach. THAT was scary. Just be aware. That is also not White Sands fault, it was a bunch of locals fighting. That said, you don't expect to see someone pull out a machete so seriously..don't leave your common sense at home and keep your wits about you.

Be careful on the beach at night as the nighttime "vendors" (a term I use loosely as most of the men out there are trying to offer you drugs) become more aggressive and sinister. Don't walk the beach alone at night and if you're a woman, be smart..have a guy with you. Margaritaville was a fun, pretty place to have drinks at night and the Charela Inn (a few places down from White Sands) had the most amazing food we ate the whole trip. Dinner, apps, dessert and 2 glasses of wine for $64!! AMAZING food, excellent service and wonderful live music surrounded by beautiful architecture and swaying palm trees. It was bliss and our server was lovely.

If Jennifer offers you a massage for $40 for an hour, do it. It was an outdoor massage and lovely and a great deal. She's a Jamaican woman and was very good.

Mostly all of the food on the beach was great. Wait 20 minutes and something will come along that is great. There's a young Jamaican selling banana bread for $2 a slice, buy it, it's amazing. The ladies with the fresh fruit are lovely and the mangoes are the best I've ever had. The guy with the bike/cardboard box runs a good business..he sells out! GREAT chicken patties, breads and such and it's all yummy, warm and fresh.

I had a great time overall, I would just say that it's truly a bit dangerous but that isn't the hotel's fault. The White Sands is very nice, clean, beautiful landscaping, great location and a tremendous value@@

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belou492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for the great trip report.

We look forward to sharing our beach with you again soon.

Regards,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

Checked in March 19th out on 26th. Ladies at the front desk very sweet and helpful. Bed not so great but much better than Grand Paladium where we stayed last year. We really wanted our $$$ to stay in Jamaica this year rather than go to a Spanish owned resort so we chose White Sands. Cheryl our Room Attendant was very helpful with fresh flowers everyday, very good at cleaning, be sure to tip her!!! Tony at the bar was Tops, always singing. Jennifer and Romeo in Kitchen were nice, Breakfast was fine however for lunch your better off getting patties on the beach or Jerk Chicken from Jason by the entrance on the street. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at WhiteSands. TIPS: The store by the entrance is best place to get a towel and break some larger US bills down to smaller US bills. Best to buy sodas there too, the guy who runs it was very helpful. The guy who does security on the beach was good too. Stay far away from the vendor on the right as you walk out to the beach. Her name is Shirley and she tried to rip us off, also in the evening the real seedy people seamed to hang out by her area. To the left as you hit beach down about 100 yds is a little market area, a guy there named Juna is a good one to deal with on bracelets and necklaces otherwise that area should be avoided our experience was one man wielding a machette and another a knife chasing each other till enough locals jumped in and took their weapons. Charela Inn had excellent dinner at great prices. Ricks Cafe and Stone House are way over rated. I'd make sure to take enough $1 and $5 bills for drinks, beach food and tips as trying to figure out the exchange rate when you've had a few drinks and only large bills gets complicated. The juice guy on the beach and ladies with fresh fruit were great too. Be on the look out for the guy selling banana bread and the guy with bike selling patties and cocoa bread, they both sell out quick. The one legged man with one crutch and guitar, PLEASE let him play you a song and tip him. The locals treat him as an outcast and won't talk to him and go out of their way to avoid him, they ignore him when he limps by and get really weird if you ask about him. Now on the beach or on the road there are ENDLESS offers to sell you Weed, Mushrooms, Cocaine, Ecstasy, Oxycontin ect. During the morning and day they will take no for answer and all is good "RESPECT" and knuckle bumps all around however later in the evening around sunset and at night there seems to be different people on the beach that can just get relentless to the point where they cut you off when you are trying to just keep walking and don't want to take NO for an answer. This is NOT on WhiteSands property and not in anyway a reflection of WhiteSands. This is just along the beach, doesn't seem safe at night unless you are with a small group (safety in numbers). I encourage you to look out for fellow travelers on the beach at night. The Bar at WhiteSands is the BEST place to get drinks on the beach period. People from up and down the beach and even some of the all inclusives stopped all day long to get a drink there saying "This is the place"

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weaveb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Great trip report, thank you.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

My second year at White Sands
Ok the low down. Owner (Henry) , Manager ( Francis - very cool) Hotel Bellman and assistant (Henry) Driver (Leon) Bartenders (Paul and Tony)
The restuarant is the only thing that needs improvement. opens at 8 AM closes at 3 PM (don't get all inclusive) just get the room and chill.
This small family owned resort is safe, clean and friendly. Can't beat the people. The location is right in the center of the best beach in the world (IMO).
The photos; Tony, me and Paul and the beautiful beach at White Sands
As far as things to do you have got it all.
Do yourself a favore; save a little money; stay here and enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 21 March 2010
Travelseven,
Thank you for the post, glad you had a great time at White Sands. Tony and Paul are awesome and our long time repeat guests, as well as those who find us while they are strolling the beach, all love our bartenders. People love our 2:1 daily drink specials ! Tony and Paul are icons at White Sands.
I have to agree with you that our location on the Negril beach is ideal.
Safe, clean and friendly pretty much sums us up.
Look forward to sharing our beach with you again the next time you are in Negril.
Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

i have stayed at the White Sands in Negril for about 6 years now and love the place. Francis the GM is a great guy, if you like to play some dominoes he will play. the staff is wonderful, very friendly and helpful. they always have a smiling face. the 2 for 1 daily specials at the bar are awesome. (these drinks are mostly hand made and not poured out of a jug). They have a basic breakfast and lunch meals that are good. the rooms are nice, somewhat basis, which is all i need. (some place to crash) AC and fridge are a good thing. The location on the beach is right in the middle of the action and the beach always seems to be a nice size. this is a excellent value in negril!!!! Also if you are NOT a sun person White Sands does have plenty of nice shade to hang out and not get your tan, or burn. I normally see other guests that i have met there before.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guyGreenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 4 April 2010
Hello GuyGreenBay,
Great having you back, you are a veteran ! Glad you enjoyed your time again and good to know the daily drink specials are just as tasty...Everyone loves Francis, and for good reason, he takes care of all our guests.
I am glad you find us the best value in Negril, we have been voted Best Value for many years now. Looking forward to sharing our beach with you again soon. Cheers, White Sands Negril.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlain, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

This was my second time to Negril, and first time staying at WS. I found all of the employees very friendly. Francis in the office is great and very helpful. The housekeepers were very great also.( thanks Peaches) My room was moved a couple of day after check in,First rm was very small and would of had to live out of suitcase. ( not good) My second rm was awesome. It was much larger, place to put my clothes,( walk in closet .) My balcony over looked the water and the cleanest beach. The bar was always a great place to go and sit and meet new people. Paul and Tony (bartenders) were great and always had you smiling. The drinks are 2 for $5.00, a differant one everyday and not lacking the main ingrediant. I was not a fan of the restruant. I found it lacking personality and very slow and the food was ok but not worth the money. No problem , many great places to eat either way you headed on the beach. The other thing I really liked was that the security would walk you to your room after the bar closed down. they sure made you feel like you were in good hands. Over all I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamaicaSueNy_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 4 April 2010
Hello JamaicaSueNY-
Thank you for choosing White Sands for your 2nd trip to Negril, glad to hear you had a nice time. Francis certainly is a great guy and always takes such great care of our guests. Peaches has been taking care of our guests for over 15 years and it is a privilege to have her on our team.

The daily drink specials are a big hit and people often like to sip a cool one while checking email on our WiFi network on the beach.

We are glad to read you will stay with us again on your next visit and we look forward to sharing our beach with you again soon. Cheers, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

White Sands has become our home away from home. Frances, the General Manager of the hotel is all heart and greets us with his big smile and warm embrace. The room rates cannot be beat and the value for the experience is beyond compare.

We stayed for 2 weeks with our 8 and 6-year-old children and were never bored as we traveled between beach and pool and enjoyed the delights of Jamaican cuisine near the hotel. Not lucky enough to get kitchenette room this year, but our room had a small fridge so could store b'fast and lunch supplies.

Regrettably can't recommend White Sands restaurant as service is notoriously surly and unpleasant. Barmen are okay but could be a little more enthused about their jobs.

Overall, can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Family-run establishment that prefers to focus on making guests comfortable than go super high end and charge high rates.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arepwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Keep counting....we look forward to hosting you for many years to come.
Thank you for writing such a wonderful trip review.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.6 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#35 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#14 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
2.8 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#31 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Property: White Sands Negril
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing