We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“White Sands - The Jewel of Seven Mile Beach”
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Sands Negril
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“White Sands - The Jewel of Seven Mile Beach”
Reviewed 21 July 2010

For the fifteenth time we will vist Negril and stay at White Sands in just two weeks.... Each visit makes for an experience that lasts fondly in memory for another year. Fine staff: friendly and family like really, beautiful grounds, a whisper from one of the finest beaches in the world..... I will always recommend it to friends, colleagues and passersby alike.....
Expect peace, quiet, simple comfort, a great bargin, and did I mention the beach!!!
IRIE!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMKing57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your extremely kind words and wonderful review. We look forward to hosting you again.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    279
    88
    48
    34
See reviews for
130
271
84
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, WI
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This was my first time to Jamaica. My group has visited for the past 15 yrs. Good food, drinks and tap water was fine. Never got sick. Had fresh fruit, good rum and good food. Everything was fresh as I like veggies. The conch soup was fabulous. The shrimp was good. Lobster is out of season until July. Be careful and do not eat until in season. Meet some very nice people from other countries. Will definately visit again. The ocean was grand and warm. Could walk out to my neck and still see my feet. Calm and warm. A++++++

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wackedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words.

We look forward to sharing our beach with you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We arrrived at White Sands knowing that this was a low key resort with no frills. The first room was so small that my husband and I couldn't even walk by each other around the bed. The room overlooked a parking lot. I booked BeachSide. We were given a larger room on the Garden Side, across a busy street and it was not better. It was a large, plain room with no ambiance whatsoever. The entry was on the back side of the building which overlooked an overgrown empty lot. Not too safe looking. It was a total let down. We went to dinner at Kuyaba, just down the street and found it to be lovely, quaint and in the same price range. So we moved over there. It was lovely. The White Sands staff were very nice and professional. It just wasn't for us. Based on the reviews, I expected more.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starshine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Enjoy your next stay in Negril

Regards,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Great hotel / Motel nice bar / grill right on the beach in fact they are right in the middle of the 7 mile beach. Good food, good drinks, nice clean comfortable rooms (except for the pillows), and best of all great people. We definitely will return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krfrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words and trip report.

We look forward to sharing our beach with you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

It was only a long weekend but , it was comfortable clean and friendly.
Thank you Nora for all your kindness. Rest is what I needed and the reason
for my trip. I got exactly that. Thanks White Sands!!! Bless!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMAKA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful words and trip report.

We look forward to sharing our beach with you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester, connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Again, I do not see what some of the other poster said about this place. The room, deluxe, was surely adequate for our needs. The maid, Peaches, did what ever we wished for, and has been at the hotel for 13 or so years. Paul the bartender had some issues, in my opinion, like refusing to turn off the news of murders and shootings, and turning on the music at the bar. He did not understand that he could watch this crap at home, but we were tourists, trying to get away from the news. He has been spoken to by managment on how this was inappropriate. But this was a minor issues on the whole.
The beach is beautiful, and tha hotel is right on it. Some of the rooms are on the other side of the road, and no...it is not difficult to cross the road. There are plenty of places to eat in walking distance, on the beach and on the road. It is cheaper to eat on the other side of the road. Coletta's, sort of across the street, had excellent food for a good price.
We took a cruise with Captain Kurk, to the reefs, and did some swimming with the fish. We bought bananas, banana bread, oranges, among other items from vendors on the beach. Yes, you will get approached by many vendors selling everything from food to mushrooms, to weed and cigarettes. But if you are a social person, none of this is a problem. Whether I bought something from them or not, I always showed "respect". They were all freindly and respectful, except for the crazy mushroom man, who is called "the crazy mushroom man". Hey, there is a price for everything Mon.
This area of Jamaica is perfect for relaxing. I wakled around wirh only shorts on most of the time. If you need to get around, you can call our good friend, junior. He can show you anything, takes care of you with any shopping issues, and knows the island well. He is honest and appreciates the income. His number is [--] or [--]. You can call him before you go to set up airport pickup, go on tours, visit the rastra's, or anything you wish. He has a very clean van, and can provide a cooler for your beverages during your journies around the countryside. Tello him you heard about him from Bob and Judy, and he will take really good care of you. We have know him and used him for years.This is not a four star resort. The positive side of that is you can relax and do not have any rules, dress codes, etc.
The boat ride was $50 US each for a little over 1 1/2 hours, which is reasonable.
SO, if you need to get away from the stresses of life, this place is perfect. We will go there again, for sure. The manager, Francis, is a good man who will provide you with anything you need in the way of hotel issues.
It is HOT this time of year, so don't waste you luggage room with long pants or coats, etc.
You can also drink the water in the hotel, which is better tasting than mine at home.
I found no problems with Negril or the White Sands. I guess some people just like to complain? But this place is perfect for becoming a zombie in relaxation mode. most likely the most relaxing place we have ever visited. But again, it is for those who wish to relax and don't require anything more lavish than what they are used of at home. Ya mon.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SeniorDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful trip report and kind words.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

White Sands is simple. Not a lot of frills, but you get a relatively clean room on or near the beach.
I didn't know this before I arrived, but no towels are provided for the beach chairs, so remember to bring your own or be prepared to haggle one of the nearby beach vendors.
The owner, Francis is a nice guy and the fact that they let you rent local cell phones during your stay is a huge bonus. Don't bother using your cell phone unless you have a very good rate. Rent the cell and save money, especially if you plan on talking with friends in the States or anywhere on the island.
There is a restaurant and bar on the property, which is also convenient, however, the food was okay. I would recommend walking the beach as there are plenty of other options.
The rooms did not have a phone, TV or radio, which even though I thought would be okay, I know now, it doesn't work for me. Good thing though, there is a mini-fridge.

So, if you want a room that is very basic and on the beach in a decent location, this will work. In the future, personally, I will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaEaseTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you. I hope the next time you visit you find a place for you.

Regards,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#12 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Property: White Sands Negril
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing