We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, fantastic hotel and staff.”
Review of Rockhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockhouse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

What a nice place to stay. We spent our honeymoon in ROckhouse, and it was one of the greatest hotels we have ever been. The staff is something from another world, and the spa is a must do activity. Terrific food and drinks, a awesome sunset.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZedaBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

We just stayed at three places in Negril (Catcha Falling Star, Rockhouse and Moondance Villas) and for us, at least, not necessarily for everyone, the Rockhouse ticked every box. First of all, I would say that the staff are particularly well trained. Incredibly efficient, always around, but not in your face or obsequious. The Rockhouse also has a strong relationship with the community, helping to build (and raising a $1m) for a local school and library, so while you're sunning yourself in paradise, you also feel that the community is getting something back.

We started in a small studio at the back of the property, but as luck would have it, were upgraded and then spent two days in a premier villa overlooking the sea on the edge of the cliffs. From waking up with a view of the sea bisecting the view from the bed, it's a few steps down from the villa to easy access to ultra clear aquamarine water with fantastic snorkelling. The premium villlas are really something else, the shower and bathroom slightly open at the top so you feel like your taking a shower in the middle of the jungle like in those old school shampoo adverts.

The only downside for us was the swimming pool area, which is a somewhat concretist and empty affair (no palm trees, no shade) and not a particularly warm or congenial environment) - but who needs a pool when you have clear blue warm sea water even closer to hand. (There are early morning yoga sessions by the pool, for the holistically minded)

If you haven't been to Negril before, what you don't get at the Rockhouse (or any of the hotels perched on the rocks) is the beach. What you also don't get is the continual low level hassle from hawkers on the beach. They're generally not too pushy and they're only trying to make a crust, but if you're staying on the beach, it can put you off leaving your lounger and book to walk down the book, because you know you're going to have to engage in fifteen unwanted conversations.

What you don't often see publicised about the Rockhouse is that they have a reciprocal relationship with 'Idle Awile' on the beach, a sweet and well located boutique hotel, with direct access to the beach front, and a ten minute drive from the Rockhouse, so you can easily get the beach experience whenever you want it.

The restaurants at the Rockhouse are great. I particularly rated the Jamaican food at the Push Cart, and the fantastic award winning jerk restaurant, 'Three Dives' is just next, but if you're walking there at night, be careful on the road - it's dark and everyone drives like madmen.

In conclusion, get the premium villas if you can, which are more affordable than most because the Rockhouse is generally a lot cheaper than other similarly outfitted and located resorts. We'll definitely go back. Next week? Yeah, man!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Late Review:
We stayed at Rockhouse in February and it was a fantastic vacation. We loved living amongst the crashing waves and garden paths for a few days. Perfectly rustic without being sketchy. This is a cliff hotel with a pool and no beach, but we didn't feel like we were missing a thing in views or water time. The photos are accurate and you really do get to sunbathe and eat right on those beautiful bluffs! The food was good at the main restaurant, and even better at PushCart. Bar drinks were good and staff was pleasant.
I did a sea salt scrub and my boyfriend had a pedicure at the spa. He objected significantly to having a spa treatment but I pushed and when he came out he was so relaxed, he was in a trance.
I needed to ship a package to an animal sanctuary in Ochos Rios and the Rockhouse bar guys helped me get a box and packing tape. After two attempts at sending the package at the PO, we gave up and the Rockhouse GM ended up taking it with him on his next trip to Ochie. I really appreciated their help on this matter as I was stuck without a way to get medication to some sick little island pups!
To save a few bucks, I would suggest purchasing water, sodas at the market down the road (cab distance.) Security was very good, I felt very safe at night.
I also love that Rockhouse has a Foundation that provides operational funding to schools in the Negril area. While visitors lounge around the pools and beaches, local children had what most of us would consider unacceptable school conditions. Rockhouse Foundation has improved the quality of schools both inside and out. Check it out!
http://www.rockhousefoundation.org/about_us.php

Room Tip: We didn't do it at the time, but after seeing the Villas, I beleive it would be worth upgrading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spayneuterchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

my husband and i had an amazing experience at the rockhouse hotel, for our honeymoon/dream weekend. I really loved the place everything was a positive for us...definately going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We had a great stay at the Rockhouse. The location is absolutely gorgeous, the accommodations are terrific and the food was tasty. We stayed there to celebrate an anniversary and it is an amazing place to simply unwind.

We started out in the standard villa, but decided to upgrade to the premium villas and would definitely recommend doing that. The villas are very spacious and clean and well-designed. And absolutely nothing compares to being able to sit outside on your patio hearing the waves crashing below you.

The pool area is nice-the bartenders were lots of fun and did a great job. My personal favorite was the snapper sandwich---I had one for lunch every day, it was so good. And the coconut water (they literally just take a chilled coconut, chop off the top with a nice and stick a straw in it) were so refreshing. We also really liked the Pushcart restaurant. Their oxtails and bushman stew were extraordinary! Another great feature is the fact that room service can be delivered to you for every meal at no additional charge---we took advantage of that each morning for breakfast.

I also took the yoga class a few days while I was there and really enjoyed it---the instructor was great, even for me as a newcomer.

Each day from 5-6pm there is a happy hour by the pool (2-1 drinks, I believe) it's such a great place to watch the sun set. The manager's cocktail party on Wednesday was also really great---we enjoyed speaking with her and the other guests.

The staff were very accomodating and pleasant. We also used their recommended airport shuttle service and had a good experience there as well.

One thing to note is that there are definitely mosquitos---you're in a tropical environment, so do use lots of bug spray. We had them in the room our first 2 nights, but if you use the mosquito netting and burn a citronella candle or coil (available in the gift shop) you should be fine. Additionally, there is no TV in the room, but we knew that in advance and it was our preference: we hardly missed it and had a chance to read books, listen to music and spend quality time with one another.

I would definitely return to Rockhouse and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kam1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Great location, best ocean swiming ever... food fantastic. Not much to do besides sun and swim... Negril itself unimpressive but this location fantastic. Party boats off the cliffs a bit bothersome.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soccertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at The Rockhouse November 27 - December 1st and had the time of our lives. We arrived at the resort welcomed with rum punch, charm, and a friendly guide to our bedroom. The stone pathways and greenery really made the resort so endearing (reggae music very lightly playing in the background near the food areas was a pleasant surprise too). The food at the main restaurant, the pushcart, & the pool were insanely delicious.  All the food was made with so much love (takes awhile, but enjoy a "Dirty Banana" or Red Stripe as you wait). We ate at Rick's Cafe one night and immediately regretted missing a dinner at the resort! If you miss the beach and sand a hotel called Isle Awhile 5 minutes away accomodates Rockhouse guests. It is an easy breezy friendly hotel as well though different aesthetically. The Spa is a must - "Couples Morning Wake Up Package"  was what we chose (15mins foot soak & scrub, 50mins massage, & outdoor shower)! We originally arranged for the treatment to be at the “Caribbean Drench” cabana on the cliffs, having it take place in full at the spa was a way better decision as the ambiance was so serene and styled so naturally and the ladies were a dream. What makes The Rockhouse so special is the staff hands down. I cannot say enough how kind, helpful, fun and friendly each and every person was. They were all so warm and happy to be at work. The view, ocean, outdoor shower, comfortable room deck, romantic mosquito netted bed, and perfect sunsets were just extra perks! Who needs a TV or entertainment amenities in the bedroom when you are at a place as relaxing  - Extra sleep and waking up early to have long days in the sun was our plan of action.  If you need extra stimulation they have a common area lounge with plush oversized couches with wooden games, TV, and WiFi.  We would return in a heart beat and left on our last day scheming our wedding to take place there one day. Lastly, definitely make reservations to go on Famous Vincent's Glass Bottom Boat ride with Vincent himself and friend Roger. It is a 3 hour boat and snorkeling adventure all beginning at the steps at the bottom of the main restaurant. Truly lastly, because we are from NYC and miss Negril already we are definately going to check out Miss Lily's soon (affiliated worh TR). Highly recommend wholeheartedly and will return ASAP!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank novemberlove30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 80 in Negril
243 reviews
85.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
860 reviews
36.5 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.7 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhouse Hotel

Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Negril
#3 Spa Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#5 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £75 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhouse is a boutique hotel stretching across the cliffs of Pristine Cove. Nestled amongst eight acres of tropical lush gardens, thatched roofed villas are perched on the water's edge. Guests swim in the sixty foot horizon pool or take the stairs carved into the rock down to the cove for snorkeling on the reef. Home to two award winning restaurants - the Rockhouse Restaurant & Bar and the Pushcart Restaurant & Rum Bar. The renowned Rockhouse Spa has a philosophy that is a simple, holistic approach to well-being, health and happiness. Spa treatments are undertaken "on-the-rocks" in the cliff-edge Massage Cabana or at the eight room garden spa. Yoga classes are offered daily overlooking the sea.Consistently ranked one of the top resorts in the Caribbean, the Rockhouse won the Caribbean's Leading Boutique Hotel 2014 and Jamaica's Leading Spa 2014 at the World Travel Awards. In addition, the Rockhouse was also voted the No. 1 "Best Value Hotel in the Caribbean" in Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Value Awards" and included in Conde Naste Traveler's Readers Choice list of "Best in the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Rockhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockhouse Hotel Negril
Rock House Jamaica
Rockhouse Jamaica
Rockhouse Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing