We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made for a perfect first trip to Jamaica!!”
Review of Rockhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockhouse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Going into this trip I was a little leery of the issues that other reviewers on Trip Advisor noted for The Rockhouse, but I went with the mindset of disregarding the very top & the very bottom of the reviews. I've now come to the conclusion that I didn't notice any of the negatives mentioned by others during my actual trip.

The hotel property was well-groomed & clean, it is obvious that the entire staff takes pride in the property & reputation of The Rockhouse. I don't believe I passed a single employee during my stay that didn't greet me in some way or ask about my well-being.

I've never stayed at a property where I was made to feel like such a part of the family!! It was wonderful!! Every one of the staff members seemed more as if they were welcoming a guest to their home rather than just doing there job. Not something you'll find in many places these days.

We stayed in a Deluxe Standard room & it was perfect for us. There was some noise from the surrounding rooms (furniture being drug across the floor & conversations), but the room is not where you spend your time on vacation. The accommodations were very clean & all of your needs were covered - from shampoo, conditioner, aloe & hand soap to bottles of water, beer & snacks in the mini-bar - honestly, I over packed believing some of these items were not going to be available. The minibar pricing for water was quite reasonable ($4 for a large bottle) - I'd likely purchase less at the store in Montego Bay the next time around.

The restaurants on site were great!! I could've handled having all my meals there if I didn't want to get out and see a bit more of Negril. There were quite a few options for food just outside the hotel property and once you get over your fear of walking along the road (perfectly safe, just stay alert!!) there are a few more options.

The pool area was great, nice & relaxing with wonderful service every day. Whether you were drinking their drinks or bringing something of your own out, they were there to serve with a smile!

The service at The Rockhouse was great!! It seemed as if they were determining our needs before we knew them!! I would recommend The Rockhouse to all my friends and family (and have been doing so)!! I will be returning there myself someday...how could I not???

As an additional suggestion, please do try and attend the Rockhouse Foundation tour (ours was on a Thursday), it was a great trip up into the mountains and it gives you a much deeper appreciation for the hotel and what they are doing in the area. The trip up to Moreland Hill School was definitely a highlight of my stay!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Erica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed for a week and must say, we have been to many islands and many places, but overall, the rock house rocks. They have 3 options for eating on premises, the pushcart and their restaurant which are highly rated, and the pool grill, which has authentic and great food. All the rooms on the water are great, they are on the rocks overlooking the nook they occupy. Room#10 is the best I believe. Their spa was perfect and the prices for everything were reasonable in comparison the the quality everything you receive. The only thing I thought they should have done was allow their guests to bring coffee to their rooms before going to breakfast. Other than that, it was well maintained with a great staff.

Room Tip: Room 10 is best on the water but there are a lot with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We recently returned from our third trip to the Rockhouse and it was honestly like going home! Truly the best and most relaxing vacation destination I've ever been to. The staff are phenomenal and the villas are magic. Can't wait to go back next year!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank annabelle4090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in a villa here for the Negril portion of our honeymoon. The villas are expensive, but you get what you pay for. Everyone kept telling me how touristy Negril is and how crowded the beach is. They weren't lying for the most part. There are some great places in Negril but in large it is quite touristy. The Rockhouse is your escape. It's very private and we did not regret staying here one bit. Our room was fantastic. We relaxed on our own deck, looming over the ocean which we could jump right into from just a few yards away. As soon as we got here, I put on my trunks and jumped off a 15' bridge into the water. There is plenty of snorkeling to do right at the resort. They rent gear for $5 a day, and there are lots of things to see just off the resort coast. The pool ends at the edge of the world here. You can watch the sunset from anywhere. We checked walked to the edge after dinner and checked out a crazy amount of stars. There is no sand beach here, but you can drive a mile into town and get to 7 mile beach if you want. We preferred staying at the hotel after visiting the crowded beach. If you want a relaxing, very romantic resort in Jamaica, stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thunderd0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This review is wayyyyyyyyy overdue. We've been to Negril on several occasions. At The Rockhouse and once somewhere else, on the beach. What a mistake!!!!
I'm not sure that anywhere we go on this island will compare to The Rockhouse.
The rooms (we stayed in a standard, lower floor, on the corner) are clean and large. We had a beautiful covered, private, outdoor patio within the room as well as a sitting area in front of the room. The grounds are perfectly maintained. The staff is WONDERFUL. They seem to know everyone's name which is quite amazing! Shout out to Bally and Chevon! They are fantastic. From clipping me fresh aloe daily, to having our drinks ready when we walked up to the bar - this is top notch service. No screaming kids in the pool - MAJOR plus! The security made us feel safe at all times. The restaurants on property were all delicious. As a matter of fact, the owners own a handful of restaurants in NyC - they were onsite during my stay, so we chatted a bit. Very nice guys. No wonder I felt so at home! There was always a cab waiting to jet us wherever we wanted to go. I'm only sad that I don't immediately book my next return visit upon checkout. The hotel is nearly booked solid ever time I inquire. The secret is out!

Room Tip: We stayed standard room lower on the end. Loved the private patio inside the room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissNLNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Swanky, private, and intoxicating, this hotel has been the pinnacle of relaxation for my wife and I. We have been there 3 times and can't wait to go back. We have stayed in villa 8 (1st visit, no sunset view), 10 (honeymoon visit and best view), and the closest garden room to the pool (ground floor)(upstairs guests were loud, cost effective room, far from restaurant but great pool access). All have been excellent experiences. Room service is a by slow, but this is Jamaica, they take they time-get over it.
Suggestions: the pool fare is amazing at lunch - jerk chicken and grilled mahi sandwich are staples. If you like papaya, the grannie polite is an excellent drink. If you enjoy snorkeling, swim from relaxation point North (start at the lower Villas and swim toward Pushcart and even past it). Don't expect to be well connected to the Internet.

To thoroughly enjoy this location, turn off your phone and laptop and enjoy life!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Circumnavigatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

So many wonderful things have been said about this hotel and I agree with all of them, so I will keep it to my *very* favorite elements:

1. The staff - the perfect balance of being attentive but not overly so. Every single person at Rockhouse is friendly. Many have an uncanny gift for remembering your name - within 24 hours I felt right at home.
2. Morning yoga overlooking the water with Fanette. I am not even a huge yoga person but she is so lovely I went every day and was surprised how much my practice progressed with her guidance.
3. The spa - of course my husband and I both enjoyed our treatments (massage for him, scrub by the sea for me - wow) but when I came back the next day with a sea urchin spine in my big toe, they took care of that as well.


We'll be back next spring.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DareKaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
128.9 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
518 reviews
85.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 81 in Negril
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhouse Hotel

Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#3 Spa Hotel in Negril
#5 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £90 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhouse is a boutique hotel stretching across the cliffs of Pristine Cove. Nestled amongst eight acres of tropical lush gardens, thatched roofed villas are perched on the water's edge. Guests swim in the sixty foot horizon pool or take the stairs carved into the rock down to the cove for snorkeling on the reef. Home to two award winning restaurants - the Rockhouse Restaurant & Bar and the Pushcart Restaurant & Rum Bar. The renowned Rockhouse Spa has a philosophy that is a simple, holistic approach to well-being, health and happiness. Spa treatments are undertaken "on-the-rocks" in the cliff-edge Massage Cabana or at the eight room garden spa. Yoga classes are offered daily overlooking the sea.Consistently ranked one of the top resorts in the Caribbean, the Rockhouse won the Caribbean's Leading Boutique Hotel 2014 and Jamaica's Leading Spa 2014 at the World Travel Awards. In addition, the Rockhouse was also voted the No. 1 "Best Value Hotel in the Caribbean" in Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Value Awards" and included in Conde Naste Traveler's Readers Choice list of "Best in the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Rockhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockhouse Hotel Negril
Rock House Jamaica
Rockhouse Jamaica
Rockhouse Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing