We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rockhouse Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$670
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Country Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Firefly Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xtabi Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$880
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$484
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Negril(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,148)
Filter reviews
1,148 results
Traveller rating
903
187
37
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
903
187
37
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium villaoutdoor showerkenny tourspush cartrock housestudio roompool barpushcart restaurantthe cliffgarden villaregular villawater accessfamous vincentcoconut chickenmosquito netmain restaurantsnorkel gear
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
776 - 781 of 1,148 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Our hotel room was clean, tidy and very comfortable. We had a cd/radio docking station, mini bar, air conditioning and overhead fan. And our bed was very comfortable. Storage space was a small open area, but we didn't use it, the bathroom was good and the outside shower although not oppulent was nice to use. Internet connectivity was available but a little on the slow side and sometimes was hard to connect to.
Having spent a couple nights at a beach hotel the cliffs were so nice and quiet which is exactly what we had wanted from our holiday.
We had access to the sea via the ladders just off our sun lounge area. And the sea was so calm and warm which made my husband's experience as a 1st time snorkeller very enjoyable. As in my case If you are afraid of heights and not a strong swimmer then it can be a little daunting, but I did manage to enjoy the experience still.
Although we ate breakfast and dinner a couple of times at both the hotel restaurants we didn't find the food equalled the cuisine that we received from Sips (a restaurant a few yards away from the hotel).
We never used the pool, but we did enjoy sitting by it in the evening watching the sunset and drinking a dirty banana or two from the pool bar.
We enjoyed the peace and quiet of this hotel, and found all the staff and locals to be ready, willing and able to help us with whatever we needed.
We are looking forward to coming back and staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndy123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Just returned from a 2 week trip to Jamaica with my wife to clebrate our 1 year anniversary. We spent the last 4 nights at the Rockhouse and it was a perfect way to end the trip.

I'm glad we stayed on 7 mile beach first (at the Palms) so we could mingle a bit more with the local vendors and walk to a few nice restaurants. By the time we left the Palms we were ready for the greater isolation on the rockhouse.

The first night was in a premium villa (#6) because no standard rooms were available. We wouldn't normally spend as much on a room (around $300) but I have to say they are justified in charging that rate. The room was amazing and very unique.

We moved for 3 nights to a standard room which was still very nice, although we couldn't understand why there was no doorway to the courtyard that it overlooked.

The pool area with infinity pool is great, although expect to be exposed to the elements. Surprisingly it doesn't open until 10am so keep your towel from the day before. I did find 2 of the staff at the pool bar to be arrogant and aloof. In general I did find the staff slightly more reserved at Rockhouse than at the Palms. It may be they are instructed to be more in the background. But most of them are very nice.

The restaurant is fantastic and around the same price as most places in Negril. The coconut pie a must and coconut snapper they had as a special one night amazing. At $3 each coffee is expensive, especially since we'd been getting it free of charge at the Palms and the cost of breakfast soon adds up.

We walked one day to Ricks cafe but found that to be very commercial. It's only a 15 minute walk and there are some interesting restarants on the way but none seemed to be as cheap as they looked. There are a couple of mini marts where you can buy a snack food etc. I found it handy (and cheaper) to buy a 6 pack of red stripe and keep it in the in room fridge.

The onsite gift shop was expensive except for mosquito coils which, for $1 for 6, is well worth the investment. (Being near plants etc mosquitos seems to be a slightly bigger issue but not terribly so).

While my wife enjoyed the ralaxation and peacefullness my favourite part of the hotel was the cliff jumping and swimming. There are so many different heights and types of jumps around the hotel with nicely unobtrusive, well placed ladders to get out of the water from. I had a blast jumping into the sea (and since you are at the very edge of Jamaica it really is into the deep sea).

They have snorkelling gear for rent for just $5 a day which is great value but the weather caused the water to be too choppy to swim or snorlel the last couple of days.

Overall I happily recommend this place for a totally unique, chilled out experience. If you can afford the villa in particular you will be amazed.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NomadKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

The website pictures do not do it justice. We rented a premium villa and had a view of the ocean from 3 sides of our room. Amazing beauty! I loved waking up to the waves crashing against the rocks. We could jump into the ocean from a bridge just off of our room.

Along with our room, the staff, pool, spa, and restaurants were wonderful!
The entire facility was clean, safe, and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachgal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

It is a lovely location - we stayed in a villa for 6 nights. First time. Definitely go snorkeling with Vincent and go to the Hungry Lion for dinner - best restaurant around. Buyers beware - there is a 10% service charge in addition to a 8.25% tax on EVERYTHING - including yoga, minibar, etc. When we went to check out, the bill was incomplete, we paid them with a credit card what they told us to pay which matched the bill and have been harrassed for two days of calls to our cell phones and e-mails demanding $800 plus more. That is on top of a 4-page itemized bill which they stated was missing expenses - unbelievable - nicest place we have ever stayed in terms of amenities and weakest front office / checkout / customer service ever. Not a single apology but rude demands for money with inadequate supporting documentation. Quite a combination.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muffy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte_WallaceGM, General Manager at Rockhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2010

We are very happy this guest found the Rockhouse to be "the nicest place they have every stayed." and we are very very sorry their check out was incorrectly processed. We have since been in contact with them and have apologized directly and provided all the back up documentation for the charges in the folio that was inadvertently overlooked at checkout. This experience provided a learning opportunity for our front desk and we have undertaken corrective action and further customer training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I've stayed at the stunning Rockhouse on several occasions and would love to go back however no one ever responds to my reservation requests. I've emailed 3 times and not one response even thought the website promises response within 24 hours. I've always been tempted to stay at the Tensing Pen hotel down the road and I guess I'm going to be forced to go elsewhere. Upon hearing of the major hotel expansion going on at the Rockhouse .... I was concerned the attention to detail and customer focus (Rockhouse Specialities) might suffer. I'm wondering if the lack of response to reservation requests is the first of many customer frustrations to come.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JillALouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte_WallaceGM, General Manager at Rockhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2010

We were very sorry to learn of the problems this guest was having getting through to us and we have since rectified the problem. At Rockhouse we have a dedicated team focused on responding in a timely way to our guest emails (max 24 hours). We are also very focused on providing great customer service with a staff to guest room ratio of over 3 to 1. It is superior customer service that helped us be the current holder of the Jamaican Hotel Association Small Hotel of the Year and also be the only hotel identified in the Travel + Leisure Top 25 Resorts of the Caribbean that is identified as "good value". We remain very focused on our customers' experience at Rockhouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews