We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week on the Cliffs at Xtabi”
Review of Xtabi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xtabi Resort
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Week on the Cliffs at Xtabi”
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Great resort on the cliffs of Negril. STayed in Cottage 6, right on the cliff. Rustic room, no a/c, but nice ceiling fan with louvered/screened windows, no need for air very comfortable. Great private patio directly facing the awesome sunsets. The water off the cliffs is indescribeably beautiful, clear turquoise, breathtaking. Great fun jumping from the cliffs, snorkeling, and exploring the caves that are tucked under the cliffs. Staff was excellent, very friendly and accomodating. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance. Room cleaned every day, great outdoor shower and private bath.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindaSMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    144
    32
    17
    16
See reviews for
31
252
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh, scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I travelled to Jamaica with my partner Andy and we stayed 4 nights at Xtabi in Negril. Being a gay couple we are always a bit nervous about staying at any hotel in Jamaica but Xtabi was great.

The rooms are basic and could do weith being refurbished but they are clean and very comfortable with a great view. We stayed in the rooms with airconditioning, but the self contained cottages look like they'd be amazing.

The most impressive thing about Xtabi, even better that the lovely gardens and caves beneath the bar, is the service. The staff there ranging from the receptionists to the security are super friendly (without being nosey) and helpful- possibly the best I've come across in Jamaica.

The sunsets as viewed from the bar or the caves are amazing and there is great swimming and snorkelling to be had.

Only one small critisism- they could do with more veggie options on the menu, but at least there were loads of great restaurants like 'Push Cart' nearby where we could have fine veggie cuisine.

All in all a great place to stay

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mercutio58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This was our 8th trip to Xtabi and can't say enough about the location and staff. The staff as always took great care of us, especially Omar (bar), Omar (security), George, Kevin , Kingsley and Donovan (Hines ?). Unfortunately, while we were there for 5 nights we never saw THE Donovan. When we asked where he was we were told "scheduling issues."

I truly hope we just had bad timing and Donovan still is the main bar tender at night as he has been for the last 20 + years. Donovan (Hines ?) is a great guy but the bar and Xtabi don't have the vibe without THE Donovan.

Dave / Sonya - please don't underestimate how many customers come in just to see Donovan. Every night we heard at least 2 other people ask when Donovan would be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fat_passport_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

I am a beach person, have always stayed on the beach. This last trip we decided one week on the beach and one week on the "cliffs" at Xtabi. Loved it !! Everything about it, if we missed the beach, we'd take the quick cab ride, spend the day, and come back to tranquility. Location is great, vista is out of this world, good food, especially the Conch Burgers, all staff, don't want to forget anyone so won't mention names, are wonderful. Room # 14 was very nice, so cozy with the most beautiful Bouganvilla tree to look at.
There is only one thing needing improvement : the sink faucet and the shower head, kind of sprays in all directions, but fantastic pressure in the shower.
Loved it, and will be going back in April, as well as future visits.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spydawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

2001 was our first stay at the Xtabi. Ten years later it is our destination of choice!!! From management to staff this is the best place to stay! Sonya is great, she always does her best to make us feel welcome. There is not enough you can say about this resort! We feel at home at the Xtabi and it is always like coming home for a visit.
Watching the sunset from our cliff side cottage makes everything right in the world.One of the best things about the Xtabi is the staff stays and that says something for the Resort itself!!! Everyone at the Xtabi makes you feel welcomed and wanted.
We love it here! Try it once you will love it and want to come back again.
The rooms are airy, sea breezes are wonderful making air conditioners not needed. Treat yourself go to the Xtabi and stay on the cliffs and you'll see why we love this place!!!!
Sonya, Kem, Ninja, Omar 1 and 2, Mr. Brown, Barbra, Sharon, Cherry and Donavin..... I know I have not mentioned everyone. These are the best people you could every wish to meet!!!!
Can't say enough about the place.....Respect!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

This was my 7th trip to Negril and my 6th stay at Xtabi. I would first like to address the review made by Chris Hill. I am one of the "many" people he introduced to Xtabi. I was saddened to read his extreme review. I would never demand such discounts even though we have also filled the resort (3x), picked up over $10,000 bar tabs and attended 1 out of the 2 group events run by Chris. I would recommend that everyone read the hotels responce and know that they have it right.
Xtabi has come to be a home away from home for us. Consistently good service, clean rooms, beautiful property and superb staff!! Kingsley provides safe fun rides to & from the airport! Donavan makes the best rum & delicious! Omar kept us very safe! ;) Sonya made sure we were well taken care of, she even went the extra mile to accomate our friend that needed a room at the last minute! :) Kemi was wonderful and fun, an excellent addition to the Xtabi staff!! Everyone there is professional and friendly, more than anything else this is what makes a place special.
Thank you again Xtabi! See you next year!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katho9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berryville, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This not the least expensive, nor the most expensive on the cliff's. The value is worth the price-the real selling point are the people. From Omar at night-just a great person-to the cleaning staff and the lobby, I found everyone to be as friendly as you let them be. Paul, Mike, Cheral, Sharron, Mom they all would take time to talk, or leave you alone if that's what you want. Watch out for Omar the bartender-a little on the player side. Kinsley was a bargin in airport transfers, and always on time. Thanks to you all, Ed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishimon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#35 of 81 in Negril
1,342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
0.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
848 reviews
3.2 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xtabi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xtabi Resort

Property: Xtabi Resort
Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#22 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xtabi Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xtabi is a 25 Room Boutique Hotel, We are located on the West Cliffs of Negril, one + miles from the Negril Beach.XTABI offers a variety of different facilities such as economy and standard rooms, as well as one or two storey private cottages. Some of our accommodations are set in the lush tropical garden near the pool, others are on the impressive cliffside overlooking the Caribbean Sea.XTABI RESORT awaits you with a dramatic water front setting where spiral stairs are leading down through a cave to a sandy beach. Many grottos along the cliffs are to explore and the shallow reefs nearby ensure great snorkeling. The cliffside bar and restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving good food in a friendly atmosphere with a breath-taking view and nice music. Xtabi will make you feel IRIE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Xtabi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xtabi Hotel Negril
Xtabi Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing