We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure relaxation and beauty”
Review of Xtabi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Xtabi Resort
Ranked #33 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stayed at Xtabo this April...was our second visit ....we are coming back in November again. Feels like a second home...special thanks to Sharon, Anthony and Kingsley...!!!
The view/location is gorgeous!!! We love to snorkel right outside our unit. The food is good, the beer is cold, the bed is big, clean and comfortable. Safe and quiet location. Not like one of the mega resorts...we've gone to those many times and prefer Xtabi.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msmichaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2009

What a fabulous time we spent here; the best bang for the buck, with excellent staff. They were all very accomadating, we were close to everything, great security, FOOD excellent,
we have made "friends" with our wonderful housekeeper! When I go back, I will be going to stay here because the people are so fine! ya, & 3 Dives jerk is just across the street on the cliffs! P.S. these 2 places were recommended by a travel jamaica book from Chapter's bookstore in Canada! wogwon mon.....(we had a few hitches from locals, just tryin to make a livin but nothin we couldn't deal with.)

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvedjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This place is great! Loved the outdoor shower, the porch with table, chairs and very inviting lounger and the staff were helpful and polite. I felt comfortable and taken care of and enjoyed my stay. The snorkeling is awesome - bring your own, the rental was a bit steap for a daily rental. It's nice to go down to the beach for some action in the evenings but its just as nice to stay in and enjoy the view. I can highly recommend this place for a unique travel adventure. Big up to the wonderful Patricia who works in the office, as well as Omar the Security Guard and generally helpful guy. I don't know the owner's name but he was around and was helpful and welcoming as well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

our overall stay at xtabi was wonderfull..............we stay at in one of thr economic room for the first night which was very basic but comfortable. we then moved into one of the more modern rooms which was quite reasonably priced. we also had access to internet so we were able to in touch with our families and freinds. Finding places to dine was no problem, the previous reveiws leds us toe 3 dives and chioces which were was all in walking distances and servered real inexpensive jamaican dishes.there are alse a few grocery stores nearby as well.The pool and the cliffs were great. Watching the sunset from the cliffs was one of our daily routine, swimming in the caves was also great ,
we will definatley return to the 'place where the Gods meet"

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yardieflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We visited Xtabi with our twin 10-yr old boys and had a GREAT time. We stayed in Suite #24 which overlooks the pool. It has a private entrance, 2 private bedrooms which both share a bath (tub & shower). A meager kitchenette (fridge + hot plate; plates, silverware & 2 cooking pots) has a table for 4. There were a couple roaches, but no big deal given the climate, etc. (No mosquitos or no-see-em's --which was good news.) The living room has two sofas and a TV. A large outdoor porch with another dining table for 4 overlooks the pool. The porch has plenty of space to hang your wet beach towels with a partially-obstructed view of the sea. They could play catch by the pool. We didn't see any other children at the resort, but we were also travelling off peak season.

To get to the sea, you have to cross the very busy main road. We didn't allow our boys to make this excursion alone as the traffic was pretty wild and unpredictable. Then, you walk down various sets of steps to the sea access. Some of the staircases are scarier than others for small children. There are no railings - essentially a child with little control of balance could fall over the stairs over the cliff. When you climb down the ladders - you jump into the water which is about 8-10 feet deep. We brought mini boogie boards which worked great. We also brought water shoes, but it turned out we didn't need them. The water is crystal clear with a sandy bottom - but you'll never touch the bottom because of the depth. Our boys LOVED this trip, so did we. Swimming near the cliffs felt very adventurous to them. Despite the fact that it's kind of scary at first, it was totally worthwhile and we had no regrets. Parents with unpredictable or younger children should take caution, though.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
2  Thank Lady_Di_217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

This was our first time staying in Negril and after some initial worry that we should have stayed on the beach instead of the cliffs, we couldn't have been happier with our choice. We had everything we needed here, quiet, beautiful scenery, friendly staff and the proximity of some good inexpensive restaurants, such as Just Naturals, 3 Dives, The Hungry Lion.....After a day spent on the beach, it was great to be able to grab a taxi and head back to the cliffs which we grew to enjoy so much. It was so easy to go for a quick swim or snorkelling or just relax on the rocks or by the pool, and we never once felt unsafe walking in the area. We had one of the rooms with air conditioning which we were quite glad to have. We were even able to borrow a cooler for some juices & drinks. We were sad to leave Xtabi and plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cocojam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

We stayed at Xtabi for 7 nights over Christmas break.

As it was high season, we paid about $600 for a very basic room - no TV, no phone, no alarm clock, no toiletries. Regardless, Xtabi has a very good location. Many great restaurants (3Dives!) nearby and sea access. Friendly staff, too.

Our room, however, was a disappointment. We had to sleep under the sheets to avoid getting bitten by mosquitoes. We avoided touch the floor with our bare feet. The bathroom has a terrible smell.

I completely understand that Xtabi is not a 5-star hotel, but I do think it should be at least clean.

If you like to see more photos and a more in-depth review of Xtabi, please visit my blog:

[-]

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 80 in Negril
1,373 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
0.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#43 of 80 in Negril
216 reviews
3.3 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
525 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xtabi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xtabi Resort

Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#22 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £45 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Xtabi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xtabi is a 25 Room Boutique Hotel, We are located on the West Cliffs of Negril, one + miles from the Negril Beach.XTABI offers a variety of different facilities such as economy and standard rooms, as well as one or two storey private cottages. Some of our accommodations are set in the lush tropical garden near the pool, others are on the impressive cliffside overlooking the Caribbean Sea.XTABI RESORT awaits you with a dramatic water front setting where spiral stairs are leading down through a cave to a sandy beach. Many grottos along the cliffs are to explore and the shallow reefs nearby ensure great snorkeling. The cliffside bar and restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving good food in a friendly atmosphere with a breath-taking view and nice music. Xtabi will make you feel IRIE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Xtabi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xtabi Hotel Negril
Xtabi Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing