We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy going”
Review of Xtabi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xtabi Resort
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Easy going”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Here is a nice please for relaxing in rocks and loving in front of the sunset.
Good value place to stay

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterpanlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    144
    32
    18
    16
See reviews for
32
253
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I want to thank everybody for making my stay the best. Mr P you are a great host!!! the girls from the front desk always so helpful. To Omar the security: THANK YOUUU for everything :) and the boys at the restaurant, thanks for entertain us everytime during our meals and our awesome driver Kingsley: thank you for your kindness!...i would definitly be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinaMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

During the past 5 years, my husband and I have visited Negril (Cliffs only) 5 times. We have spent a total of 44 nights waterside at Xtabi, so we obviously love it and would never give Xtabi anything but 5 stars.

We don't even bring laptops or books...just a camera, camcorder, binoculars and some music. We just go with the flow...we may hang out at the restaurant/cliff jump area for hours after breakfast. When butterflies, boats, birds, bats, crabs, dolphins or sunsets are around - we watch, chat and enjoy. The photos show how beautiful the water and grounds are, the snorkeling is great and the caves are fun!

Typically, Xtabi's food is fantastic - from yummy Eggs Benedict options for breakfast to a scrumptious, enormous Lobster Thermidor (have to see photo) for dinner. The mainly longtime staff are special and like family! From Dave and Sonya in the office to George, Omar, Donovan (H.) and Donovan at the restaurant to Omar (Security), Barbara (Housekeeping), Devon, Everton and everyone else - thank you for always making our time with you so special!

As I've read on TA before, please understand that Xtabi isn't The Ritz-Carlton, nor is it a 7-Mile Beach all-inclusive behemoth. Rather, Xtabi maintains its own unique charm.

We love the laid-back vibe and each moment at Xtabi so much that I cry every time we arrive and when we have to leave. I can still hear my husband say as he put his arm around me, "We'll be back...".

So true, so true - but never soon enough! Until then, Much Thanks, Love and Respect to Everyone at Xtabi - Take Care!

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank R_CFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We have been going for many years now, it is a wonderful place to stay if you want a peaceful holiday with no pressures & a friendly personal atmosphere.... We always stay on the cliff side, we have our favourite cottage..... All the cottages are so secluded & private if that is what you want....
Everything is always fresh & clean, nothing is too much for any of the staff if you have a question, a problem or need some help or advice...
The staff don't change here they have all been here a long time & I consider them ALL my friends now... Security is second to none.. I have stayed in other places, big & small & nobody's security matches Xtabi.. It is personal, the same people so you have continuity & of course they make sure they know who the guests are... Never any problem it is superb & you can rest easy........
The bar is fantastic.. You have Omar in the mornings & Donovan in the evenings..... The restaurant is superb & George will make sure it is what you want.... Always talk to George...!!!!! :):):)
Andrew is there for anything to do with the sea, no what experience you want, swimming snorkelling diving & night snorkelling.. A fantastic experience....!!! Even scooter or bike hire............
Talcia is on reception & is great & sooooooo helpful you won't have any problems.. I always email & never ever have had a problem.....!
A wonderful place to stay..


May favourite place to stay....!!!!! Yea.......!!!!!

So for me Xtabi every time....!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosieday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Xtabi is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the beauty of the Caribbean.

The sunsets there are spectacular, and make for a great early evening backdrops for cocktails and supper at their wonderful restaurant, staffed by friendly faces.

The caves and swimming/snorkeling at Xtabi is fun and interesting.

The garden rooms (where I stayed) are very comfortable, clean and quiet at night.
The rates are competitive and low - great value.

I would highly recommend anyone wishing to experience Jamaica at it's best to check out, and check into Xtabi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribeJam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I was a little leary after reading some of the reviews but once we arrived my fears disappeared! My sister preplanned my birthday dinner and everything was perfect. Sonya and staff were excellent from check-in to check out. Xtabi is REAL Jamaica. I must warn you the heat maybe too much for some because the cottage we had did not have AC. The view and access to the ocean made it OK for me but my friends did get a little over heated. If you need an little adventure go explore the Caves. The entrance is by the bar. Very cool. The resturant is very good, we had "Jamaican breafast" each morning with wonderful coffee. If you need to try somwhere else to eat go into town to Sweet Spice. George.Omar and Devon made our stay great. I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamarikn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenup, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I have traveled to Jamaica many times. This was my first time staying on the West End by the cliffs. Xtabi has everything for the perfect "relaxing" vacation. Rooms are clean and comfortable, excellent staff in every department. The entire staff was very friendly and handled my few requests with a smile on their faces. It is a very quaint and beautiful setting with well maintained grounds. Security is effective, friendly, and helpful. The inclusive breakfast has plenty of variety and is well worth it. They serve breakfast until 1:00pm. Lunch and dinner are excellent. From breath taking views to great music at the bar, Xtabi is truly a place of warmth and comfort. Swimming, snorkeling, and cliff jumping are on site. The caves are nice and cool and offer a spot to relax and take in the sunset. Airport shuttle service and local transport were great. Thanks Kingsley and Bunny. Can not say enough wonderful things about Sonya and the office staff. Housekeeping folks are friendly and keep the rooms clean and stocked with plenty of towels. I highly recommend Xtabi. Three Dives is just across the street with excellent jerk chicken, fish, and lobster at very affordable prices. Teresa next door at Just Natural serves some good food also. also. Downtown Negril and beaches are easily and quickly accessible for about $5.00 USD round trip. I'll go back!!!! Thanks to everyone at Xtabi Resort!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank electriclazyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#34 of 81 in Negril
1,348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
3.3 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
851 reviews
0.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#37 of 81 in Negril
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xtabi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xtabi Resort

Property: Xtabi Resort
Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#22 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xtabi Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xtabi is a 25 Room Boutique Hotel, We are located on the West Cliffs of Negril, one + miles from the Negril Beach.XTABI offers a variety of different facilities such as economy and standard rooms, as well as one or two storey private cottages. Some of our accommodations are set in the lush tropical garden near the pool, others are on the impressive cliffside overlooking the Caribbean Sea.XTABI RESORT awaits you with a dramatic water front setting where spiral stairs are leading down through a cave to a sandy beach. Many grottos along the cliffs are to explore and the shallow reefs nearby ensure great snorkeling. The cliffside bar and restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving good food in a friendly atmosphere with a breath-taking view and nice music. Xtabi will make you feel IRIE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Xtabi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xtabi Hotel Negril
Xtabi Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing