We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical retreat...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Cave Castle

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Cave Castle
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A magical retreat...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We absolutely love this place! It is very clean, well kept & the staff is very friendly. The food at Teddy's restaurant is fantastic!The grounds are very relaxing and the other visitors we have met here are wonderful. We stayed here for 10 days and will be sad to leave...can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower....very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogajohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    40
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
111
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was my second trip to Negril and Blue Cave Castle. My first trip was in 2009 and I loved it. Nothing has changed the second time around. Wonderful staff, great location (you can walk into town if you want), and the snorkeling was fantastic. Beautiful views. I stayed in room #10 which is one of the air conditioned rooms. The air conditioner works great. I can not say enough about the family atmosphere that exists here. You may come as a stranger but you leave as a happy member of the family!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Negril. The Castle, perched up on the cliffs of the West End, is the perfect getaway. The manager, Petrona makes you feel at home, the chef, Teddy is the Best. If it wasn't for the weird owner behind bars who is sort of like having your mother-in-law around, I would give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: #9, 10 and 11 are my favorites. Close to the yard and the coffee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed here with my two teenage daughters over a year ago (sorry about the late review). The price was great, the view and water amazing. The food from the chef on site was super. The only downside was many rooms don't have air conditioning and I do like a place where it is more convienent to lounge near the water with shade. There really was a lack of shade around the outside common areas.

BUT, super cook swimming in the caves below. And there was a free shuttle that took us to a really nice cliff resort up the road. If I was doing it again I'd book a room that has air conditioning, and try out some more of the other cliff hotel restaurants and little bars.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Finally doing our reviews...day late and dollar short!

Positives:
Staff (love Petrona!), gardens, rooms, swim area, location, restaurant (Teddy's is AMAZING), communal coffee daily (YUM).

Negatives: No pool

All around great place with a cult following. Would stay again in a minute!

Room Tip: Not sure of what is is called, but we were in the newer (non cave) area, middle room. VERY nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The location and views are stunning from this one-of-a-kind castle hotel. The water was calm almost all days and great for swimming and snorkeling. We loved eating seaside at the tables on the grounds where meals are served by Teddy's Hideaway Eatery around the corner but it was a bit pricey for some items. Teddy's also has a gate by the road that leads into the restaurant's eating area. The gate also has a top half-door for take outs which was cool. The staff was fantastic and cheerfully and helpfully answered all questions. The gardens are beautiful and the grounds meticulously maintained creating the ultimate relaxing environment.

We toured other rooms and all had great bathrooms with pedestal sinks, great tubs and showers, and newer tiled floors. On that note, hopefully the penthouse counter top and sink in the kitchen and bathroom are next. We had issues with blockages in the faucets and shower head from mineral buildup we were guessing as well as dripping faucets and white mineral buildup in the sinks and on the faucet surfaces. We did not have any issues with electric or water except for a minor plumbing issue which was immediately addressed but not the blockages or dripping faucets. Looked like the bathroom floor could use re-grouting or steaming and the old stickers and paint buildup on the toilet was unpleasant. A microwave would be more useful and up-to-date than the double hot plate in our opinion. There is no air conditioning or phone in room.

The floor tile was beautiful throughout as was the rest of the room complete with handmade furniture. The room layout was pretty good given the smaller space except for the coffee table and TV table which seemed too large for the room and were awkward to maneuver around as were the bar stools. The step-up bathroom and step-up toilet took some getting used to as did the tiny hand washing sink and smaller shower. Housekeeping did an excellent job keeping the balconies and room clean and restocking with plenty of towels and washcloths, changed the sheets mid-week, and even changed out the bathroom rug.

The other guests were very interesting and friendly. Security lets you in and out of the gate and there are two German Shepherds that help keep watch. On that note, one night, a group of eight to twelve non-guests, mainly women, seated themselves at a table, were very noisy, taking photos, smoking, taking chairs from other tables, wandering the property, people and locals drifting in and out of the group from the pathway to the restaurant and two cut through the garden with one jumping the wall and walking along the room's balcony. The poor waitress circled the table at least a dozen times and no one ordered anything. Another night, a group of four noisy non-guest women dined seaside and were so disruptive that it ruined the dining atmosphere and that of the hotel. We were under the impression that the tables on the property, including those in the veranda building, were for guests and that non-guests dined in the restaurant area itself especially since the hotel and restaurant are separate entities with table service provided as a courtesy to hotel guests (we often walked up to the restaurant to let them know we were seated at a table). With hotel guests required to enter and exit through the gate via Security and having to show identification upon check-in, the presence of these non-guests did not help build a secure image of the hotel. We found these two situations quite unsettling and did speak to Security about them.

We only used the stairs in the tower to get to the sea. The other stairs to the cave and sea were too long and steep for us. There are no railings on the sea steps or stairways in the castle except for one with double chains and the steps seemed to be at uneven elevations. There is a cool bench and cave at the tower entrance to the sea and the platform and ladder were fairly easy to maneuver.

Overall, we had a great, relaxing time and would recommend as it is something that should be experienced at least once. We will probably stay elsewhere as the steps proved wearisome for us as did the lack of air conditioning and I personally prefer a more modern decor although it is perfect for the Caribbean seaside castle environment.

Room Tip: really a matter of personal choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewLuggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Österreich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

If you are looking for a honeymoon destination, this should be the place to go.
Nice little restaurants and bars just around the corner. 3 minutes car ride away from the famous white beach. The rooms are big, clean, well equipped and very individual. In the middle of the property is a "blue whole" which is a direct (but dangerous) access to the ocean. Its a nice feature but not practicable. You have direct access to the ocean via the cliffs around the property or you can use the stairs to access the ocean. Bring you snorkeling equipment, the underwater world in front of the hotel is amazing!! Have fun ;-)

Room Tip: never mind, all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
3.7 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#27 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Zanzi Beach Resort
Zanzi Beach Resort
#55 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#29 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jackie's on the Reef
Jackie's on the Reef
#35 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home Sweet Home Resort
Home Sweet Home Resort
#28 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Cave Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Cave Castle

Property: Blue Cave Castle
Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#12 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#21 Family Hotel in Negril
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Blue Cave Castle Negril
Blue Cave Castle Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing