We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views to die for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Cave Castle

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Cave Castle
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Views to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed here after spending the first 6 nights in Port antonio. The drive was surprisingly good. The roads from port antonio to negril are very good and we did the trip in around 3 hours. Arriving at the Penthouse at blue cave castle was an incredible. You have a truly panoramic view and could see all along the beach and around the cliffs. There are 3 different balconies with the penthouse, all of a great size and 1 of them also has a shower and toilet. With a small kitchen, there was really no need to leave the comfort of your own space other than to stock up on the red stripe or to go out to dinner. The in house restaurant was superb. I did not miss having air conditioning although I thought that I may and I did not get eaten alive by mosquitos. ( nb.the rest of my visit they came down on me with knives and forks) Altogether a great time was had here and if was not for the fact that my partner has mobility problems and the stairs were too much for him, I would book this again in a heatbeat.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    40
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
111
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

The Blue Cave Castle is the most sensational place I have ever stayed at and I've traveled to nearly every continent on Earth. This place is absolutely gorgeous. It's utterly private, the decorations are fantastic, and the view is to die for. How emotionally and spiritually satisfying is it to wake up and have a delicious, orgasmic breakfast by the multi-colored sea, sparkling with all its glory? And to have dinner under the stars, to hear the waves crashing against the cliffs at night when you sleep?

I found out about the BCC by reading this site. Now I can join the happy group of travelers and share my positive experiences.

The BCC is a true castle experience. Everyone is SO FRIENDLY and watches out for you, makes sure you have a good time but also stay safe. You feel like you're staying with family. You will never feel alone in this place. And it's by far, the best place on West End Road, if not all of Negril. If you hate the all-inclusive places like I do--which btw take money away from local Jamaicans in the tourist industry--you will enjoy the bonus of staying at the BCC even more.

Teddy's cooking at the BCC is absolutely AMAZING. His service is impeccable, and his company is an honor and privilege. Jamaica is a fantastic place--you will never forget it. Why not make it more glorious and stay at the BCC?

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wavypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

My parents arrainged to renew their wedding vows in Negril at Blue Cave Castle on December 5. Located on a cliff just feet above the ocean there is something quite serene about this establishment. The locals are warm and freindly. The food is great.. Teddy , the hotel Chef is amazing. ( Lobster Thermadore is a must!!!!). Petrona is the sweetest person I've met. She made the entire stay, wedding included, a pleasure. I'm planning my return trip in April. I had a wonderful time. If your looking for a place to reflect, watch the sunset, meditate or just have a great time with your freinds and family, Blue Cave Castle is the way to go!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank balletbratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

This is our 6th visit to Blue Cave Castle and we will probably never stay anywhere else! We tried another place up the road once but wanted to come back to Blue Cave Castle as quickly as possible. All the staff is super friendly and nice, there's a restaurant on site (Teddy is a GREAT cook), it's safe, and free coffee in the mornings to boot! What a great place to stay when in Negril, we would not have it any other way!!! Can't wait to come back for trip #7!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed at BCC from September 5th through the 16th. Although we usually stay different places every time we go to Negril, I will definitely be staying here again!! The staff is absolutely wonderful and, if you need anything, all you have to do is ask. If you don't want to venture out to get food, the chef on the property, Teddy, makes some amazing meals. Eating there is definitely a must. There's a quiet, laid-back vibe there that is great. The only problem we had was that our A/C didn't work the first night because someone had reset the code on the remote. That was quickly addressed the next morning by Petrona and we had no other issues with it. Our stay was exactly what we needed and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone . You can't beat the price, and you get top notch service as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bressler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

It's been almost a year since I stayed in the Blue Cave Castle and as I'm searching around Tripadvisor for my next adventure I thought that I ought to share some advice with fellow trippers on the hotel and Jamaica in general.
Firstly Jamaica is a poor country filled with beautiful people. Many Jamaicans work for very little but usually have a great big smile for courteous travellers. Of course whereever you have rich tourists you will also have rip off merchants, drugs and prostitution. Negril is definitely no exception. Negril village itself in fact is quite dangerous at night and best avoided. Having said that many of the gange dealers and hookers are friendly and chilled out and accept a clear 'no' quickly.
We went in the rainy season when there aren't as many visitors to 7 mile beach which means that we had plenty of spliff sellers targeting us.
Anyway, about the hotel.
The Blue Cave Castle is run by a New York lady who takes no nonsense from anybody but treat her respectfully and she will help you out anyway she can. Her lady manager is a delight. The hotel has 24 hour security and its own private chef, a yellow eyed young man who knows how to cook a lobster!
I only meant to stay a few days but ended up staying more than a week. I think I payed 80 dollars a night, a great bargain! My room had air con which is essential in the tropics, plus a great shower, cable tv and wooden shutters on the windows.
Of course the selling point of the Blue Cave Castle is that its literally built over small caves that you can swim into when there's no swell. We pretty much had the hotel to ourselves and each evening at half five I would sit out in the large gardens, light up a Jamaican cigar and watch the fantastic sunsets, which ended promptly at 6.10 with sudden darkness. The cicadas kick in for half an hour then before going to bed.
Perhaps because it was the rainy season but we had no problems with noisy guests or strange happenings. I should mention that the hotel is a half a mile from 7 mile beach , on the cliffs part of Negril. There's a great little internet shop a few hundred yards away run a young black american with big muscles who also sells great ice cream!
And there's a supermarket in Negril which sells plenty of beers and toiletries and all the other things I usually need. The Blue Cave also sells beers and coffees when the chef is around!
I went scuba diving in a hotel two hundred yards further up the beach run by Germans, I'm sure you can just google the name. Also I went snorkelling far out on the reef by just hitching a lift on a water taxi passing by.
Jamaica is a fantastic place but you have to show some common sense. There's a strong gun and macho culture among the young men and if you have knees as white as mine its best to stay away from the more dangerous places.
However every taxi we got was driven by a great guy, all the girls in the shops and restaurants were always smiling and even the hookers and drug dealers were chilled out! Just don't flash hundred dollar bills around places you don't know.
My memory of the place only sweetens with time.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocFarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

Me and my spouse went to Blue Cave Castle and stayed in the penthouse suite. We have mixed emotions about our stay.

First, the good.
-There was a cook onsite, Teddy, who made incredible food. Slightly overpriced however wont break the bank. Jerk chicken is to die for.
-Swimming off the cliffs is a great experience with very warm water and great snorkling (bring your own gear).
-Penthouse had three private balconies, great for private sun tanning during the day and incredible star filled skies by night. We laid out one night counting the shooting stars.
-The waitress on-site was the best I have ever had. She was so sweet and accomodating.

The bad:
-The first day and a half we were there we had NO WATER. Unable to flush the toilet, shower or run the taps. After a swim in the salt water then bathing in your own sweat from the heat, a shower would have been nice. The downsides of not being able to flush the toilet speak for themselves and having no running water limits us from washing our hands, brushing our teeth and limits the types of food to prepare. We were told its because of a drought in the area, also we were notified by a staff member that a watermain broke in Negril... who knows. All I knew is that ALL the lower floors had water and we were even offered to shower in one of them if we wanted to. (They must have been linked to another water pipe than us.)
-The walk to the local mini-mart is an adventure in itself. You are constantly followed and questioned while walking down the road. Many many locals trying to sell you drugs, jewelry, coffee, etc... they would call you over (or chase you down) and when you would refuse to have any interest they would get insulted that you wouldnt allow hem to show you their "merchandise". They need to make a living, which is understood, and a simple firm "no" usually was sufficient but sometimes its not. The first time I went my wife said she would watch me from the front gate, just incase, however she was instructed to come inside as it was not safe for her to be out there.The local mini-mart has all the necessities (bring Jamaican $). They accept US$, however all prices are listed in JA. Save yourself any confusions of currency exchange or fabricated exchange rates.

-The rooms have no panes of glass on the windows so the noises from outside are sometimes excessive (especially at night). Our first night we did not sleep AT ALL. There were CONSTANTLY stray dogs barking, extremely loud car mufflers, loud music and honking horns. Once the noise began to subside at around 5:30 a.m., the hundreds of roosters began with their cockadidledoos... time for breakfast.

-There were also thousands of bugs in and around the kitchen, bathroom sinks and furniture. We sprayed everything with bugspray but they always seemed to come back.

Blue Cave was definately a destination we were looking forward to and unfortunately it did disappoint. It was one thing for me to "rough it out" but I felt bad my woman had to go through it as well. We were going for relaxation, privacy and quietness. Even though, at times, BCC did provide that, there were far too many negatives that prevented it from happening.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank geoffster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
3.7 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#27 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Zanzi Beach Resort
Zanzi Beach Resort
#55 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#29 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jackie's on the Reef
Jackie's on the Reef
#35 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home Sweet Home Resort
Home Sweet Home Resort
#28 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Cave Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Cave Castle

Property: Blue Cave Castle
Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#12 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#21 Family Hotel in Negril
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Blue Cave Castle Negril
Blue Cave Castle Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing