We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE LOVE”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
NOLA
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“ONE LOVE”
Reviewed 6 April 2011

First time at an All-In and LOVED IT!!! Great food-rack of lamb, lots of seafood, tenderloin-all seasoned to perfection. Good strong drinks-Franklin's Mexican Desserts at the swim up bar were the Best!!! Thanks to Latoya too for keeping our glasses filed on the beach. The flag service on the beach was great!! Floats on every lounge chair nice touch. Cat ride out to swim through caves Big Fun thanks to Vera. Para sailing was nice, too. Walking fast when we got there but, by the end, had my swagger on nice & slow. Tree house massage a must!
Went to YS Falls & the water felt amazing!! Zipped over the falls, too!! Can't wait to go back next year!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fleurdelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,878
    996
    252
    131
    43
See reviews for
49
3,316
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at Couples Negril resort as part of my sister's 50th birthday celebration as an 8 person party. There were a large number of issues with the service and the resort. I wanted to detail them below and sent this letter to the hotel to ask for their response to this:

1. We were told we would be upgraded to a beachfront room due to the issue in booking so we paid 7 nights though we only stayed 6 nights. Unfortunately we did not get an upgrade - we were still in a room facing the garden. In fact we were put in a room VERY far from the rest of our party and nothing was done to remedy this when I pointed it out to the staff.

2. Although we paid for an all inclusive resort with tons of activities, we were not allowed to do the activities except on the first day of our stay.
- much of this was due to inclement weather, but we were not allowed to use the hobie cat sailboats even the first day - the staff refused to let us without taking a course even though I have sailed before.

3. Certainly the weather is not your fault, but the lack of service and activities during the weather was.
- rooms were not cleaned
- mini bar was not stocked
- towels and toilet paper were not replenished
- the rooms were all dripping on the walls and ceiling with moisture as the AC didnt work, nothing could be dried
- all indoor activities were also cancelled (tie-dye shirts, jewelry seminar, etc)
- staff knew nothing when we asked, no apologies were made for any lapse in service, and staff was generally rude - especially the waitresses.
- generator was broken only at our resort (we talked guests from other resorts and theirs was working) so we had poor service. The engineer was getting drunk in the bar instead of fixing the generator
- despite all these issues, the wait staff in the only open restaurant had the nerve to suggest I was required to wear a formal shirt with sleeves to dine there even though women were allowed to wear tank tops - I apparently was not. Paying $400 per night for an all inclusive where we couldn't do anything and then on top of it they refused to let me dine in the only restaurant open? Ridiculous.
- you ran out of alcohol nightly.
- Although there were 4 open 2 person tables at the LyChee restuarant, we were told they would not seat us there. Quote from your seating host: "Those tables are only available because no one is sitting there." Yes - that is the definition of available. We told her so. They still refused to seat us there and made us wait for 45 minutes, before they finally indeed did seat us at those 4 tables. In the meantime, they seated 3 other couples at other tables. The wait is inexcusable.
- At every restuarant for dinner, it took 2-3 hours to serve us. You seem ill-equipped to handle simple orders.

4. As a general note - your resort has too many rules and this really detracts from guest enjoyment
- Have to wear formal clothing in your one restuarant
- Have to wear shirts with sleeves in the buffet area
- Have to bring towels from room and exchange at the beach
- Have to take a lesson before renting the hobie cats even if you know how to sail

The only positive note was that a very few select staff were actually quite nice and helpful - mainly Sheldon, Nana, and Zandrie. They were all extremely friendly and helpful, but even saying that - they were not organizing any activities at a time when they should have done so - they mainly just chatted with everyone. Any of the fun couples games etc could have been arranged and organized during the storms inside the main rooms... something to take everyone's minds off the storms.

Overall, it seems your resort was ill-prepared to handle a storm. What would happen if there was actually a major disaster like a hurricane? Even without the storm your service level was poor and your resort was laden with too many burdensome rules.

In the end at checkout - nothing was done for us. No discount offered nor even any apology from the hotel. Inconceivable lapse in service.

This really left me with a poor impression of your resort. What do you plan to do about it? Anything at all?
I would like to discuss with Couples Senior Management. Please forward my email to them and CC to me so that I can follow up with them about this.
---------------------
The hotel first offered 2 days free if we came back within 1 year. However we live in CHina. It would cost us $10K USD to go back and 2 days travel each way... so, no chance we could do it it within 1 year. When I politely asked them to consider extending this longer, they completely rescinded their offer at all!!! AMAZING! So now they refused to do anything for us.
------------------------
Do yourself a favor and stay at a Sandal's resort where they actually care about their guests and the place looks nice.

BUt really... Jamaica is not worth going to at all... better to go to nicer places in the Carribean.

Room Tip: stay at Sandal's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank blandmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamman, Vice president of operations at Couples Negril, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
How unfortunate that you visited Jamaica during a tropical depression nearly one year ago. 

It is indeed regretted that the torrential rain hampered our normal operations. Thank you for our kind comments concerning our staff. Many of whom lost their homes and had to deal with flooded roads but still made an effort to come to work. At one point Negril was totally cut off due to floods and even a Tornado.

I am so sorry that our back up Generator failed during dinner for two hours and the following day from 1pm to 9pm. Also due to this hot water to guest rooms was also affected. The resort activities and excursions were affected for 3 days.

SANDALS Negril I am sorry to say actually closed due to storm damage for quite a few weeks after this storm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langley
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Stayed at the Couples Negril last week with my wife and five other couples. We were expecting a high end resort according to all our research and what we found was a very nice resort which was a luxury resort 20 years ago as far as the buildings go. Our first impressions were that of being a little dissapointed with the hotel and our rooms as we have stayed in hotels with a higher impact on that first impression in the D.R. and Vietnam and for less money. Our friends had stayed at Sandals St. Lucia and found it to be much more amazing. A few examples where things could have been better is the lobby where there is a large faded mural behind the front desk and the lobby furniture cushions need replacing. Our room was fairly large but as I said before would have been quite luxurious 20 yrs ago but now looks a little worn.

Now that I've mentioned these short comings let me say there are lots of pluses to this resort.

The beach is fantastic. Large, lovely white sand and gorgeous warm tropical blue water. The scuba diving is included and did take advantage of that. The diving was good not excellent but the staff and equipment were top rate.

The Food. Excellent. The buffet was really good with lots of variety. The salad bar was huge plus there was also a Ceasar or Greek Salad bar where they made your custom salad for you. The a la Carte restaurants were all very good with very friendly and efficient servers. The bars all had very friendly staff willing to make you any drink your heart desired with premiulm brands available at all of the bars generously poured. The piano bar was a fun place to finish off your evening.

The entertainment at this resort was excellent, especially the Night Birds Steel Drum Band. They were amazing!!!!

The catamaran trip included in the package was fun.

The grounds themselves were well kept and the beach freshly raked and ready to go for you each morning.

It was nice to be in a resort that didn't have the theme music pounding all day long.

To sum it up; a very nice resort with top notch food, beach, entertainment and if the buildings had some freshening up and possibly updating in the rooms(bathrooms) this would truly be a five star resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blair114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We spent 2 weeks at Couples Negril ( March 21 - April 4) and felt Couples Negril met or exceeded our every expectation.

Beach - One of the best we've seen, no weeds, gradual walk into the water and a large cordoned off swimming area. Rivals the best beaches in Cuba.

Food - though we were here for 2 weeks , we didn't tire of the food and found the servers courteous and very helpful. When we mentioned a food allergy, appetizers were immeidately switched to avoid the offending food. If you chose to tip for the wonderful service( quietly , as tipping is not encouraged at this resort) you had a friend for life..

Room- we had a basic garden view room and it was everything we needed or wanted: cool, quiet and comfortable. Shellian, who kept our room spic and span, was delightful and took care of anything our room needed.

Tennis- 4 great tennis courts with visiting and resident instructors ensured that if you wanted time with the instructors, you would get it. We played ourselves and never had difficulty getting a court.

Entertainment - excellent . The house band Sweet Sensations was very good, and the special acts brought in each night were very entertaining and of excellent quality.

Staff - From the omelette preparers, to servers to sports staff, everyone was there to please , but not intrude. Very pleasant staff with wonderfully exotic names.

Overall - we expect to be back to this resort next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank headingsomeplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidderminster england
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Last year we spent 14 nights in an Excellence hotel in Mexico.The hotel couldn't be faulted,the bedrooms were luxurious but something was not right so this year we returned home to Couples.
TRANSFER-No time for a drink in the Couples lounge as the bus was ready to depart.Journey took 2 hours partly due to the driver taking a detour to pick up and drop off three Jamaican passengers.He said he required petrol but never filled up.
ROOMS-The rooms have all we require,a large comfy bed,mini bar,flat screen tv,plenty of storage space,all kept very clean.It is wonderful to sit on the balcony enjoying the view.The green paint helps the buildings to merge into the surrounding foliage creating a peaceful private ambiance.
CASSAVA TERRACE RESTAURANT-evening-This began badly for us.After 15+hours travelling we needed a quick,peaceful meal before bed.No sooner were we seated than the entertainment began.The music was so loud we couldnt hear each other speak.Service was really slow,the waitress apologised three times for the delay.After two courses we left straight to bed without unpacking.We never returned which was a pity as the menu choice was good but although we enjoy background music with a meal it was just to loud for us to enjoy eating there.
CASSAVA TERRACE RESTAURANT-daytime-Only went to breakfast twice as I love omelettes.There was plenty of choice available but would have been too full for lunch if we had eaten much.
Lunch-BIG IMPROVEMENT-we could have a seat around the edge of the room,previously reserved for smokers.Plenty of food choice and good salad bar.
HELICONIA GRILL-daytime BIG BIG IMPROVEMENT with the intoduction of pagers.You can now enjoy a drink after ordering while they prepare your lunch instead of everyone crowding around the cooking area.Would love pizza and omelette to be added to the menu.
HELICONIA GRILL-nightime BIG IMPROVEMENT,we can now sit in the beach half of the restaurant which was previously reserved for smokers.We prefer to wait for a table here enjoying a drink on the boardwalk,pagers would be a good evening addition also.The menu was changed more frequently and the food was tasty.
LYCHEE-Never had to wait but did see lines some evenings.Pagers again would be useful.Good food,wish egg fried rice was on the menu.
OTAHEITE-Lovely room,feels special.On our third visit we didnt like the wine,the server said it's a new bottle and walked off so we had water that night.Some tasty meals to be had here.
Over the 14nights we only drink dry white wine with our meals.There seemed to be two varieties which ever one they had at the time.One we liked,one we hated.We wish there was more choice as we are not spirit drinkers.The wine served at the repeaters dinner was very good and the meal was yummy.
In conclusion we dont like marble and concrete hotels very much but love the tropical atmosphere of Couples.Already booked for March 12

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulineclifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton,New-Brunswick
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

My husband and I just returned from a great vacation at Couples Negril. The moment we stepped out the airport we were greeted by the warm jamaican sun and a nice sea breeze. A very nice change from the bitter cold in Canada.
We arrived at the resort and check in was very fast. We were housed in building four on the second floor. Our room was kept very clean all week and our mini bar was kept well stocked all week. We actually have a little view of the ocean from our balcony thru the lush vegetation.
The resort has a very beautiful and big pool, but I can't comment on the pool because we spent our whole vacation on the beach. The beach is quite beautiful with warm and clear water. The bottom of the ocean is pure white sand with no seaweed or rocks. It's gorgeous. The vendors on the beach come and go, but they do not bother you. If you're not interested in their merchandise a simple no thank you does the trick. They can be a bit more persisitent when you leave the resort and go for a walk on Bloody Bay, but no big deal.
This would not be a good review if we did not mention the great food they have at the resort. The food is delicious. We ate breakfast and lunch at the buffet every day. They have a great selection of healthy food which is great. You can also have lunch at the Beach Grill where you can get burgers and fries, jamaican patties, jerk chicken and the best onion rings. As far as we are concerned, it's at dinner time that the food magic happens at the resort. All the restaurants have amazing food. Lychee (asian restaurant) being our favorite. The beef teriaky, ribs and pad thai are the best. On a side note, the resort have the best soups I have ever eaten, my hats off to the soup chef.
We had a great vacation in the sun. We were able to relax and enjoy the beach. We ate great food and had great drinks. I would return to this resort and I would recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Southbound_Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestview, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

This was our 4th trip to CN and our 5th to Couples Resorts. The staff once again were incredible, and one of the main reasons we keep returning. This trip we were once again given "perks" for being repeaters, and that, combined with a booking special w/ resort credit granted us all the spa services and shopping we could do onsite, essentially "comped".
This resort is "hands down" the standard by which all others are judged in our book. When you consider the location, staff, food, top shelf liquor selection and REAL inclusions..there's none better..We also find thet the social atmosphere here helps to rekindle old friendships and make new ones easily. There were a few "glitches" this trip that we didn't see in previous stays though...
The made to order omelet/egg station at breakfast is to die for, but this trip they didn't have mushrooms available the entire stay...No biggie, except that there were many mushroom dishes offered at dinner time. Also, no Ackee & Saltfish(Jamaica's National Dish) during the whole 9 days we stayed...My wife and I are quite fond of this by now and looked forward to some...it was never available. Wife told there was an "ackee shortage"...really?.... in Jamaica???...oh well, still not a deal breaker.
I don't believe that it's CN's fault, but the guests have decided to play the "chair game" here, like many other places, to where you must join them, if you can't beat 'em..possibly there are fewer chairs/floaties than in the past? not sure on this one...
Improvements.. repeaters dinner more brief and inviting than the past...we stayed for the duration of it, finally. We were able to get bottled red stripes in the room, so long as we requested them on our room card( a nice plus). I could go on forever complimenting CN, but, it would be redundant. My advice to anyone would be.."Just Go".
Props to the bar staff: Franklin, Ivylynn, Yannick, Cashwayne...and to entertainment: Carlos, and especially Nana, who has become a friend and remembers us from our past stays...Herbert, the 1st person we see upon arrival, who hugged us and made us feel like we were home...and, Karen, who still makes CN a wonderful vacation spot.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NautiBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 81 in Negril
5,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#17 of 81 in Negril
2,256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.1 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#22 of 81 in Negril
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Destinology, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing