We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples delivers again!”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Couples delivers again!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at Couples Negril in mid November and this was our 4th stay. Transfer to the resort went very smooth. Room was ready when we arrived around 4pm. We had a garden view room in building 1. Room was very nice as usual. Housekeeping was spot on every day. They really do a wonderful job. Our room was quiet and we slept well every night. The beds are very nice and supportive. They are on the firm side but that is what we prefer. Our room was one that the bathroom had been recently renovated. It was nice and we loved the rain shower however the way the drain and half shower wall are designed the water from the shower easily gets onto the entire floor. We had to put a towel at the edge to minimize this. I really think they may need to rethink this design as it is a bit annoying when getting ready. The air conditioner was also new and was quiet and worked very well. As usual, the service at all the restaurants and bars was excellent. We especially love the breakfast buffet. The beach is wonderful and the water calm. Watersports staff are very helpful. This place has more of a laid back vibe which is great for relaxing. Be sure to visit the piano bar late in the evening for fun times. Return transfer to the airport was very timely. Would love to see this place stay as a resort for "couples" rather than for large groups. We plan to return again in the future!

Room Tip: We have stayed in garden view room and deluxe ocean and both are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tulumfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,879
    997
    252
    131
    43
See reviews for
49
3,318
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I can understand how views differ, sometimes you read reviews and you say to yourself "is that the resort I stayed at". This was our second stay at CN and it still for us, delivers, more than it disappoints.

The highs are the lay out of the resort and the proximity of restaurants, pool, beach, rooms without being cramped. Generally the food is very good, the breakfasts and lunches at Cassava Terrace were brilliant the disappointment was the Cassava buffet evening meals outside and the Beach Grill. The Otaheite and the Lychee continue to deliver a very nice alternative during the evenings.

The one disappointment for us was the evening entertainment, sorry but it does need a shot in the arm, such as the Sax player that joined in during our stay.

The activities teams do a great job, and please do get down to the scuba hut and try out scuba diving, brilliant team running this.

For a great nights sleep and great beachfront views try out blocks 5 or 9, we recommend room 5305.

Room Tip: Blocks 5 or 9, 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritchie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We were hoping for a romantic, quiet honeymoon and whilst the beach was beautiful, the Caribbean Sea stunning and the food and service generally excellent - the whole trip was marred by large groups of loud Americans who felt they could take over the pool area with there iPod Dock and loud music!
The resort itself is set in nice grounds but the rooms are in need of a lick of paint and some other redecoration.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Pea_and_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham I, Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Pea_and_Jim,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us for your honeymoon. We’re glad that you enjoyed our beach, food and service. I apologize for the level of noise you might have experienced by the pool. Management does their best to maintain a relaxing atmosphere on the resort. Please recognize that we have already started renovating and redecorating all of our rooms.

On behalf of Couples Negril, thank you for your review. Have a wonderful holiday season.

Sincerely,
Abraham Issa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Pros:
Beach is SPECTACULAR. Crystal clear, turquoise warm water, smooth, no surf. The beach itself is meticulously maintained. One of the best I've ever seen.

Well, unfortunately that's it for Pros.

Cons:
Rooms are tired. They're old and need to get re-done. Little ants in the bathroom, hard mattress, small sink.

Big Problem: When everyone leaves the beach between, say, 5PM and 6PM, they run out of hot water. We took cool showers every afternoon. That gets old, especially for what this place costs. I spoke to the manager about it but there was nothing she could do, they just don't have enough hot water. Several other guests complained as well. Also, on that same note, we were there right after Thanksgiving when it wasn't crowded. I can imagine this problem getting MUCH worse as the tourist season heightens. That may be a function of the building we were in, (Building 6), but it's a real problem.

Food: I like the vacation buffets. Couples has Breakfast and Lunch buffets everyday, but only has Dinner buffet three times a week. The other times, you're forced to eat in one of the restaurants. The food was good, but I literally ended up ordering two dinners the portions were so small.

Overall: The more I travel, the more discriminating I've become. For some people, the quality of the rooms and the lack of dinner buffets won't matter.
For me, those things add up. No matter what, the hot water is a big problem.
So here's my verdict: If you're a newbie, you'll LOVE this place. If you've been to lots of other island all-inclusive resorts, you won't love it, you'll like it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pilam80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham I, Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Pilam80,

Thank you for contributing to our page here on Trip Advisor. We appreciate this constructive review on your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the shortage of hot water. Repairs were taking place within that period.

Couples Negril does only have 3 dinner buffets per week. This is because we have 4 a la carte restaurants which offer guests a variety of gourmet choices.

Your comments about our beach are definitely valid. In fact, all of our properties are situated on the most pristine beaches in Jamaica.

We are sorry to hear that your vacation with us did not meet your expectations. Please be informed that we have started renovating our rooms and forwarded your review to management.

Happy Holidays,
Abraham Issa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My fiancee and I spent 5 days around thanksgiving at Couples Negril and we loved our experience. We went to a few all inclusive hotels a few years ago but most of our recent experiences were in so-called "luxury" resorts in Asia (W resorts for example). We felt that Couples had strong hardware with amazing service and facilities. Some details below:

- Transfer from the airport: yes the bus ride takes about 1h30. But everything is very smooth. We got to the lounge in the airport and only waited for 20 min or so. They will ask you to tip the luggage guys so carry some small change.
- Rooms: we stayed in a renovated room in Building #1 and really liked it. We had heard bad reviews about the bathroom but the renovated ones are nice with a big shower. Housekeeping is great too.
- The beach: very very nice. The sand was amazing and we liked that the ocean was not as quiet as on the other side of the bay. Water was warm and nice.
- The pool: it is a bit small but totally fine given the number of guests using it.
- The water sports: we went on 3 dives and did some water ski. They tend to shut down the place very easily as soon as there is a single wave. We were a bit disappointed by that since we thought conditions were fine for taking an hobbycat out. Our divemaster was great and the dives solid. Be careful with the double tank dive on Saturdays as it tends to get really crowded...
- The food: here again solid experience. The food was not amazing but very consistent and with lots of choices. We really liked our experience at Otaheite as well as the fresh coconuts for breakfast.
- Drinks: great selection and good adaptability. We found most of the drinks to be too sweet so we asked for them to adapt and they were great at customizing our drinks.
- Service/entertainment: they are very very good at remembering people's name. From the animation staff to the bar crew. We really liked the animations organized all day long and the atmosphere that came with. Very often you get to play volleyball in other resorts with the same 3 people. It was not the case here. Entertainment at night was sometimes amazing (silverbirds!), sometimes just adequate. Overall we were not bored at night though.

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Building 1 has been renovated. Building 2 is being worked on
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kristtov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Couples Negril Sept 2013 for 7 nights for our first anniversary celebration and it was an amazing choice! We were very pleased with all aspects of this resort. We honeymooned in Montego Bay last year at Sandals Royal Caribbean and because we had such an amazing honeymoon at RC we were a little apprehensive about trying a new brand and were worried we would be disappointed, boy were we wrong! The level of service at this resort was amazing.

At check in we were greeted quickly and brought our complimentary champagne, and the gentleman who checked us in went over everything in the notes on our reservation. I was very pleased that the details of our private beach dinner had been noted and that we confirmed the dinner for our anniversary night right away.

Upon arrival in our room we did find a puddle on the floor from the leaking air conditioner. We called the front desk and they said that they would take care of it right away. Unfortunately we returned to change for dinner and it had not been fixed, but we asked our housekeeper if she could make sure that it was corrected. Upon return from dinner it had been fixed, properly, and we never had another problem with it the entire stay.

The rooms are nice. Comfy and clean. Not over the top and not out of date. I prefer the bathrooms with a separate shower and tub and the toilet in its own room for more privacy, but it wasn't a deal breaker for me. Our balcony had a great view of the pond and the beach! Lots of afternoon relaxation happened there, waiting out the rain that came in the afternoon, lasted usually an hour and was a welcome break from the sun. We would have been lobsters otherwise! Ha!

The beach was great! We originally were skeptical about it being "public" with vendors walking up and down selling their wares, but we found it some of the best entertainment we had! They were all so personable and friendly, and as soon as you said one "no, thank you" they left you alone. Now, I have got to say that Donovan is THE BEST! This incredibly entertaining man came every afternoon and sang the most beautiful music for us! He is an absolute gem! We want to go back just to hear him sing and watch him dance.

The red flag service can't be beat! Just put your flag in the sand and they are there to take your order. They brought everything quickly and always checked back to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. We also liked the snacks they would bring around, fruit kabobs were a nice refresher in the hot sun. Drinks weren't too strong, or too weak. I really feel they did it just right. Ask the bartenders at the swim-up bar to make some of their specialty shots! That was so fun! And tasted some interesting combinations.

The food was very good in my opinion. Everything was tasty and I never had a complaint. We did get a little bit bored with only one dining option for breakfast, by the end of 7 days we were a little breakfast buffet'd out. Lunch at the Beach grill was amazing! Jerk Chicken was great! The menu had a different special each day, which was always good. We also really loved the nachos. It was nice to run over and grab some quick for an afternoon snack. We really enjoyed all of the a la carte options and would recommend every one of the restaurants. We just wish they had been open for lunch too so we could have tried more! We did Heliconia once, and Lychee and Othehite twice. Othehite was by far my favorite though even though it was more formal and my husband disliked the no shorts policy there. Incredible food! So worth putting pants on. Ha!

Watersports were top notch! We were very impressed by the selection. As well as the instruction from the staff, they were very thorough but fun too! All the equipment was nice, none of it looked old, or out of date, or abused. Nice to see. The sheer amount INCLUDED watersports is AMAZING! Wake boarding and waterskiing were offered, which I never worked up the nerve to try, but many couples did and it was so fun seeing them go out and try it. SCUBA IS INCLUDED.... I am so very very happy that we did the scuba. Sugar, the instructor was great! The class was thorough and he made sure you really understood all the skills you needed. There is of course the pitch to buy the package to get your certification, we passed on that, but anyone who wants to do it, I highly recommend Sugar as an instructor! The first dive is included also and it was quite long! We saw so much! Lots of amazing sea life. The fish were so colorful and so many in variety! Lobsters, eels, and even the dangerous lion fish, which Sugar made sure we avoided.

Oh! Very important to remember! The very first thing you should do when you get here is go to the guest relations desk and book the Catamaran Sunset Cruise, It books up fast, for good reason! It was so fun we did it TWICE! I highly recommend this also included excursion.

I will close by saying that the staff was an absolute delight! They just did such a stellar job we have zero complaints about anyone on property. Great all around!

Room Tip: We were in building 6 directly next to Cassava Terrace and while the music from the nightly show was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsG1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend it with us.

Our Couples team is very customer service oriented as you were able to experience firsthand from your interaction with the relevant staff. Please accept our apologies for the delay you experienced in the repair of your Air Conditioning unit whilst with us. Couples Resorts looks forward to hosting you again next year for the second anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We just got back from Couples Negril. This was our 3rd trip there and we had a great time as always! Great weather, food, beach, entertainment, drinks,
Mark T at tripguy.com arranged everything! He makes it so easy and is so proactive of letting us know details along the way!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichols12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Nichols, thank you for the feedback and see you soon for the fourth visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 81 in Negril
5,207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#18 of 81 in Negril
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.1 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#23 of 81 in Negril
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Destinology, Ebookers, Travelbag, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing