We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I left my heart in Negril”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at couples in December 2012 and cannot wait for our next trip there!

The down and dirty: They do not allow tipping but if there is an employee you really like you can give them presents. The beach is fantastic, calm waves and clear, warm water. The pool could use a little more shading around it for seating but you can always get a seat. We did the snorkel trip out to the cavern and had a blast. The rum punch is to die for. We also paid the extra fee and took the night snorkel trip. I saw a lot of sea creatures but couldn't get over the soapy taste in my snorkel. Bring your own. Food is excellent, no complaints. Alcohol...well lets just say stop after 1 Bob Marley. Don't attempt 2 or you may not remember your vacation. We met some awesome people and went dancing in the disco and had a blast. We stopped at that the grill for a snack after and had a great night. Don't be afraid to make friends there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,445 - 1,451 of 4,397 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for a week April 12-19/2014 and enjoyed the resort, the staff, activities, drinks and the food. The tennis program was excellent and was well attended every day. The scuba diving is very good. The reef is in reasonable shape and the manta ray and shark sightings were a treat. The scuba staff are very professional and fun to dive with. The trip was worth every dollar.

I do have one suggestion for management. I can understand why there is a no tipping policy but Couples should have a program like the resorts in Fiji. There is a "Christmas Fund" that is voluntary for guests to contrbute. The money in distributed once per year with every employee getting the same amount for each month worked during the year. Everyone wins! Guests are happy, all employees are rewarded for there outstanding service and it does not cost Couples anything

Room Tip: Stayed in Bldg 5. Close to tennis, diving and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank humptus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was our 4th trip to Couples Negril and it is still a wonderful place to visit. You just can't beat it for a number of reasons: gorgeous beach, spectacular pool right on the beach, amazing food, and the staff are all so friendly and really take good care of you. On the morning we checked out our housekeeper came to see us to make sure she had taken good care of us and even gave me a hug. How often does that happen? But that's just the kind of place it is. It is a small, casual resort and only one of the restaurants require that you dress up a little. As repeaters, we are invited to a special dinner and one member of the staff sits at each table. We also are given a gift certificate to use as we please in the gift shop, spa, etc. Very nice touches! ALL beach activities are included (snorkeling, glass bottom boat, scuba diving, catamaran ride up the coast, etc.) which is so nice. If you are looking for a wild crazy noisy place, this is not the place for you. If you're looking for a beautiful, quiet resort with great food, super beach and pool, and outstanding staff - you'll love it, too!

Room Tip: We upgraded this trip to Ocean View and loved it. We were in building 9 which we like a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

There are many positive reviews for this resort but there is one reason in particular we felt the need to write our own review and that is for the staff. The staff are among some of the most amazing, friendly and accommodating people we have met in our travels and they all deserve to be recognized.

My husband and I have traveled many places together, however, this was our first Caribbean and first all-inclusive resort type trip. We usually like to travel around our destination and explore the scenic and historical aspects of our trip so this was something out of our comfort zone.

As soon as we arrived at the airport we knew this was going to be a great time. Couples has their own spot in the airport (as many of the resorts did), but we were welcomed with the friendliest of smiles and told to come in for a quick check-in, leave our bags, drink some red stripe and relax after our plane ride. Our transport to the resort was a little long but beautiful scenery to take in. Once arriving to the resort we were greeted with a glass of champagne and the warmest welcome. We were then taken to our room which was clean and comfortable. This is where I will break down our trip into categories.

Accommodations:
The rooms are clean and comfortable in size and layout. The housekeeping staff is just incredible and change the towels twice a day because nothing ever dries in the humidity. There are plenty of hooks to hang wet things and this was very much needed throughout our stay. We had a balcony overlooking the ocean which was lovely in the morning. My only small complaint was the beds seemed very hard to me and the first morning I felt pretty sore, but I seemed to adjust quickly and it was the least of my worries after a long wonderful day in the warm sun.

Resort Grounds:
The grounds are impeccable, every morning when we would come down for coffee and the grounds were being attended to. There was never any trash. All empty glasses or dishes were quickly swept away by the staff and the pools were sparkly clean. This takes a lot of hard work and it really did show. The main pool is a perfect size, we loved the swim up bar when we were in the pool and not the ocean and our favorite was playing pool volleyball.

Beach:
Other then the staff, this was my favorite part of the resort. We took a few excursions off the resort (which were amazing by the way) and had some comparison of other beaches in the area and it seemed hard to beat this one. The water was so warm, calm and clear with white sands as far as you could walk out. Beach was important to me because I love to swim in the ocean water and this is exactly what I did. Other then one curious stingray and a few small starfish the marine life stayed further out in the reefs so we did not have any problems with jelly fish stings or sharp rocks/sea urchins etc. There is a lot of shade on this beach which was important being so fair skinned and although it was probably due to the time of year (we went 2nd week of April) we never once had to fight for a spot on the beach or by the pool. The beach lounge chairs have cushions that double as floats to take in the water. The beach is freshly raked every morning and there are always fresh towels to exchange for wet ones during the majority of the day. Red flag service was wonderful for drink refills, however there is never a bar too far away if you want to stretch your legs and get one yourself. There are a few vendors that walk along the beach, they are never pushy and often fun to talk to.

Food/Drinks:
The drinks are great, always available when you want. Order off their drink menu which is huge, or order any of your favorite drinks from home. Our bartenders always had a smile on their face and loved to chat if you like to strike up a conversation. The food was overall very good. The buffets always had TONS of choices, you would have to be an impossibly picky eater to not find at least one thing you would like. We made reservations at the fancier restaurant a couple times because the food here was excellent and we did not have a problem making the reservations but this again may be due to the time of year we went. As always, excellent staff.

Weather/water sports:
As stated earlier we went second week of April because I researched online and saw that early in this month is not typically rainy. Many couples we met who have been coming to the island in early April for several years say it hardly rains and then only lightly for a short time. We did seem to have more rain then usual and it did prevent water activities one day of the week but the next day the green flag was back up. The weather where we are from in New England has been very unseasonably cold and snowy so I can imagine this has something to do with Jamaica having unseasonably early rain. I would say the weather this trip is the exception not the rule and this was confirmed by some of the staff. The water sports were so fun, we tried to take advantage of everything and even got a sailing lesson for no extra charge. We loved the snorkeling and glass bottom kayak. We did do the sunset cruise one evening and although it was a very fun trip and the caves they take us to are very pretty, my only other complaint for the whole trip was here. We are non-smokers and the smell of smoke is very bothersome to me. They allow smoking on the beach which was not my favorite thing but we usually could find a place away from any smoke. However, smoking was also allowed on the catamaran and a large group of smokers sat at the front of the boat so all of us in the back had a constant smell of cigarettes coming our way. I had a pretty severe headache the rest of the trip and into most of the evening after we got back. This really ruined our time on the boat so I would encourage management to please please please consider banning smoking on a boat with such close quarters.


Staff:
Our favorite part of the trip. They are all locals and are the friendliest and most easy going culture we have met in a long time. We were never met without a smile, they are always there to joke and laugh with you and always accommodating. Tipping is not allowed on the resort but there were a few instances where we were able to be discrete and not jeopardize their job because we really felt it was deserved and US dollars go a long way in Jamaica.

In summary, we loved Jamaica and we loved Couples Negril. We will have a difficult decision when we plan our next trip to Jamaica to come back to Couples Negril or try another Couples resort in order to explore different parts of the island. I would recommend this resort to any of my friends and family and we hope to be back very soon someday!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank eprimian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband I recently returned from our first stay at Couples Negril. We had a great time. The resort is relatively small, and has a very laid back, intimate vibe. The service was excellent, efficient, and friendly. You could do lots, or just lie on the beach. The beach was nice, with lots of shade options. The grounds were well-kept. Had a couples massage in the " treehouse" -- super massage with the sound of the waves on the beach and birds in the trees, way better than the usual new wave CD! There are four restaurants with good food, including V
Caribbean options and influences. We will definitely be back. We have only stayed at one other all-inclusive, on the Mayan Riviera, which was bigger and higher end, but it also costs more. As otHer reviewers note, it is not as glossy as other places, but it is very comfortable and pretty. We also felt safe at all times.

Room Tip: I paid extra for ocean view, but it wouldn't bother again as you only saw a corner of it, and on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OttawaSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My third experience of Couples resorts - and my favourite so far. The beach is perfect, with a headland at each end to give a cosy feel. The water deepens slowly, but fast enough. There is a swim-up bar at one side of a really good pool. The staff and the food are excellent. The rooms are very comfortable and well-appointed. The all-inclusive arrangement makes the whole experience a seamless delight, from airport transfer to water sports and great wines, spirits - and, of course, Red Stripe beer! I recommend it heartily for a very enjoyable vacation.

Room Tip: Try not to be next to the main buffet restaurant - unless you enjoy loud music until late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Grodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was our second visit to Couples Negril and it was just as great as our first visit! The people at Couples are the friendliest you will ever meet. The service is top-notch and the atmosphere is as relaxing or as interactive as you want it to be. There are daily activities but no hard sell to participate if you chose to just lie on the beach. The food was amazing in every restaurant and if your not sure what you'd like to drink the bartenders will gladly make something special for you. Keep an eye out for Floy, Mescha, and Amay - they will take excellent care of you! Can't wait for our next visit home!

Room Tip: Building 6 and building 9 are closest to the beach, although building 9 has a view of the au natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 80 in Negril
5,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#15 of 80 in Negril
2,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,677 reviews
83.4 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £304 - £976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing