We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful as always”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our sixth trip to Couples Negril and our eleventh week at a Couples resort and this may have been our best trip and a sad ending as the price jump for next year is just too much.

The resort is everything right for us. It is compact enough that nothing is too long a walk to do, yet it never seems crowded even at capacity.

The rooms have all you could need, but are nothing special. We don't spend much time in our room so special furniture and huge spaces aren't really necessary.

The staff are incredible! With only one exception, every staff member not only acknowledged us at every turn, but they made us feel they genuinely cared how our stay was going. Whoever hires and trains the staff here does an excellent job.

The grounds are well cared for and beautiful with everything being clean, maintained and well cared for.

The beach. There just aren't words for how wonderful the beach is. It's more sheltered than the seven mile beach which means it's calmer waters and the water warms up nicely during the day. (Not that the water in Negril is ever cold.)

The food. Easiest to explain by saying we both came home over 5 pounds heavier. The soups are a must do! Do not miss Otahite (sp.)

Nightly entertainment was generally quite good with the steel drum band being a must see.

We did a private cruise on the Couples dive boat and half way through my wife said we were like kings. When I pointed out she would have to be queen she said "No. I'm a king too!" If you can manage this tour do it and you will understand her insistance about being king. LOL

Atmosphere is really a "Couples" feel as there were few large groups and romance was in the air.

If money is no object this is a wonderful place. If you can compromise just a bit the new prices may take you elsewhere as the "value" has diminished quite a bit.

Room Tip: The basic room is all you will need. There are no bad rooms and the only appreciable upgrades are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HalifaxQuestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,433 - 1,439 of 4,398 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

After reading way too many reviews Couples was everything we had hoped for and more! Can't wait to return someday!!! Such a relaxing and laid back environment, with fun included!
The food was better than average and some of it was very good, and we didn't have anything that was not good, and nowhere near bad. The only reason for an average "food" rating was that we had hoped for more seafood selections. Yes it was off-season for lobster so we were not expecting lobster every night or anything like that. It would certainly not keep us from going back as soon as possible! Everyone should experience a place like this someday! Service, location, and atmosphere was off the charts for us! GO find out for yourself and don't listen to those who find something wrong (they would find it anywhere).

Room Tip: We just loved our week in the Deluxe Ocean on the 2nd floor of Building 6, would not change anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PAPontooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have been to Jamaica 6 times over the past 15 years and this one is a keeper, it is a smaller resort, around a few hundred people, we never waited to eat or get drinks and the staff was always friendly, happy and would asked if you needed anything. The beach was in a bay so you are out of the big wind and if you want to go to 7 mile beach the resort bus will take you to swept away.
I have been to a few resorts over the years and we will come back to this one, it is a little outdated and they are going for a rustic look but I would forgo all the marble floors and big bathtubs for the service and the quality of food we get here.
We did the sunset rum cruse to the caves and the private boat ride to Rick’s and enjoyed both, out of the whole stay I think we ran into on sever without a smile but the rest of the staff was very friendly , This is a resort you should try.

FOOD
Cassava Terrace, as far as buffet eating goes I could not tell the difference between a sit down and order meal over what was offered here, the breakfast pastries are to die for and the dinner deserts were rich rich rich.

Beach Grill, is what the name implies, the jerk chicken is very good but the nachos and the burgers are par to sub-par, this is where you eat when you have been in the pool bar or drinking on the beach too long and need to put anything in your stomach.

Heliconia, Great rack of lamb, outside seating and a torch lit meal overlooking the beach.

Lychee,
Another good dinner but you are not going to be eating Grade a +++ sushi it was good but not the best you will have had

Otaheite, Outstanding meal and service, you need to play dress up but it is well worth it, we went back twice

The Beach dinner
The food was great, they cooked the sea food up right in front of you and there were tons of choices.


Bars
Pool Bar
Always fun, no bees attacking you like at most outdoor bars, never had to wait more than 3 min for someone to ask me what I needed.

Piano Bar
We would go up for a drink after dinner around 8:00, most times there were less than 6 people hanging out, we left when the sing along or karaoke started, this place is mostly dead I don’t know what happens after 11:00 but before it the place is dead.

Nude Beach Bar
It is the coolest one of all, it is right on the beach, with a thatched roof, bummer you have to be nude to use it, we would have been at it every day and most nights, but letting it all hang out to use the cool bar is not our speed, as far as the nude beach goes…what a waste of a good beach for the 95% of the people that come to Couples, we can’t use it.

The Grounds
It’s a small resort it take less than 5 min to walk from one end to the next, none of the rooms are facing the beach and most have a jungle type ground cover you will be looking out at, it is kept up but I would have like to have seen more flowers and you need to remember that you are in Jamaica, it smelled like weed everywhere, mostly coming from the nude beach but it was in the air most of the day and night.

The Beach
Nice chairs and all have float pads, we never had a problem getting them on the beach but if you want pool side you need a towel on it before 9:00, the venders walk up and down the beach from sun up to sun down, they will not come up to you if you are in a chair but will badger you to come to them, The parasailing guys are the worst…nonstop every 15 min and with any of the venders if you do not want what they are selling your next option will be weed, coke or mushrooms in that order, as far as venders this beach is not as bad as 7 mile but it is what it is, the only time I have never ran into this is at Whitehouse but that is a private beach.

The Rooms
Outdated but clean, the maids cleaned the rooms 3 times a day it seemed, you will need to bring conditioner and a hair dryer, the wind blows harder and hotter. They half way try at the mini bar, you only get 2 beers a day and the house wine and whisky are horrible, I am a bourbon drinker, I requested a bottle Jim Beam at found the most rank tasting scotch in its place (Highland Mist) they will not stock you up with the good stuff or Rum Cream, if you want that you need to drink it at one of the bars.

Night Life
Not much going on, the after dinner shows are “B” rated at best, if this is your fist time to Jamaica you will probably like them but I have been here 6 times, all the shows in all the resorts are the same.
The beach bonfire is a guy playing a guitar and singing to be honest it was not worth the sand flea bites we got. Most nights we just went to bed at 10:00

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Fantastic service and the best all inclusive we have experienced. We have stayed here twice and cannot recommend highly enough. Couples Negril is simply all about making you feel special and valued. Talking with the staff gave us an insight as to the business model and why this hotel works so well. There is a no tip policy as the business makes sure their staff are valued and rewarded with potential to progress.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I have travelled to numerous all-inclusive hotels over the years. This perhaps is the best overall all-inclusive we have been too. We stayted at two hotels over 12 days. Our trip started on 7-Mile beach at a small boutique hotel owned by Couples, Idle Awhile. When we booked we were not sure whether we should put the all-inclusive before or after the non all-inclusive. After our trip we were glad we had booked Couples Negril at the end.

The food at the resort was far superior to any food we had in any Negril rstaurants. Couples food was outstanding. To be able to present food of this high quality to such a large crowd of patrons is impressive. Food is always a subjective topic, however if you appreciate fine dining you will probably enjoy the food at Couples. The house wine was Italian and very palatable.

As others have stated the staff here were exceptional. One thing we noticed was the size of the staff. We never had to wait long for anything. The staff was playfull and not rigid. This jovial kibitzing carried over to the guests if you played along. It was a great atmosphere.

Couples resorts should be commended for maintaing the Au-Natural beach areas at their resorts. The designated area was impressive. Grand Lido is located next door and the Couples Clothed beach is on the other side of the nude beach, however they are located far enough to each side of the nude beach that you never felt uncomfortable. We have been to many nude and clothing optional resorts and this to me would be a great first time nude beach for anyone thinking of trying it. One minor gripe is the lack of lunch offering on the nude beach. A simple selection of grilled food would go a long way.

The beach chairs and cushion mats are worth the price alone. Add to that you do not have to wake up early and play the towel game, made Couples better than the rest. Why other resorts do not pick up on this is a mystery. We vacationed the last two years at Grand Lido next door and they have a very good clothing optional beach, however I see they now have opted for the nylon mesh, hard to sit on all day, chez lounges. Couples will now get my money!!

The resort is romantic and at night lit with candles and torches. We had a great stay.

A wish list for us that would send Couples over the top would be room service and it appeared people wanted to dance in the main dinning area. The bands were excellent however ended a bit early. It would be nice if you could dance after dinner till 11:00pm. The music seemed to end each night at 10:00pm and the resort would filter you to their piano lounge.

We had a beach front deluxe room and found it to be more than outstanding. The stocked bar and ice each day was nice after a long day at the beach. We sat on the balconey each night with wine or bubbley and watched the sunsets.

HIghly recommend Couples Negril for a romantic adult vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Marmy5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We looked at all the all inclusive resorts in Jamaica to spend our honeymoon in. I had stayed at Couples Ocho rios over then years ago and loved the service. My new wife agreed to try couples resorts but only it had to be a different resort so we agreed apon Negril. It was a great choice the resort itself is small but beautifull and romantic. the food was top of the line and the service couldn't be better. my only conplaint was that the night life was gone by 11pm. Couples Negril will not let you down. if you are looking to party all night this isn't the place for you. But if you prefer quiet romantic evenings great food and a fantastic beach with calm waters go here!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here for a week in October 2007...Delicious food, fun games, entertainment...even though we were in a tropical depression....and it rained 17" during our stay. The hotel staff did their best to keep us occupied! The breakfast buffets were wonderful with their homemade pancake syrups...a different one every day...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TStup61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 80 in Negril
5,351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#15 of 80 in Negril
2,472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,685 reviews
83.4 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £302 - £969 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing