We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We just returned from a 10 day vacation from this awesome resort to celebrate our ten year anniversary. We had scoured TripAdvisor prior to booking and settled with this resort...we made the right decision. My husband and I were desiring a kick back atmosphere, all inclusive, plenty of activity and a friendly/community feeling, and we were not disappointed. This review will be long and descriptive but hopefully those reading will realize the awesomeness of this place!
Upon arrival to the airport we did not do the Club Mobay that people had suggested doing on the message boards...we arrived on a friday and it did take about an hour through customs, but WHO CARES! You are in Jamaica, mon! We were greeted by several nice gentlemen at the couples lounge, immediately given a cold beer, and only had to wait about 10 minutes until we got to the bus. Note: the bus drivers are great but highly suggest tips...just be prepared. We had a great bus driver who answered lots of questions and stopped at a local tavern for 10 minutes for bathroom breaks and beverage/snack pickup. The bus is where we met great friends that we hung out with throughout the week. The party starts already!
Arriving at the resort you can finally settle in, drink some champagne, wipe down with a cold towel and realize, this is HEAVEN! We waited just a few minutes to receive our room keys and had all our luggage brought to our room. Rooms are great. We were in building 6 in a deluxe beachfront room. Had a great view of the beach, but a little too much view of naked people on the nude beach. It's a little way away so you can't see much, but just thought i'd mention it. The rooms are cool, well tended to, and they surprised us with cake and champagne for our annivesary. My hubs had also surprised me with flowers and a spa package and this was already in our room as well. Every day is a new towel arrangement on the bed, several days with flower petals. VERY romantic. We spent several days hanging out on our veranda, which is really nice when it rains.
Moving to the food...this is one thing I may have a few issues. Don't get me wrong, it's good. However, the choices are very limited. There are two sit down restaurants that don't require reservations that provide dinner...helleconia (italian-ish) and Lychee (asian bistro). We enjoyed food both places but the two nights we went to Lychee the service was HORRIBLE. Super slow and unfriendly. We wouldn't have returned except for the fact that we love sushi and fried icecream! There is also a buffet restaurant (cassava terrace) that serves for breakfast/lunch/dinner and occasionally becomes a la carte for dinner. It's the same breakfast each morning (for the most part) but they have a lot of choices so it's not too bad. Some lunches looked really unappealing so we usually went to the Helliconia grill for lunch. The grill was tasty (jerk chicken, cheese burgers, onion rings, daily sandwich specials,) but plan to spend at least 30 minutes waiting for your food. You could fill up on the nachos/patties/salad-ish bar they have that is self serve but then you aren't saving room for the good stuff. The self serve bar definitely was nice for those late night munchies. I brought some nachos to the beach one day and apparently that was frowned upon, but I didn't care. It's my vacation. Otaheite was very nice (requires reservations) and so was the same menu for the dinner on the beach. We did both and were very satisfied. Note: nice sundress for the ladies and slacks, collard shirt and close toed shoes are fine for the "fancy" nights. Shorts, sandals, sundresses are fine for all the other restaurants. This place is CASUAL.
The bartenders at the resort make it AMAZING. They remember you by name and are so attentive. They really have fun with you too! Shout out to my girls Camille and Floy...definitely the best there. They have a fantastic drink menu and you never get bored!
We really are active people and enjoyed so many free activities. We were able to waterski, snorkel (on an excursion), paddle board, and go sailing...all by just going over and grabbing a life vest. No waiting, no worries! We also really enjoyed that the activities people were very active in getting people to come to the activities. We played volleyball twice daily and we always had enough players because an activity employee was always getting it going. Shout out to Nina, Okeno, Kiev, Ballard and Shawna! They rocked and we will keep in touch for a long time!
By the end of ten days we were ready to get home (partly due to over consumption of food and alcohol and partly due to missing our kiddos!) but 7 days would have been too short. We made such great friends because the resort is small and you meet plenty of people on the beach/bars/nighttime activities.
We would love to return if we get another chance for an adults getaway. Clearly many people feel the same way about the resort because several had been there multiple times already.
Thanks Couples Negril! We loved it!

Room Tip: Buildings 6 and 9 give you a view of the nude beach...but how often are ya in the room anyways?? Bu...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jlenhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,342)
There are newer reviews for Couples Negril
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,376 - 1,382 of 4,342 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our first trip to Jamaica and had an amazing time. The service was great, greeted with champagne and cold towels. The rooms were beautiful and kept very clean. Only complaint about the room was the bed was a little firm but better then not supportive enough. The beach was beautiful and maintained very well. The beach was raked daily and the chairs had rafts on them. Activities were great, we did snorkeling and paddle boarding. We liked the food, lots of options and felt there was always a choice we liked. You can have anything from jambalaya to grilled chicken salad. The entertainment was fun and always had a genuine Jamaican feel. Not to mention there was always off property activities if interested. We visited Ricks Cafe and highly recommend going there. We hope to go back to Couples Negril!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanessaJ1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have been to this hotel 4 times , and it's so beautiful , it's like stepping into a Differant world, the staff are allways friendly and eager to help you , nothing is to much trouble we made friends with quite a few of the staff Tavon, Franklin with his permanent smile, Camillie, and many more, . The food is amazing , the Seafood is suburb , . Our room was ocean view the scenery was beautiful , and the room was very clean, the lady that cleaned the room cannot remember her name was Lovely, would recommend this hotel . The beach was amazing, we allways go in September so it's really quite, and so peaceful . Everyone should experience this , .
Thankyou so much Shelly , Alan

Room Tip: Just go and see for your self you will fall in love with the beautiful place.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

There is absolutely nothing bad to say about this resort the food is great the rooms are great the ambiance and atmosphere is great the beach is one of the best beaches I have ever seen. Stayed in building number 6 with a perfect view of the ocean it was close to the pool and the buffet area the music was off by 10 p.m. So it never kept us up. A big thank you too sugar for helping me and my wife scuba dive for the first time it was a wonderful experience I will definitely be back to this resort I can see why people keep coming back can't wait to go back "home"

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank derekandvanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our sixth trip to Couples Negril and our eleventh week at a Couples resort and this may have been our best trip and a sad ending as the price jump for next year is just too much.

The resort is everything right for us. It is compact enough that nothing is too long a walk to do, yet it never seems crowded even at capacity.

The rooms have all you could need, but are nothing special. We don't spend much time in our room so special furniture and huge spaces aren't really necessary.

The staff are incredible! With only one exception, every staff member not only acknowledged us at every turn, but they made us feel they genuinely cared how our stay was going. Whoever hires and trains the staff here does an excellent job.

The grounds are well cared for and beautiful with everything being clean, maintained and well cared for.

The beach. There just aren't words for how wonderful the beach is. It's more sheltered than the seven mile beach which means it's calmer waters and the water warms up nicely during the day. (Not that the water in Negril is ever cold.)

The food. Easiest to explain by saying we both came home over 5 pounds heavier. The soups are a must do! Do not miss Otahite (sp.)

Nightly entertainment was generally quite good with the steel drum band being a must see.

We did a private cruise on the Couples dive boat and half way through my wife said we were like kings. When I pointed out she would have to be queen she said "No. I'm a king too!" If you can manage this tour do it and you will understand her insistance about being king. LOL

Atmosphere is really a "Couples" feel as there were few large groups and romance was in the air.

If money is no object this is a wonderful place. If you can compromise just a bit the new prices may take you elsewhere as the "value" has diminished quite a bit.

Room Tip: The basic room is all you will need. There are no bad rooms and the only appreciable upgrades are th...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HalifaxQuestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After reading way too many reviews Couples was everything we had hoped for and more! Can't wait to return someday!!! Such a relaxing and laid back environment, with fun included!
The food was better than average and some of it was very good, and we didn't have anything that was not good, and nowhere near bad. The only reason for an average "food" rating was that we had hoped for more seafood selections. Yes it was off-season for lobster so we were not expecting lobster every night or anything like that. It would certainly not keep us from going back as soon as possible! Everyone should experience a place like this someday! Service, location, and atmosphere was off the charts for us! GO find out for yourself and don't listen to those who find something wrong (they would find it anywhere).

Room Tip: We just loved our week in the Deluxe Ocean on the 2nd floor of Building 6, would not change anything...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PAPontooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have been to Jamaica 6 times over the past 15 years and this one is a keeper, it is a smaller resort, around a few hundred people, we never waited to eat or get drinks and the staff was always friendly, happy and would asked if you needed anything. The beach was in a bay so you are out of the big wind and if you want to go to 7 mile beach the resort bus will take you to swept away.
I have been to a few resorts over the years and we will come back to this one, it is a little outdated and they are going for a rustic look but I would forgo all the marble floors and big bathtubs for the service and the quality of food we get here.
We did the sunset rum cruse to the caves and the private boat ride to Rick’s and enjoyed both, out of the whole stay I think we ran into on sever without a smile but the rest of the staff was very friendly , This is a resort you should try.

FOOD
Cassava Terrace, as far as buffet eating goes I could not tell the difference between a sit down and order meal over what was offered here, the breakfast pastries are to die for and the dinner deserts were rich rich rich.

Beach Grill, is what the name implies, the jerk chicken is very good but the nachos and the burgers are par to sub-par, this is where you eat when you have been in the pool bar or drinking on the beach too long and need to put anything in your stomach.

Heliconia, Great rack of lamb, outside seating and a torch lit meal overlooking the beach.

Lychee,
Another good dinner but you are not going to be eating Grade a +++ sushi it was good but not the best you will have had

Otaheite, Outstanding meal and service, you need to play dress up but it is well worth it, we went back twice

The Beach dinner
The food was great, they cooked the sea food up right in front of you and there were tons of choices.


Bars
Pool Bar
Always fun, no bees attacking you like at most outdoor bars, never had to wait more than 3 min for someone to ask me what I needed.

Piano Bar
We would go up for a drink after dinner around 8:00, most times there were less than 6 people hanging out, we left when the sing along or karaoke started, this place is mostly dead I don’t know what happens after 11:00 but before it the place is dead.

Nude Beach Bar
It is the coolest one of all, it is right on the beach, with a thatched roof, bummer you have to be nude to use it, we would have been at it every day and most nights, but letting it all hang out to use the cool bar is not our speed, as far as the nude beach goes…what a waste of a good beach for the 95% of the people that come to Couples, we can’t use it.

The Grounds
It’s a small resort it take less than 5 min to walk from one end to the next, none of the rooms are facing the beach and most have a jungle type ground cover you will be looking out at, it is kept up but I would have like to have seen more flowers and you need to remember that you are in Jamaica, it smelled like weed everywhere, mostly coming from the nude beach but it was in the air most of the day and night.

The Beach
Nice chairs and all have float pads, we never had a problem getting them on the beach but if you want pool side you need a towel on it before 9:00, the venders walk up and down the beach from sun up to sun down, they will not come up to you if you are in a chair but will badger you to come to them, The parasailing guys are the worst…nonstop every 15 min and with any of the venders if you do not want what they are selling your next option will be weed, coke or mushrooms in that order, as far as venders this beach is not as bad as 7 mile but it is what it is, the only time I have never ran into this is at Whitehouse but that is a private beach.

The Rooms
Outdated but clean, the maids cleaned the rooms 3 times a day it seemed, you will need to bring conditioner and a hair dryer, the wind blows harder and hotter. They half way try at the mini bar, you only get 2 beers a day and the house wine and whisky are horrible, I am a bourbon drinker, I requested a bottle Jim Beam at found the most rank tasting scotch in its place (Highland Mist) they will not stock you up with the good stuff or Rum Cream, if you want that you need to drink it at one of the bars.

Night Life
Not much going on, the after dinner shows are “B” rated at best, if this is your fist time to Jamaica you will probably like them but I have been here 6 times, all the shows in all the resorts are the same.
The beach bonfire is a guy playing a guitar and singing to be honest it was not worth the sand flea bites we got. Most nights we just went to bed at 10:00

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.2 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 80 in Negril
5,267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#15 of 80 in Negril
2,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.3 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#23 of 80 in Negril
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hideaway at Royalton Negril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £290 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing