We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I really don't know what else to say that hasn't been said. Couples Negril really was wonderful! The food was amazing. Very healthy and delicious options. Beach was beautiful. Friendly staff. Not too crowded. Laid back yet beautiful simple decor. Daily volleyball on the beach, snorkeling, water sports. We did it all and had a blast. This was our first trip away from our kids and it was the most relaxed we have been in years!!! There really is nothing to worry about there!! Thursday night beach party was awesome as well as the Silver Birds steal drum band on Friday night. The majority of people we talked to had all been to this Couples resort before and keep going back. We will be too for sure!!
The ladies making the omelets in the morning were so friendly and sweet.
Make sure to go to the reservation only restaurant a couple times. Delicious!
The only thing that could have been improved on was the bathrooms in the rooms. We had an older one that hadn't been renovated yet but it was still very clean. Just aged. That by no means made our stay less enjoyable.
We can't wait to return!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahwendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,891
    999
    252
    131
    43
See reviews for
49
3,329
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,043)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Absolutely enjoyed every moment. You are greeted at the airport and taken to the Couples Lounge and handed an ICE cold beer. Then u are taken by jitney bus to Couples. Driver is funny and points out places to view. You can take your beer on the bus. Then you get to Couples and immediately met with a cold towel and glass of wine. EVERYONE involved with Couples Negril is absolutely pleasant and accomodating. The room was ok. At initial look, I wanted more in a room but that feeling quickly went away after I began to enjoy myself. The rooms are clean and air condition works great. When we were there (Aug 2013), they were in process of rennovating rooms so I cannot wait to return. The restaurants were AMAZING. Every one of them served delicious unique food. And again, the employees were amazing. One night we got up at about 4am and went down for food, we didnt see anyone at the 24hr grill so the lady at the front desk told us to make ourselves at home and go back in the kitchen and pick something out to eat. You truly are treated like family. Upon going into the kitchen the cook showed up and immediately took care of us. The piano bar was entertaining and the on the beach bon fire and serenedes were beautiful. My husband did the typical scuba diving and such. We rented a jet ski from a man named X at the edge of the beach (he was great). It was GREAT. There are even people at edge of beach selling smoke if that is your thing. You dont have to try to "search" out anyone and feel nervous. I totally felt safe everywhere on this resort. There is a nude section with its own bar on the beach. FABULOUS! Me and my husband danced naked in the rain with a drink in our hands. It was amazing. Cant say enough good things about it. The hotel checked you in and out if you left the property for safety measures and they had excellent recommendations for safe cab drivers. Loved it. Loved it. Loved it. Trying to return very soon. One other thing, you can request bottles of liquor/beer to be brought to your room for private enjoyment. You order it up and within 15minutues someone is knocking at your door with FULL size bottles of liquor to stock your room. Again - amazing. Couples definitely is doing it right! Please check them out. Can only speak for Couples Negril.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just spent a week at Couples Negril and the following week at Couples Swept Away. Both offer excellent service, incredible meals, and many, many complimentary activities. However, I have to say that if I can spend only one week in Jamaica, it would be at CN. Because it is a smaller, boutique-style resort, the staff learns your preferences quickly and refer to you by name by the 2nd day. The GM, Wayne Williams, is very hands-on and visible and goes out of his way to greet every guest and fulfill all their wishes, whenever possible. We love the "red flag" service at the pool and beach and the convenience of all the restaurants and activities. This was our 2nd trip to CN in a year. That being said, I am extremely disappointed that Couples has increased their prices considerably and now the room we had this year is $900/wk more for the same time next year. So now we are booked at Sandals Whitehouse for next April as they are cheaper and that is one of the reasons we fell in love with Couples resorts. They offered the same quality of food, drinks, service and amenities as Sandals without the hefty price tag. I hope Couples heeds this review and revamps their reservation costs soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mccartym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We just returned from a 10 day vacation from this awesome resort to celebrate our ten year anniversary. We had scoured TripAdvisor prior to booking and settled with this resort...we made the right decision. My husband and I were desiring a kick back atmosphere, all inclusive, plenty of activity and a friendly/community feeling, and we were not disappointed. This review will be long and descriptive but hopefully those reading will realize the awesomeness of this place!
Upon arrival to the airport we did not do the Club Mobay that people had suggested doing on the message boards...we arrived on a friday and it did take about an hour through customs, but WHO CARES! You are in Jamaica, mon! We were greeted by several nice gentlemen at the couples lounge, immediately given a cold beer, and only had to wait about 10 minutes until we got to the bus. Note: the bus drivers are great but highly suggest tips...just be prepared. We had a great bus driver who answered lots of questions and stopped at a local tavern for 10 minutes for bathroom breaks and beverage/snack pickup. The bus is where we met great friends that we hung out with throughout the week. The party starts already!
Arriving at the resort you can finally settle in, drink some champagne, wipe down with a cold towel and realize, this is HEAVEN! We waited just a few minutes to receive our room keys and had all our luggage brought to our room. Rooms are great. We were in building 6 in a deluxe beachfront room. Had a great view of the beach, but a little too much view of naked people on the nude beach. It's a little way away so you can't see much, but just thought i'd mention it. The rooms are cool, well tended to, and they surprised us with cake and champagne for our annivesary. My hubs had also surprised me with flowers and a spa package and this was already in our room as well. Every day is a new towel arrangement on the bed, several days with flower petals. VERY romantic. We spent several days hanging out on our veranda, which is really nice when it rains.
Moving to the food...this is one thing I may have a few issues. Don't get me wrong, it's good. However, the choices are very limited. There are two sit down restaurants that don't require reservations that provide dinner...helleconia (italian-ish) and Lychee (asian bistro). We enjoyed food both places but the two nights we went to Lychee the service was HORRIBLE. Super slow and unfriendly. We wouldn't have returned except for the fact that we love sushi and fried icecream! There is also a buffet restaurant (cassava terrace) that serves for breakfast/lunch/dinner and occasionally becomes a la carte for dinner. It's the same breakfast each morning (for the most part) but they have a lot of choices so it's not too bad. Some lunches looked really unappealing so we usually went to the Helliconia grill for lunch. The grill was tasty (jerk chicken, cheese burgers, onion rings, daily sandwich specials,) but plan to spend at least 30 minutes waiting for your food. You could fill up on the nachos/patties/salad-ish bar they have that is self serve but then you aren't saving room for the good stuff. The self serve bar definitely was nice for those late night munchies. I brought some nachos to the beach one day and apparently that was frowned upon, but I didn't care. It's my vacation. Otaheite was very nice (requires reservations) and so was the same menu for the dinner on the beach. We did both and were very satisfied. Note: nice sundress for the ladies and slacks, collard shirt and close toed shoes are fine for the "fancy" nights. Shorts, sandals, sundresses are fine for all the other restaurants. This place is CASUAL.
The bartenders at the resort make it AMAZING. They remember you by name and are so attentive. They really have fun with you too! Shout out to my girls Camille and Floy...definitely the best there. They have a fantastic drink menu and you never get bored!
We really are active people and enjoyed so many free activities. We were able to waterski, snorkel (on an excursion), paddle board, and go sailing...all by just going over and grabbing a life vest. No waiting, no worries! We also really enjoyed that the activities people were very active in getting people to come to the activities. We played volleyball twice daily and we always had enough players because an activity employee was always getting it going. Shout out to Nina, Okeno, Kiev, Ballard and Shawna! They rocked and we will keep in touch for a long time!
By the end of ten days we were ready to get home (partly due to over consumption of food and alcohol and partly due to missing our kiddos!) but 7 days would have been too short. We made such great friends because the resort is small and you meet plenty of people on the beach/bars/nighttime activities.
We would love to return if we get another chance for an adults getaway. Clearly many people feel the same way about the resort because several had been there multiple times already.
Thanks Couples Negril! We loved it!

Room Tip: Buildings 6 and 9 give you a view of the nude beach...but how often are ya in the room anyways?? Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jlenhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our first trip to Jamaica and had an amazing time. The service was great, greeted with champagne and cold towels. The rooms were beautiful and kept very clean. Only complaint about the room was the bed was a little firm but better then not supportive enough. The beach was beautiful and maintained very well. The beach was raked daily and the chairs had rafts on them. Activities were great, we did snorkeling and paddle boarding. We liked the food, lots of options and felt there was always a choice we liked. You can have anything from jambalaya to grilled chicken salad. The entertainment was fun and always had a genuine Jamaican feel. Not to mention there was always off property activities if interested. We visited Ricks Cafe and highly recommend going there. We hope to go back to Couples Negril!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaJ1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have been to this hotel 4 times , and it's so beautiful , it's like stepping into a Differant world, the staff are allways friendly and eager to help you , nothing is to much trouble we made friends with quite a few of the staff Tavon, Franklin with his permanent smile, Camillie, and many more, . The food is amazing , the Seafood is suburb , . Our room was ocean view the scenery was beautiful , and the room was very clean, the lady that cleaned the room cannot remember her name was Lovely, would recommend this hotel . The beach was amazing, we allways go in September so it's really quite, and so peaceful . Everyone should experience this , .
Thankyou so much Shelly , Alan

Room Tip: Just go and see for your self you will fall in love with the beautiful place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timmins
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

There is absolutely nothing bad to say about this resort the food is great the rooms are great the ambiance and atmosphere is great the beach is one of the best beaches I have ever seen. Stayed in building number 6 with a perfect view of the ocean it was close to the pool and the buffet area the music was off by 10 p.m. So it never kept us up. A big thank you too sugar for helping me and my wife scuba dive for the first time it was a wonderful experience I will definitely be back to this resort I can see why people keep coming back can't wait to go back "home"

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank derekandvanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.2 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 81 in Negril
5,245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#17 of 81 in Negril
2,267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.3 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#24 of 81 in Negril
535 reviews
83.3 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing