We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Continues”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Went to Couple's Negril again, Aug. 5-12, 2014. It was our 11th visit and we took another couple with us for their 1st visit. Their comments sum it all up - "This really is paradise!"
As usual, the staff was friendly and helpful. It is nice when so many remember your name upon return. Our friends were amazed at the way the staff treated us and them throughout our week. It was good to see that building nine was being totally redone (which makes 4 out of the nine buildings newly renovated.) Hope to get a glimpse of them in December when we go back. What can we say? The food was great, the weather warm, the people friendly, and the time just plain relaxing. It is what we have come to expect at Couple's and they have always delivered.
Our friends went thinking this would be a once in a life time experience, after having heard us talk about it so much. They are now planning some way to get back soon! Which should tell you all you need to know about Couple's -- it is a gem of a place that once you go, you can't wait to get back to it. As we were leaving, our friend got teary eyed - she did not want to leave paradise. Keep it up Couple's - we'll see you at Christmas.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank msohio2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,315 - 1,321 of 4,388 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

We have stayed at 2 Couples resorts and enjoyed both very much. couples Negril has great activities that are hosted by the entertainment team. Great night life as will. Lots to do at the resort, we only left novice to go to the craft market that was very enjoyable. This resort is located on a long stretch of beach, lots of other hotel nearby. The beach is a public beach so lots of solicitors walk by.

Room Tip: There are lots of frogs in the evening, if you can do the walk request the 3rd floor, you do not not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Where do I begin? This was our 10th stay at Couples Negril and before we arrived I thought that it might be our last awhile, not due to our circumstances changing but due to changes at the resort and with the company. When we were last there our visit was less then stellar, for a Couples property.

This trip however, exceeded my expectations. My kudos to Wayne Williams, general manager, David, the new Ops Manager (I am sorry I do not remember his name) all the way to Oshane with Ground Maintenance, and everyone in between.

The Grounds, Beach and pool
The property looks wonderful; the beach is pristine thanks in large part to Oshane and his co-workers. It is raked every morning and I noticed several times that even later in the day after the beach was raked that if they saw something on the beach as they were going from one end of the resort to the other they stopped and picked it up.

There are a lot of new floats on the chairs on the beach, gone are the torn, grayed or stained floats that we saw a lot of two years ago. Couples have purchased new beach tables as well and they are plentiful. Which was a good thing because I think that they are a little smaller then the tables of the past, but there were so many we were able to use 2 of them.

There are new plantings, flowers, shrubs etc. all over the property, the last couple of days they were working on new outdoor lighting and plantings around the pool. The pool looks great, although I have to admit that we did not spend a lot of time here. Maybe a hour or two at the swim up bar in the afternoons but that was about it. It was great to see Elkie and Camille, I still remember when Camille was a trainee working the beach.

The Rooms
This is the first time that I have been able to see the renovated bathrooms in person. I really like them. I like the walk in shower and love the rain shower, most important we never were with out hot water. Although they still have shallow sinks, the faucets have been changed so you don’t get the splash over any longer.

The yellow coverlet is gone and currently there is clean, white cotton coverlet and blankets. I was told that there is another step in the renovations, the soft finishing in the rooms are being updated to soft greys, some of the rooms have been done but I could not drag my tail end off the beach long enough to check them out.

The air conditioning units have been replaced and they work like a charm. In fact you can get the room so cold I think that you could hang meat in there.

The Food
Food is a very subjective thing and I have always thought that food at Couples Negril was very good. This year we thought that it was outstanding. The meal that was served at the Repeater’s Dinner was amazing, I thought that chef did an outstanding job.

When you are there be sure that you try the Cream of Corn with chicken at Heliconia as well as the shredded pork Quesadillas, they were both great and hubby’s favorite. Mine was the Garlic Pasta with grilled shrimp, I could have eaten that every night if it was on the menu. And don’t forget the handmade spring and shrimp rolls served at lunch, they were to die for.

And for all of you CSA fans who love the veggie bar you will soon be able to try CN. They are putting in a veggie bar similar to the one at CSA. They are hoping that it will be in place by the end of the year, but knowing Jamaica I would imagine it will be spring of next year.

Overall

We both loved not having to listen to the jet skies and not having to smell the fuel when we were out in the water near the rope. But I guess with the good you get the bad, there seemed to be many more vendors on the beach this year. Selling jewelry, visors, wise old owls, etc. and of course parasailing and “cigars, cigarettes, it is going to be hot, hot, hot”.

We did go parasailing one say and that was a lot of fun as well as paddling boarding and kayaking, other wise we chilled on the beach or in the water.

Will we be back, with out a doubt, I am trying now to figure it out in my budget for next year to make two trips.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
18  Thank blondie9093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi blondie9093,

Thank you so much for deciding to give us another chance at impressing you, which from your review we did. We do take pride in our services and product and continually endeavor to improve them.

Your review has been shared with the Management and Staff of the resort and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was our second trip to Couples Negril. Enough said. The people are very friendly and the service was outstanding. We won't even mention the food. The nights are as beautiful as the day.
First time we stayed 7 days, this time we stayed 8 days. We enjoyed ourselves so much that my husband want to extend next year for two weeks.
If you want to have an extremely enjoyable, relaxing vacation for TWO, this is the place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Phyllis B,

We are delighted that you had an amazing getaway with us. Whilst we do hope that you will stay longer, we just want to welcome you home for whatever length of time.

See you soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the resort and everything that was included in the "all inclusive".

The property is very nice, well landscaped and our ground floor, ocean view room overlooked a beautiful pond, greenery and the ocean in the back. It had nice and quiet balcony. The room was large, the mattress good, the TV large enough and the bathroom enormous.

The resort has 4 restaurants and all drinks are included! We're not big drinkers, but if we had wanted we could have drank as many cocktails, wine as our heart desired! The food is decent but lackluster. Note: we didn't try the "best" restaurant where you have to dress nicely (no jeans, shirts for men, nice pants or dress for women) since we had only brought beach like clothes. The other three restaurant are: a grill that is open most of the time and has an excellent chicken jerky (I got addicted), a regular restaurant that opens for breakfast, lunch and dinner (long hours for all of them) and an Asian themed restaurant with A/C.

The resort has several daily included activities (crafts, shopping trip to Negril mall, music, windsurfing, casino night, etc) and some additional ones you have to pay for (e.g. cruise, massage). We didn't try the scuba diving classes or the nude beach. We found the day activities the weakest link (hence the 4 and not 5 stars, in addition to the regular food). Most were had a desinterested or un-skilled leader, although most of the resort personal was professional, pleasant and amiable (although not extremely so). There is an A/C exercise room that is large enough, with a deck for aerobic classes and a game room with A/C and a large TV

The property has a large pool and a pool bar next to the sand and the ocean with a small deck where you can sit in nice couches and relax, view the ocean or the pool action on each side.

We took a trip (included) to the other Couples property and found that the Couples Negril had a nicer layout with all the activities pretty much in the center of the resort and that the excercise room if smaller, was AC.

There is a small craft market about 1 block from the property, but otherwise there is nowhere you can go walking. You can hire taxis though to take you anywhere.

Overall, a good 4 star resort and a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ocean view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mzc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi mzc61,

Thank you for having chosen Couples Negril for your vacation destination. We are appreciative of your detailed review and that you enjoyed the overall experience especially the 'chicken jerky' and we hope that you will become as addicted to us as you became with it :) Hoping to see you soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned home on Saturday and I have nothing but great things to say about this resort. Friendly staff, great food, fun entertainment. The resort has remained true to the island and is beautiful in it's natural setting. We met a couple who were on their 28th trip. That says a lot! I can't wait to return in the near future. A bit of advise. This is a calm, relaxing resort. If you are looking for a crazy, wild, loud party, this resort is not for you. If peace, calmness and tranquility is what you are looking for... then look no further. As the locals say, "It never rains in Jamaica, it's liquid sunshine mon".

Room Tip: Building 6 is where we stayed. Great Ocean views, but you also get a clear view of the nude section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starr N Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were looking for a smaller, quiet place for a getaway and our travel agent (Jennifer at thetropicaltravelers.com who we highly recommend!) suggested Couples Negril.
We arrived on a Saturday, and were greeted with a cool towel and glass of champagne. Check in was quick and efficient and we were off to our room, which was ready even though we arrived around 2. Our room was in building 2, on the 3rd floor with a garden view. There are very few real ocean view room at this resort, we knew that going in and decided that garden view would be fine. Our room was one of the ones that had been upgraded and was very nice.
Food at the resort was very good. We did the buffet every morning and enjoyed the changing selections, though I’m a sucker for an omelet station and enjoyed that quite a bit. We enjoyed the local flavors and fresh and exotic fruit that was available. For lunch we ate mostly at the Beach Grill, the jerk chicken is fantastic! Lots of other options too. Dinners were great, did most of the restaurants and had dinner at Otaheite twice. This is the only restaurant that requires reservations (they have 3 or 4 seating times) and require you to dress nicely. Drinks were good too, lots of options though I tend not to like the real sweet tropical drinks and it wasn’t till I made it to the Piano Bar that I was able to get a real good martini, but that’s not the kind of drink they are usually making here.
The beach and pool were both great. One thing I was worried about as a pasty white upstate NY’er was that I saw that there were no beach umbrellas, as is apparently the rule on all of 7 mile beach. Luckilly there are plenty of trees that provide ample coverage and I never had a problem finding a place in the shade while the wife enjoyed the sun. The pool was nice as well with plenty of chairs and no problems finding a spot. Pool bar was always a bit busy, but not too bad.
The main thing that sets this place apart is the staff. We have done all inclusive resorts in Mexico, but this is different. Respect is a major part of Jamaican culture and you’ll find that if you show the staff respect, they will respond in kind. That’s not to say they are rude off the bat, just maybe sometimes a bit more reserved. It seemed more genuine to us. There were some amazing staff standouts: Bellard from the entertainment staff was fantastic. He taught a reggae dance class that my wife loved (I could have done better!) then he joined us for dinner so we got a real feel for the local people. He was genuine and interesting and we really appreciated it! He also arranged for a private rum tasting for us since we wouldn’t be there for the actual calss. The entire entertainment staff were great without being overbearing. Housekeeping was also great, accommodating of special requests, etc. Restaurant staff, groundskeeping, all were great.
If I had to nitpick a couple problems…The minibar service was spotty. We had requested some items that we didn’t get the 1st day but were then taken care of the next day. One other day we didn’t get any minibar service at all but we were able to get everything we wanted without too much trouble. Also, some of the beach vendors do get a bit annoying but saying “No thanks” usually gets rid of them.
All in all the place is amazing with some amazing people working there. Give them the respect they reserve and you will have an amazing time! Just know going in that this isn't a grand, marbled floor resort. It has a very authentic island feel and look while still being clean and nice.
Also keep in mind that they have a very firm no tipping policy. It was actually hard to adjust to that but if the staff is seen taking tips they will get in trouble. The best way to pay them compliments is to note their names (we should have done that better) and write them down when you check out.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank MikeE546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hi Mike E,

Thank you for your review from your recent vacation. We do aim to provide the best service and are delighted that you had a great vacation experience with us.

We will ensure to pass on your accolades to the Staff and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#15 of 80 in Negril
2,442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,659 reviews
83.4 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#6 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £313 - £984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing