We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No problem, mon...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No problem, mon...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2008

First, let me say that I desperately wanted to give 5 stars but it seems that October is a risky time to visit the Caribbean. Katrina had made it such that we were not allowed in the ocean at all and one of the primary reasons I had chosen this location was for the all inclusive sailing, snorkeling, and cliff diving. All I can say is, next time, I am going in the prime season...and there will be a next time!
Other than the hurricane, the experience was the best vacation I have ever had. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The resort was well maintained, romantic, and clean. The piano bar was lots of fun, and the rooms are top notch.
We went all out for the honeymoon and got a deluxe garden view room with a hammock on the patio. It rained part of the time we were there and cuddling in the hammock while the warm rain fell is still a terrific memory. The days were spent doing whatever we wanted: sleeping in late, eating a leisurely breakfast (with mojitos, of course), hanging out by the pool, and just generally enjoying the Caribbean sun.
This is not a big party resort by any means, although things do pick up in the disco/piano bar later at night. And the after dinner entertainment is great. This was more like a needed decompression and time to be with my new life mate free from the cares of the world.

  • Liked — The cozy, romantic, welcomming atmosphere.
  • Disliked — The Hurricane!
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,803
    962
    245
    129
    41
See reviews for
49
3,208
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

This was our third trip to Couples Negril. It's been a while so I was hoping that nothing had changed from our last trip 3 years ago.
Well, it did change. For the better! The service is even more fantastic than I remembered. I don't know what kind of hiring procedure Couples uses but it WORKS!
Now, onto the review.
Check-in went smoothly. We traveled with another couple and requested rooms in building 8. We got 8 and they got 7 but they were happy with their room so, as they say in Jamaica, "no problem, mon"! Housekeeping did a great job keeping the room clean and the mini-bar stocked! Great job ladies.
Entertainment staff went out of their way to make us feel special. I don't know how they remember everyones names but they do! They seem to be genuinely sad when you leave. Every staff member you meet make you feel like they are truly there to make sure you have the best possible vacation. Kudos to General Manager, Karen Lanigan.
Food was not as good as it had been in the past but still very good none the less. Service with a smile more than makes up for it anyway.
The beach, as usual, was gorgeous and spotlessly clean. No seaweed or garbage anywhere to be seen.
By the time we left the resort was beautifully decorated for Christmas. WOW!
Next to the staff the thing that makes Couples so special are the other guests that it seems to attract. We always meet the greatest people that help make our trips so memorable.
I'm sure I'll think of more after I hit the button but for now thats all I can think of.
Thanks again, Couples, for a wonderful trip.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Travmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

We were married on 12/8/08 and were there for the entire week. The service and food beat other all inclusives hands down. The resort was very clean and the maids kept us in towels and beverages the whole stay. We had read about mold on other reviews but our room was top notch and so was our parents. We even got robes and a very handy umbrella in the rooms.

We didnt have a single complaint. Our family also came down for the wedding and they recieved the same exceptional service.

We werent sure about there only being 3 restaurants, but they rotated out the menu and did fun stuff with the buffet (like the barefoot beach party where the food was set up on the beach) and the dessert offerings were to die for. Ive never eaten so much in my life!

  • Liked — Wonderful food and service
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank brokenwings138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2008

We stayed at CN from 25th November - 9th December, After a tiring 9 half hour flight we arrived at Mo Bay airport around 5pm getting through customs was a bit of a pain, then having to go through to get our luggage was manic the staff come along and just take bags of the caurosel and leave them lying aroung so you have to go looking for them.
Once we had eventually get our cases we were then met by our Thompson rep who sent us straight to the couples lounge where we were welcomed with a nice cold glass of Red Stripe we were only there around 20 mins when our bus was ready to take us to the resort, the drive there was awful traffic was bumper to bumper for at least 2 miles out of Mo Bay.
When we finally arrived at the resort we were met by friendly staff and a glass of Champagne, after 10 mins we were shown to our room which were pretty much what we expected room (8205) air con was on so room was lovely and cool.
Waking up on our 1st day we had a small amount of rain but soon passed and out came the sun, breakfast was pretty much the same every day but always great, staff are very attentive and want to do everything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Pool - we spent most of our days here, your always able to get a sunbed but as we were always at breakfast for around 7:30am we got good sunbeds, staff at pool bar were always polite and friendley around lunch time it got busy with a lot of Americans gathering together laughing and joking rather loudly (this did not bother us)
Beach - Didn't spend many days on here but it was beautiful just like a picture post card, The red flag service is a god send
(loved it).
Food - OH MY GOD!!!! we both really enjoyed the food the beach and poolside buffett's were fantastic by Boyfriend was in his element with all the meat he could eat the roast Beef and yorkshire pudding was amazing also lots of choice of pasta and salads.
Lunch time buffet was also fab with plenty of choice and cakes to die for...
Breakfast - wicked crispy bacon, Scrambled eggs, sausage, boiled eggs plus you could also get omlettes made to order with choice of filling.. Plus loads more tasy things...
Overall we had a wonderful time at CN the only thing i would say negative is that the entertainment staff during the day on seem to cater for the Americans where activities are concerened but if you like Volleyball then you won't mind..
We would return to a Couples resort again but maybe try another 1 in Jamaica....
We had a wicked time wish we were back there....

  • Liked — everything!!!!
  • Disliked — nothing!!!!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank windawayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

We booked Couples Negril based on reviews noted on this and other web sites and were very delighted that we did so. This was one of our most relaxing and satisfying vacations and it was due to the resort and the people we met while there. Trip Date: Nov. 28th – Dec.5th, 2008.

Background – we consider ourselves average travelers with simple needs. We book standard rooms and have visited many resorts as indicated on our travel map.

Weather – for this particular time of the year the weather varied from cloudy to solid sunshine with temperatures ranging from 28 – 31 C (83 – 88 F) during the day and only slightly cooler at night. During our entire stay we only experienced one morning where it sprinkled for a total of approximately 10 minutes and by noon the skies had cleared to brilliant sunshine. Note: It did rain on the trip to and from Montego Bay but don’t be alarmed while making the trip from the airport because the showers have everything to do with location (windward versus leeward side of the island).

Travel – Air Canada … just your standard check-in and flights with no issues or delays. Our trip from the airport to the resort took 2 hours strictly due to bad timing. We arrived Friday afternoon just as everyone had completed their work week so the streets and highways were congested with vehicles and in the smaller villages people seem to congregate on the streets making the journey slower than normal. Trip back took 1.5 hours and the only difference was that it was earlier in the day before the congestion started. We did meet a couple that booked Tim Air (small commuter plane that uses a landing strip located across from the hotel). They informed us that it took them approx. 10 minutes and by the time we arrived, they had already checked in and had a sunburn. We inquired and the cost was approx. $200 / couple if you pay with cash while it would be $205 if using a credit card.

Resort – what can be said about a resort that treats you like you are royalty? CN was one of the smallest resorts we have visited but in our opinion that is what made it so very extraordinary. Because it is smaller you get to know all the employees and they work so very darn hard to make your stay an enjoyable one. Everyone took the time to learn your name and within days you were being greeted as though they had known you for years. The grounds are immaculate and I swear they rake the beach behind you when you walk. Pools and hot-tubs looked clean but we are beach people so I can’t really comment on them other than how they looked when we passed by.

The rooms showed their age (12 years) but they are in the process of upgrading them. It didn’t bother us as ours was kept clean and immaculate and we only spend time in the room to sleep.

Two beaches and they are separated by a hedge. The smaller section on the right side (facing the resort) is the au natural section and the much larger section is your typical beach with several women observed to be topless. Ocean is warm with small waves to perfectly calm (it is located in Bloody Bay and therefore protected from the winds that that can churn up the larger swells). This is the first resort that we have been to that you never ever needed to worry about finding a lounger (by the pool or on the beach). They are all equipped with full length foam floaters that you can take out to the water if you desire.

The food is beyond spectacular and definitely deserves a five star plus rating. From presentation to taste, you will feel like you are at a cooking school for the finest of chefs. Day or night you will always find something to satisfy your palate.

Wine as mentioned in other reviews is low end but you can purchase better wines at the restaurants. Our room had a fridge with typical soft drinks, water, liquor and beer with a checklist that you could use to replenish your stock. The bars are stocked with premier liquors and the piano bar served Guiness beer.

I had seen plenty of reviews regarding dress code and I can only indicate that while we were there dress pants, shoes and shirt were only required at the one restaurant that needed reservations (Otaheite). I wore dress shorts, polo shirts and sandals to all other restaurants and fit in just fine.

They have entertainment at night at the main buffet followed by further entertainment at the piano bar later in the evening.

Take the time to log onto the Couples website and what you read there is exactly what you get.

The only negative thing that needs mentioning is the mosquitoes / sand fleas. We thought we had learned from our last trip that you need to apply repellant at night to ward off the nasty bugs and even though we used a repellant with 30% deet we were still bitten and quite often. The later part of the week was spent scratching ourselves silly. We left the beach well before sunset to avoid the sand fleas that come out when the sand cools down so we are perplexed as to how and when we were bitten. We never saw the nasty bugs. Soooo bring along bug bite and anything else that will help stave off the itches.

I realize that this is a lengthy review but CN deserves it because it is an exceptional resort. Also, take the time to say hi to those lounging around you because you might be pleasantly surprised to meet the most remarkable and wonderful people. People who become life long friends because of the conversations and laughter you shared together.

As previously mentioned we will be returning to CN and that in itself speak volumes about the people who work here and the friends you make.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
18 Thank SmilesandChuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevilla
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

We enjoyed our stay... every minute, every meal, every moment at the beach or swimming pool.... Everything was perfect. We reserved a Beach Front Deluxe Room (perfect situation and size), it was cleaned and it was comfortable. Wonderful hotel, nice decor; very nice staff (all of them: waiters, receptionists, concierge...). Lovely private beach. We stayed there during the low season that is perfect because all the places quiet (we travelled there to enjoy jamaica and enjoy ourselves). No problems with mosquitoes (no more that in south of spain), NO PROBLEM at all. Minibar replaced every day, cocktails ready everytime you wanted.. Just one thing: we would loved to try more jamaican traditional dishes... OF COURSE I WOULD GO BACK TO COUPLES NEGRIL.

  • Liked — Everything: hotel, staff, situation....
  • Disliked — Not a lot of Jamaican food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank KariKori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

We just got back from Couples Negril where we stayed from Dec. 2nd to Dec. 7th. We were very impressed and would definitely go back. The staff did an excellent job and their the ones who make it a special place. Here is a quick overview of our experience:

Trip there: When we arrived at the airport in Montego Bay, the Couples Resort staff greeted us and provided us with champagne and Red Stripe. We only waited for maybe 10-15 minutes and then they led us to our shuttle. The shuttle took about 75-90 minutes depending on traffic. When we arrived, we were again greeted with champagne as we checked in.

Rooms: We had a deluxe beachfront in building 6 that was close to the beach and the Cassava Restaurant. We were on the main floor and could walk from our patio to the beach.
The rooms were nice but we were not as impressed with the bathroom which didn't have an outlet for my wife's curling irons. Fortunately, there were outlets in the room that she was able to use. They had a checklist for the minibar and you could choose different alcohols along with the typical juices, water, and soda. When you checked the box for the alcohols, they leave a large bottle for you. Overall, the rooms were decent.

Food: Overall, the food was excellent. The service was outstanding. They had plenty of choices. Otaheite is a must and requires reservations, food was excellent. The Lychee offered Asian cuisines and it was excellent as well. Typically ate at the Cassava for Breakfast and lunch which is a large open air restaurant. The service was excellent at all of the restaurants. They constantly came around filling glasses and taking used plates away.

Watersports: We took a sailing lesson on the Hobe. The lessons were everyday at 9:30am and 1:30pm. Definetely recommend trying this. In addition to this, they offer kayaking (single and double), along with waterskiing, wakeboarding, snorkeling, windsurfing, scuba diving, glass bottom boat, etc. They also offer night snorkeling for a fee. We would highly recommend the catamaran cruise. They take you to Pirates cave were you can swim through (take a life jacket from the boat for this) a small cave. Also, you can go off the waterslide from the catamaran. They serve drinks from the catamaran as well.

Beach, Pool, and Grounds: "Absolute Paradise"
They have the red flag service at the beach, just place your flag up and they will stop and take your drink order. The swim up bar was neat as well. The nude beach and jacuzzi was nice as well. They don't offer the red flag service there but it is a short walk to the bar. The resort is big enough in that they offer everything and small enough where you get to see the same guests over. The setting allowed us to meet a lot of other couples and make many new friends.

Entertainment: The nightly entertainment, we would rate as average. They have a piano bar where they have sing alongs and on other nights it becomes a dance room. The music could have been better. They also have nightly entertainment at the Cassava. We would like to see them improve the nightly entertainment options.

Extras: They have an internet cafe with a Nescafe machine with coffee, Chocolate Mocha, etc. This appeared to be open all of the time. I used this to check and send e-mail, cheaper than calling. We also used this to check our flights. They also have a dinner on the beach and a dinner by the pool night. This allowed for a unique and pleasant experience.

Overall experience: We loved the resort, the staff were excellent, and we can't wait to go back. We would highly recommend this resort.

  • Liked — Location of room. The beach, pool, jacuzzi, bars, and restaurants were very close. Great mini-bar.
  • Disliked — Lack of outlets in bathroom. Bathroom could look a little nicer.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Ohiotravelers35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#16 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
83.3 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Odigeo and Destinology so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing