We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset at the Palms
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedonism II(Negril)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,836)
Filter reviews
2,836 results
Traveller rating
2,001
607
141
63
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,001
607
141
63
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslotus leafchef's tablecrossing guardbeach grilllotus restaurantday bedcoffee barshort walk across the streettree house stylejohn wayne toursjerk chickentree frogsa la carte restaurantbloody baypiano mansmall resortbug spray
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,871 - 1,876 of 2,836 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I just returned from an absolutely fabulous vacation here. We have been to many locations in the past and both agreed that this was the most relaxing holiday we have had. If you want 5 star amenities and food you should look elsewhere. If you want above average food with a great beach, unique accommodations and great staff this is the place. Rather than go over what everyone else has stated I will just give you three examples of what makes this a special place.

When we checked in the bell people were busy. Another staff member asked us what we were waiting for and then escorted us to our room. When the key did not work he sprinted back to the lobby to get it fixed.

One day we arrived at the lunch buffet at 11.50 not knowing that it did not open until 12.30. One of the waiters asked my wife if she was hungry. When she replied yes but we would wait he disappeared into the kitchen. He returned shortly with a plate of cut up fruit and some sandwiches.

We went to the store to get a calling card. They did not have any. The lady working in the store offered us her cell phone to call home with as she had extra international minutes.

Please remember that this is all on top of all of the staff remembering your name and greating you pleasantly at all times of the day, a beutiful beach, good food, good drinks ......

Room Tip: Get a taxi or private transfer from Mo Bay to enjoy your trip for a longer period.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goalie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

If you're looking for a big resort with lots of restaurants and nightlife, then Sunset at the Palms is not for you. There is only one thing to do at SatP...relax. We loved our stay here, and will return. SatP is all-inclusive, and one of the things that made us book were all the positive reviews on the food. Too many times, all-inclusive food is average at best. You have to tolerate it to get the deal. SatP mainly survives on 2 restaurants...one buffet which is the main place to eat, and a sit down restaurant that's only open on certain nights. Since this was low season, it was only open for 2 nights. We loved the buffet...the food was excellent. The beach (Bloody Bay) is right across the street. I had concerns about that, but it is not an issue. You walk out the front gate, and a guard stops traffic for you. The beach is about a 100 yard walk. There is a grille and bar, so you can spend the entire day on the beach. Their drinks are excellent, too. Bloody Bay is one of the most beautiful beaches that we have ever been too. The ocean is crystal clear, and there are no coral or rocks anywhere. Beware the beach vendors...they are relentless. However, they seem to know early on if you are not interested, and will leave you alone for the remainder of your stay. The only exception are the roaming troubadors. They always ask if they can sing to you and your lovely lady. Some of them sing quite well. Since no place is perfect, I did find one issue with SatP...sleeping. Your accomodations are in individual cottages (they call them treehouses), and we loved them. However, you can hear everyone and everything outside. I can deal with frogs and birds...the cottages are set within the forest, and the animals are part of the beauty. The people getting up at 6:30 AM and sitting on the outdoor patios and having loud conversations can be bothersome.Most of our nights, the weather was cool enough that we didn't need the AC...we just opened the slats and let the breeze through. Since our cottage was right next to the main building, we were surrounded by the two main pathways to the building. Everyone going to breakfast passed by our cottage (breakfast opened at 7:00), and we seemed to hear them all. Try to get a cottage in the back, and that should alleviate the noise. The pool bar entertainment was done by 10:00, so that wasn't an issue either. Sunset at the Palms was wonderful, and we do plan on returning in the future.

Room Tip: ask for the back of the resort
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ricjo524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This is another good hotel.The room is lovely clean and very upto date. The food is great.Please try the corn rice and the fried chicken it is really good. The staff are ALL VERY friendly and make sure you have a good stay. The pool is nice and they have a swim up bar.
Some nights they provide live reggae band which is good and fun to sing along to. If you are
looking for somwhere to stay this is the place you get value for your money.

Jay

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jade364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

First stayed here about two and a half years ago and vowed to go back. Well we did and it was just as good as we remembered. The rooms, grounds and atmosphere make this place special. Staff could not do enough to accommodate my wife who is Lactose & Gluten intolerant. They even laid on a special dinner for our wedding anniversary, so thanks to Mr Kelly, Sifford, Ruddy and the whole chef team (especially the pastry chef) who was able to make puddings my wife could eat which is no mean feat, they were brilliant. Weather was great for this time of year being hurricane season, lots of sun, hot, hot, hot. Only one day did we have a spectacular thunder shower. Back in Negril next year with the kids staying at another hotel as this is mainly an adult orientated resort. But we will be stoppping by to say hi to everyone. We will definitiely be back here again. Ian, see you soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beachboy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

we stayed at this hotel last May but realised that I had not added a review! We travelled as a party of 11 for a friends wedding which the hotel hosted. The wedding was wonderful and simple - the wedding co-ordinator did a wonderful job. May is the start of the rainy season so most afternoons it did cloud over and throw it down for an hour of so (even on the wedding day!!) but can't say it was ever a problem, we would just get under cover in one of the bars or go back to the room. My boyfriend even enjoyed being in the jacuzzi when it rained??!! The staff are very friendly at this resort and will always chat to you, take some $1 notes as they are FAB for tipping. The trips we went on were YS falls (ok), Dunns River falls and swimming with Dolphins (long journey but brilliant) and the rum factory (also brilliant). The food was good at this resort, we went to the al a carte most nights because it was the best. I think people need to realise that with all inclusive you're never going to get 5 star quality and piping hot food. But selection-wise, it's more than I would of had at home so no complaints. We had a few lunches over by the beach which was very tasty as it's cooked to order. Bit of a shame about the road separating the resort from the beach but really not a long walk at all. Be careful of wildlife, they all seem to be 10 times bigger abroad! A very large and green land crab appeared in the toilets by the pool one day which scared the absolute life out of me (could'nt use them again the whole holiday!) the rooms were fantastic - such a huge bed and the shower was amazing - you'll see why!! The daybed on the balcony was very relaxing but most of my time was spent in the pool bar ;) The grounds are beautiful and the staff do very well to keep it looking as it does. The gym facilities were basic but the salon and it's staff were very good. Opt for Dwaight when in need of a massage!
Overall the resort is simply beautiful, very intimate and natural. We had to sometimes amuse ourselves which was a shame, a pool table wouldn't go amiss for example. At the time I worked in a travel agent and we managed to get some day passes to the nearby Sandals and Beaches resort. These resorts were on another level compared to Sunset but I think that's all reflected in the price. I absolutely loved Negril and Jamaica on a whole (we're going to Cuba in January and hoping it's just as good!) Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.

Room Tip: If getting married out there, email the hotel beforehand, you may bag yourself a free upgrade!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews