We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Vacation EVER!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset at the Palms
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2011

If you are looking for a one-of-a-kind romantic getaway, this is the place for you!

Upon check-in, the service is over the top & extremely friendly; the staff makes you feel like a friend staying at their place opposed to just a paying guest. The resort is very cozy, you are only beat away from the pool, lobby & restaurant regardless where your room is on the property. The beach is just a 45 second walk across the street from the front desk & yes, the hotel has their own security personnel on the beach. The rooms are very well appointed the beds super comfortable; however, bring a credit card if you want to use the safe, they require a deposit for the key.

The buffet doesn’t have a very large selection; don’t let this fool you, everything they offer is SUPERB!! The chef’s are magicians at both the buffet & the a la carte. The lobby bar makes the best martinis & they use TOP SHELF LIQUOR at no additional cost (Grey Goose & ice was my regular nightcap)

The food at the beach was also outstanding, I highly recommend the jerk chicken or the red snapper with chutney.

There was never a crowd ANYWHERE, lines were non-existent & there were plenty of pool chairs available any time of the day (both at the pool and the beach)

Book a Spa treatment; wife & I had a couples massage, which I rate 10 stars.

The only issues we had did not directly involve the resort of its staff; vendors at the beach are VERY AGGRESSIVE, you need to tell them NO many times in order for them to leave you alone. ALSO, it seems that every vendor wants to sell you marijuana, again, tell them NO and they will eventually leave you alone.

LEAVE YOUR CHILDREN AT HOME!!! I love my kids to death; but this is not a resort for kids, they will be bored silly if you bring them here, it’s not fair to them & not fair to the other couples enjoying ‘kid-free’ time.

This resort was the best couples resort I have ever been to (including my honeymoon) & will make it a point to go back every year in early October.

Room Tip: If you want to be right on top of everything (read: shorter walks to pool & restaurant) ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,715 - 1,721 of 2,676 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

A place surrounded by beauty and tropical views. Rustic living in it's best. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, nothing but a wonderful staff with a smile on everyones face. Beach is not the best, but soft white sand and calm waters. You will not see any sea life except for a crab or two unless you take and excursion. The other problem is it is a free to public beach so there are constant people trying to sell you everything. But once they remember you they back off, just say no. Back at the resort the food was always very good. We never went to the reserve restaurant because the buffet was so good. Drinks were great. Always a table no waiting. The room is very rustic, no mini fridge and the coffee maker needs to be updated, and the mattress was like a roll away very hard and thin. Could use some updating, but still I liked the room myself. Entertainment was ok for a small place. I highly recommend going to chucka horseback riding, what a blast that was and also Ricks Cafe for the diving they do there, amazing, not to mention great shrimp. Also at the resort there is a vendor who sets up and sells her home made items and like all vendors they will make a deal with you. Her name is Elka (Erica) Brown, a local who is just fantastic lady. Made two special necklaces for me because my neck is so big. She stayed up late that night to make them then brought to back to me in the morning to make a final fit all before I had to leave. They look great and what a nice deal she gave me. Be sure to ask for her and tell her Don and Denise send there love. Over all I recommend this place and you also will make some really nice friends.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the middle of the resort, you get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csxdon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Where do we begin - the resort was fabulous! In early October our party of six spent a glorious and relaxing week at a very well kept and lovely resort. The grounds were all well manicured and very little problems with mosquitoes. Our rooms/treehouses were clean and well air-conditioned. We totally enjoyed the lovely day beds on the balconies overlooking the wonderful vegetation. The buffets were well varied and the food was good and tasty.

Sharon Powell the resort’s manager was most courteous and she was always open and ready to ensure that we had an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

The front desk staff, always greeted us with a warm smile and were more than willing to accommodate our needs (Hi Octavia). Should you wish to enjoy the spa, Sophia and her soothing hands provide a great and relaxing massage. The bar service was great, (Kevar makes one mean Rumaccino) and Kurt was always ready to prepare some exotic and tasty drink at the Martini bar. The staff was most obliging and very pleasant. Christina, Melissa and Chantai were always at our beckon call with a smile.

The road cross over to the beach was not an issue at all. The staff at the beach bar/grill were always ready and willing to prepare drinks and a variety of grilled foods. The beach was simply to die for. It was well kept, clean and the water was crystal clear and bath warm. The evening entertainment was also varied and enjoyable and the week was not complete with out the entertaining “Dancing Chef” Chef Ruddy Dixon.

All in all an extremely lovely resort, attended by a great group of people. We highly recommend Sunset At The Palms – Negril – a gem in the island of Jamaica. We hope we haven’t forgotten to acknowledge any staff member – but just remember you are all in our hearts—RESPECT MAN!

If you wish to explore the local flavours, our man of choice is Mr. John Wayne. He provided us with some interesting excursions via his taxi van (he’s parked outside the resort).

Gina & Denise - Maple

Room Tip: The 400 rooms are the best location away from street and closer to lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GinaMaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

If you are looking for romance and tranquility then this is the place! My wife and I stayed here Febuary of 2011 with another couple and had the time of our lives. The rooms are awsome, quite and set in lush tropical gardens. The beach is not a problem being just a few minutes away, and the beach bar and the grill are way nice as well. The pool bar and bartenders are way awsome, the food is great as well.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I just returned from an absolutely fabulous vacation here. We have been to many locations in the past and both agreed that this was the most relaxing holiday we have had. If you want 5 star amenities and food you should look elsewhere. If you want above average food with a great beach, unique accommodations and great staff this is the place. Rather than go over what everyone else has stated I will just give you three examples of what makes this a special place.

When we checked in the bell people were busy. Another staff member asked us what we were waiting for and then escorted us to our room. When the key did not work he sprinted back to the lobby to get it fixed.

One day we arrived at the lunch buffet at 11.50 not knowing that it did not open until 12.30. One of the waiters asked my wife if she was hungry. When she replied yes but we would wait he disappeared into the kitchen. He returned shortly with a plate of cut up fruit and some sandwiches.

We went to the store to get a calling card. They did not have any. The lady working in the store offered us her cell phone to call home with as she had extra international minutes.

Please remember that this is all on top of all of the staff remembering your name and greating you pleasantly at all times of the day, a beutiful beach, good food, good drinks ......

Room Tip: Get a taxi or private transfer from Mo Bay to enjoy your trip for a longer period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goalie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

If you're looking for a big resort with lots of restaurants and nightlife, then Sunset at the Palms is not for you. There is only one thing to do at SatP...relax. We loved our stay here, and will return. SatP is all-inclusive, and one of the things that made us book were all the positive reviews on the food. Too many times, all-inclusive food is average at best. You have to tolerate it to get the deal. SatP mainly survives on 2 restaurants...one buffet which is the main place to eat, and a sit down restaurant that's only open on certain nights. Since this was low season, it was only open for 2 nights. We loved the buffet...the food was excellent. The beach (Bloody Bay) is right across the street. I had concerns about that, but it is not an issue. You walk out the front gate, and a guard stops traffic for you. The beach is about a 100 yard walk. There is a grille and bar, so you can spend the entire day on the beach. Their drinks are excellent, too. Bloody Bay is one of the most beautiful beaches that we have ever been too. The ocean is crystal clear, and there are no coral or rocks anywhere. Beware the beach vendors...they are relentless. However, they seem to know early on if you are not interested, and will leave you alone for the remainder of your stay. The only exception are the roaming troubadors. They always ask if they can sing to you and your lovely lady. Some of them sing quite well. Since no place is perfect, I did find one issue with SatP...sleeping. Your accomodations are in individual cottages (they call them treehouses), and we loved them. However, you can hear everyone and everything outside. I can deal with frogs and birds...the cottages are set within the forest, and the animals are part of the beauty. The people getting up at 6:30 AM and sitting on the outdoor patios and having loud conversations can be bothersome.Most of our nights, the weather was cool enough that we didn't need the AC...we just opened the slats and let the breeze through. Since our cottage was right next to the main building, we were surrounded by the two main pathways to the building. Everyone going to breakfast passed by our cottage (breakfast opened at 7:00), and we seemed to hear them all. Try to get a cottage in the back, and that should alleviate the noise. The pool bar entertainment was done by 10:00, so that wasn't an issue either. Sunset at the Palms was wonderful, and we do plan on returning in the future.

Room Tip: ask for the back of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ricjo524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This is another good hotel.The room is lovely clean and very upto date. The food is great.Please try the corn rice and the fried chicken it is really good. The staff are ALL VERY friendly and make sure you have a good stay. The pool is nice and they have a swim up bar.
Some nights they provide live reggae band which is good and fun to sing along to. If you are
looking for somwhere to stay this is the place you get value for your money.

Jay

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jade364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
5.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
7.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 80 in Negril
5,344 reviews
1.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
0.9 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at the Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at the Palms

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#5 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £203 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at the Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for romantics or a destination wedding. Nestled amongst tropical gardens and flowering plants at the edge of Negril, this unique all-inclusive gem is best described as intimate, chic and serene. The resort offers 85 "tree-house-style," elegantly appointed guestrooms on ten-acres of lush landscaping, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Melt away with a soothing spa service in our unique treatment garden, cool off at the swim-up bar with a tropical drink or "chill" at the resort's five beachfront acres and two miles of white sand beach, just steps away. When dining is on the menu, you'll enjoy both international and authentic Jamaican cuisine at four restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset at the Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At The Palms Hotel Negril
Sunset At The Palms Negril
Sunset Palms Jamaica
Sunset Palms Negril
Sunset At The Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing