We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week in paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset at the Palms
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One week in paradise!”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed at Sunset the first week in April 2013. After travelling to several countries and staying at many resorts, I would have to say that this was, by far, the best experience we have had. Will definitely return again next year.

To begin, the staff make this place a true gem! Everyone was so friendly and eager to help in any way to make your stay the best it can be. We arrived late and they met us off the shuttle with a cold beverage and towel. From that moment on we were given the best service ever experienced. The bartenders, our favorites were Carry, Kurt, and Clive, were funny and personable. The wait staff was quick and would get anything you need. The food was always unbelievably delicious and the chefs never skimped on taste and variety! The girls at the front desk were available from morning to night to help with anything you might need. There was always someone at the gate and the street to help you cross to the beach quickly and safely. The walk to the beach only took a few minutes and was full of beautiful scenery.

I could spend hours talking about Shorty, the gardener, who was responsible for the impeccable grounds on the resort. He was the kindest, sweetest man, and would never hesitate to give us some of his time. We learned a lot from him about the natural vegetation and loved drinking fresh coconut water every day, which is "good for your heart" he told us. Was always a pleasant experience running into him on the paths and learning something new.

In all honesty, I could mention every single person at the resort who, at one time or another, helped to make our stay the best possible experience. But now to get to the resort itself.

Wow! The beach! What a beautiful little slice of heaven! The sand is soft, silky, and white. There was never any trouble getting a lounger in your favourite spot and, the beach guys would always rush to help you get set up. The water was crystal clear, calm, and warm and we spent hours floating around. The beach grill served up some amazing grub for lunch if you got hungry, and the bar was stocked with all your favourite beverages to keep you cool. We would often walk down and browse through the vendors stalls and tried to buy a bit from everyone. The people were very friendly and, of course motivated to sell their goods, but not pushy about it in any way. We bought some adorable hand made rasta beanie hats for the kids from an elderly woman who crocheted them right on the beach. Nice to talk to the people and they were very respectful. We never tried out any water sports, were just too content and lazy, but their is tons to do if that is your thing.

The pool was generally pretty quiet during the day and was always perfectly clean and very inviting. So if you wanted to cool off back at the resort, this was the perfect place to go. We drank dirty bananas at swim up bar every day!

Also went for a couples massage one afternoon. I think the ladies have magic fingers! Wow! My hubby and I both drifted off a bit during the massage. Perfect way to relax even more!

I'm sure I've missed mentioning a million other wonderful things, like the BBQ on the beach on Friday night with a big bonfire, but my message is that this place is truly wonderful. Anyone who complains about too much is obviously high strung and not wanting to enjoy the beauty and peacefulness that this resort provides. If you want to get away from your hectic life and feel pampered in paradise, then this is the place for you!!! Can't wait to come back again next year!!! Thanks to ALL staff at the Sunset for our amazing experience!!! You made some cold Canadians very, very happy!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,774
    544
    127
    61
    23
See reviews for
168
1,832
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My husband and I just returned from SATP staying for 1wk April4-11 2013, again we can't say enough about this resort. Greeted with a rum punch drink and cold towel. We were in room 301, best room ever. There was a hammock and daybed and the best view of the mountains. We are early risers, so the view watching the sun come up was beautiful. The colours are amazing.The food we found was better this time around. A little more to choose from . We did not go to the a la carte this time. We couldn't bare to put dress up(my hubby did not want to put long pants on). Staff is amazing. Coffee is awesome. Go and have an espresso or capp, they are sooooo good. Everyone working the beach takes care of you. Opal is a gem. Her laugh can be heard for miles. Food at the beach grill is great. Bloody Bay is beautiful, calm and warm. Lots of activities Locals alittle annoying, just say no-thankyou, the will leave you alone. We have made friends with many locals on the beach. It was nice to see them again. I really got eaten by bugs this time. I did spray with repellant, didn't seem to help me. We did get a fridge. Ask the front desk when you arrive for one, they will set it up in your room. Staff makes this resort. Please tip them. We will go back to SATP next spring. This year we experienced alot of afternoon rain that would not let up until the evening. That was ok , Jamaica needs the rain. What broke my heart was to see all the plastic water bottles washed up on the shores on our ride in and out of JA. Not to mention the garbage. The JA government should have better ways to keep the island clean. See everyone next spring.

Room Tip: bring bug spray, snacks for room, juice or water for room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank eno802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Beautiful grounds, excellent food, beds were comfy, rooms were clean...only downfall is the beach is across the road and only open after 7am. Beach facilities were nice, entertainment was fun and over by 10:30 every night which was great for us as we were tired after a full day at the beach. Lots of water activities available...all in all a great time and would tell our friends to go in a heartbeat. Hi to Craig and Shannon in the restaurant! Food and service was A-1 and always a fun time! Excellent cappuccinos! Sorry to have had to come home so soon....

Room Tip: Little louder at the front of hotel...we were in the rear near the fitness centre which by the way w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ceilidh-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We've just spent the last 11 days at sunset at the palms. The staff, hotel, food, and location are all amazing.

If you like water sports this is the place for you. The beach is amazing, there is no shortage of hobie cat sail boats, kayaks, and jet skis. There is live music on the beach but if you let them know your not interested they will carry on. The food at the beach is amazing!

The hotel rooms are really neat, sure there is road noise but its not bad and the birds and tree frogs do a great job helping with the street noise. We stayed in the 100's and had no issues with the noise.

The food at the resort is also spectacular, the theme nights are great and the staff do a fantastic job of ensuring you are comfortable.

Definitely a place I'd return to.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felllowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My girlfriend was only willing to give it 3 1/2 dots.

Lovely place. Nice and quiet. Bungalow-style rooms. I thought the food was very good; particularly the fresh fruit. Don't miss the little 'fig' bananas. My girlfriend did not like the food and she couldn't get her morning coca-cola. The service while dining was generally slow and spotty, but was well compensated for by the gracious hospitality of the staff. I have heard lots of people point out the surrounding poverty of the area, but all of the local people seemed very happy and welcoming.

What was really cool about the resort was that it was right in the middle of the action. There were lots of activities available right at the beach in front of the resort. Jet skis, parasailing, fishing, diving, snorkeling... It was all right there. We did the 2-hour snorkeling tour and it was pretty cool and only $30. That said, the beach was very busy and noisy during the late morning and afternoon, but was pretty quiet outside of that. There were lots of nice shade trees on the beach as well, and plenty of lounge chairs so you don't have to go down there at daybreak and reserve one. The bar and grill on the beach were great.

There were lots of local people on the beach peddling and playing music and singing which was a minor annoyance, but they weren't at all aggressive, and mostly I was happy to contribute a few bucks here and there to the local economy.

We did a day trip to YS Falls and Black River to see the crocs. I thought it was well worth it for $120 apiece. It was a long, bumpy ride, but it was really cool to see the Jamaican countryside and to get an idea of how people live there. We also went to Rick's Cafe and I jumped off the cliff (not the smartest thing I've ever done). That was worth the experience.

Some tips:

-Rooms were clean and comfortable

-The pool was VERY small

-This is a very small resort

-You have to cross a very busy road to get to the beach, which was a big deal to me because I've been run over by a car.

-You'll need bug repellent on the beach in the morning and evening

-Get yourself a thermal 'go' cup if you want a decent drink at the bar

-I thought the workout facilities were very nice, not Gold's Gym, but more than adequate

-Bring your own mask, snorkel and fins and you don't have to go far to find some amazing underwater sights. I saw five barracuda right down the beach.

-The water pressure was hit-and-miss (first-world problem, I know)

-Our driver to and from the airport (1 hour + drive) was kind of a maniac and the drivers are very scary. Mind you I drive around DC which is notoriously crazy. I would consider it to be pretty dangerous (this from someone who jumped off a 40-foot cliff), though we didn't see any wrecks (a miracle in my mind)

Room Tip: #103 was a good one, in the middle of the property so not too noisy. I would avoid the ones on the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

‘Sunset at the Palms’ is definitely a favourite, we do not usually return to the same resort but we will definitely return to this property.
The service was second to none, the staff were friendly and professional. The accommodation was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The Polynesian style cabins built on stilts with two units per cabin are set amongst the most beautiful gardens. The resort is well spread out, I think there is more square footage per person than any resort I have stayed at.
I had two massages that were both very relaxing. We used the gym several times, it was well equipped. The food was very good. Although there is only one ala carte restaurant,The Lotus Leaf, there is lots of choice on the menu and you can go as often as it is open, you just have to book the morning of. We ate there 3 times. We would like to give special mention to Cornelius, our fantastic waiter and Brian, the most attentive maître d who genuinely cared that we enjoyed our experience. The main dining room is buffet service, but the theme changes nightly, and there is plenty of choice. Shemoy and Collett made sure our water was always full and brought us tea and coffee or drinks as needed. Breakfast and lunch are also served daily in the main dining room. There is also a beach grill open from 11ish until 6ish with daily specials as well as jerk chicken, grilled snapper and burgers as their staples. Opal is the cook at the grill and she is amazing. The private beach is across the road from the resort, there is a resort crossing guard posted to cross you safely. The beach (Bloody Bay) is natural and beautiful. Shade and sun are plentiful. There is beach bar to compliment the beach grill. Clean bathrooms and shower located at the beach. Although the hotel was full, it never felt that way. Never a line up for anything! Always lounge chairs available at the pool and the beach. There is also a bar at the pool, swim up of course, or dry as well where Clive will mix you the best Dirty Banana and entertain you with song as well. There is a coffee bar that seemed to always be open. Live piano player nightly at the Martini Bar. Entertainment nightly at the pool bar, usually a reggae band or singer (karaoke one night). Entertainment usually ends around 10 or 11 pm. This was the perfect spot for us.

Room Tip: Request room closer to back of resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CK_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Have to say, stayed here in May 2012, so not recently. But, the rooms are fantastic, very private and cozy. The food, was fantastic!!! Too much actually. loved the Beach Grill, as we had Jerk chicken and red Snapper every day. The staff was mostly helpful as well. Beautiful beaches. Only complaint, was that there wasn't a fridge (mini bar) in our room!!! For the price you pay to stay there, guests should not have to walk all the way to the bar for a glass of water!!! They need to correct that issue. All in all, great place, food, and people!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
5.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
3.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at the Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at the Palms

Property: Sunset at the Palms
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#6 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at the Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for romantics or a destination wedding. Nestled amongst tropical gardens and flowering plants at the edge of Negril, this unique all-inclusive gem is best described as intimate, chic and serene. The resort offers 85 "tree-house-style," elegantly appointed guestrooms on ten-acres of lush landscaping, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Melt away with a soothing spa service in our unique treatment garden, cool off at the swim-up bar with a tropical drink or "chill" at the resort's five beachfront acres and two miles of white sand beach, just steps away. When dining is on the menu, you'll enjoy both international and authentic Jamaican cuisine at four restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travelbag, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset at the Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At The Palms Hotel Negril
Sunset At The Palms Negril
Sunset Palms Jamaica
Sunset Palms Negril
Sunset At The Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing