We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset at the Palms
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our 3rd time at this resort, and from the moment you arrive and are greeted by warm friendly smiles you know you are going to have a lovely time. A hot towel and a fruit punch was a great welcome. Kadian was really helpful and sorted out the small hiccup with our room, no problem. Its been 2yrs since our last visit here, and all the staff greeted us as if we were family. Our room as ever was brilliant and the introduction of a hammock on the balcony along with the day bed was a fantastic touch, as was the bathrobe, slippers and mini bar, all of which had been introduced since our last visit. It can be tricky going back to the same place again let alone for a third time, we have no hesitation in saying this was the best holiday we have had so far, and with some of he improvements they have made make it almost perfection. The introduction of the chefs table is a masterstroke, you MUST try it. The food and the buffet is as always very good, Andrew always cooks your eggs perfectly with a smile and a chat about football. In fact all the chefs are excellent and Elvis even sings at the end of the day with the band. All the staff are wonderful too numerous to mention all, but we will mention a few, Ian our dear friend the pool guy (will do anything for you), Alvin, Doraine makes wonderful morning coffees with chocolate, always smiling, Claudette wonderful with a morning cuddle, our wonderful Shemoy, Kemp the barman, Craig very attentive, Howard another chef always smiling the list goes on, but we would like to thank them all everyone of them was marvelous they really contributed to making our holiday very special. And a special mention to Christine, who really was amazing and helped to make our holiday pefrect, always with a smiel. We would just like to take up issue with someone's review who moaned just about everything, they were from Canada. We would just like to say that the grounds were immaculate, and the rooms and public areas were kept spotlessly clean including the pool. At no time did we have to wait at the bar for a drink, and for the first time this year they have introduced waiter service on the beach. If there was one negative it was that our holiday had to end...we will be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the 400 section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barmy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 2,675 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

As with all reviews, this is about our own experience. Having just read the reviews of the past week or so, my wife and I would disagree with the wine connoisseur who felt the wines were undrinkable. They may not have been the best cabs or merlot we've ever had, but they were reasonably good for a house wine in a non wine producing country. The food was quite good every night with a reasonable selection too (this is a small hotel/resort). We would also disagree with the woman who felt the place was dirty, had poor service and unfriendly people. This was not our experience. In our experience, the more one goes out of their way to be friendly and personable, the more likely it is to be reciprocated.
This location is not for people who like a big beach party, late night dancing, activity driven days, numerous a la carte options, or laying like sardines under palapas.
This resort hotel is for people who want quiet, relaxation, casual evenings in conversation with other people and any staff. The feeling of solitude in ones own room in a non concrete surrounding, and greetings from everyone with a smile on their face was remarkable.
To sum up, our experience was splendid in many ways and primarily due to meeting some good people at this resort, talking with hard working staff from maids to waiters to bartenders to reception, and enjoying the relaxing atmosphere that the SATP delivers.
I do know that this location for us 15 years ago would have been very laid back and too slow perhaps, but for us now, as youthful middle agers, and busy professionals at home, this was the spot to be at this moment in our lives. Thanks to everyone we met and staff there for great memories. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2GoSouth512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic vacation in Jamaica at the Sunset at the Palms. The grounds are beautiful! No concrete jungle here. Highlight was Elvis in the karaoke bar singing Shaggy's "Boombastic" and Conway Twitty's "Linda On My Mind." Elvis works in the kitchen during the day, but was a highlight of our vacation. Brent, the cab driver who parks in front of the resort was also another highlight because of the "Everyday Life In Jamaica Tour" he gave us.
Jeff & Betty

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Having concerned ourseleves that it was a long way to travel for a weeks holiday our minds were soon put to rest arriving at the Sunset at the Palms. We were met with such a welcoming smile and a refreshing cocktail a wonderful start to what was to be a truely amazing holiday.
Our tree house was a delux suite spread over 2 floors. Simple yet elegant decor with a welcoming hammock on the veranda in which to relax, drink red stripe and converse with the tree frogs. One word of caution - beware of wooden surround to the bed - bit of a shin cracker, had we packed a chainsaw this however would not have been a problem.
From our arrival to departure we really could have not asked to be looked after any better. Nothing was too much trouble and always with a smile. We ate in the buffet and the Lotus House but the true highlight was our night at the Chefs Table. We were treated to the most wonderful, entertaining night with first class cuisine. The quality of the champagne, beautifully presented dishes and attentitive staff, Sifford, Christine, Oshane, Dwight, Javan, Rivian and Calvin, was top notch.
Getting out and about and exploring Negril was easy thanks to the concierge at the hotel and a 'must have' taxi driver, Gary from Respect Tours.
The beach was breathtaking and never crowded or bothered by traders. The small walk across the road from the hotel was actually a bonus.
All in all, if your looking for a weeks getaway (or longer) where you can totally chillax and recharge your batteries in a unique and stunning environment, Sunset at the Palms is the place.

A BIG thank you to all at the Sunset at the Palms!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarrBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Sunset at the Palms was amazing. Our tree-house room was beautiful and private with an amazing view of the lush tropical grounds from our deck. It was just a short walk to the magnificent beach which was private and relaxing and had plenty of shady spots. With the snack-bar, bathrooms & cocktails just a few feet away what more could you ask for? Very different from the crowded Mega resorts where these trips can require quite a hike. Food was great & the staff was friendly and accommodating. The pools were wonderful and landscaped beautifully. We missed the scheduled nature walk with the master gardener, but ran into him on one of our walks and he took time out from his work to point out many interesting things. We were thrilled to see the elusive Doctor hummingbird on many occasions on the lush grounds. We stayed at several other resorts in Jamaica including Ocho Rios, Montego Bay & Negril and the Sunset was the best. Our next trip will definitely include a stay at Sunset.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Sunset at the Palms was gorgeous. We went after I had read many reviews... and it lived up to the best reviews and more - for us. We loved our little hut. We loved our beach. We loved our same two musicians who visited us daily on the beach. We loved our Pina Colada smoothies. We loved Opal's laugh at the beach grill and her extra touch of fresh baked cookies! We loved the many smiles and manners by the staff. We loved seeing the dining staff eating together at one big table before the buffet was open in the evening. We loved the coffee bar. We loved the massages we got! We loved stopping to talk to Lynsford, one of the gardeners, on our way out in the morning... seeing and hearing whatever he was working on - on the property. He shared bits and pieces every day about his projects and also about his own family and growing up in Jamaica. We loved Headley, who took us on the garden tour... and made sure we knew the difference in the various plants and trees on the property. We loved that these guys were so proud of what they do! The staff felt well taken care of... I don't know if they truly are... but it seemed that way to us. We loved giving our maid a big tip and seeing her giant smile! We loved eating a good breakfast, spending the day at the beach sunning and reading... eating a light lunch (grilled cheese, tomato and bacon - my favorite) with the best french fries ever! And the ketchup was sweeter than ours in the US. Yum. We loved coming back to our little place around 3 or 4pm... snuggling up on the bed in the air conditioning... watching a little tv or reading some more... until it was time to go to dinner again. There was always something at the buffet that we could find to eat that we really liked. There were plenty of things that were traditional Jamaican fare, even though every night was a different themed menu. But we were in JAMAICA! So of course the food would be different than what we were used to! Our favorites were the breakfast omelets and lunches on the beach. I lost a little weight and I think it's because I ate healthier while there... (ok, except for the french fries!) The wait staff in the dining room were so polite and it was fun chit chatting with them. We are friendly people but we didn't get to know many people... but we are not big drinkers and so we didn't hang out by the bar and pool much. We also just really enjoyed being together because we are so busy in our jobs back home. It was such a great time to just be "us" again and relax together. One of the highlights of our time in Jamaica was touring the countryside with JuJu Tours... going to 2 schools, eating a backyard lunch prepared by two Rastafarians, our tour driver, Richie and all of his stories... and going to church on Sunday to the Assembly of God church (we are not of that denomination but we loved it!) We loved the church choir ladies all in white... and meeting Pastor Porter. Excellent sermon as well. As we strolled along the beach looking at the other giant-sized resorts we were so grateful to be where we were! Sunset at the Palms is so intimate... small, cozy, lush with tropical foliage, and it made us feel private, safe and totally relaxed. Can't wait to go back and i hope we can do it sooner rather than later! Thank you for a wonderful stay! Oh! And here's something fun... I wear a Cpap machine at night for sleep apnea. I have noticed that whenever we go away and sleep in a hotel, it picks up the scent of the hotel... the cleaning supplies, air freshner... whatever ~ so that when i come back home, I still smell where we've been. I can't tell you how delighted I was to put my Cpap on when I got back home after staying at Sunset at the Palms! As soon as the air started blowing on my nose I smelled the scent of the resort - like fresh flowers! I was so excited I wanted my husband to smell my blowing Cpap machine! He thought I was crazy until he smelled it too! Wonderful, wonderful place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jimswifeyeahmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was my 6th trip to Jamaica over the past 25 years, and this was the best so far--both insofar as accommodations, service, food and value. The tree-house rooms are clean and wonderful, the staff warm and helpful, the beach close and clean. I cannot, for the life of me, figure out what problems anyone could possibly have with S@tPs to leave anything but an Excellent rating. We'll be back there for certain!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
5.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
7.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 80 in Negril
5,344 reviews
1.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
0.9 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at the Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at the Palms

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Spa Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £203 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at the Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for romantics or a destination wedding. Nestled amongst tropical gardens and flowering plants at the edge of Negril, this unique all-inclusive gem is best described as intimate, chic and serene. The resort offers 85 "tree-house-style," elegantly appointed guestrooms on ten-acres of lush landscaping, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Melt away with a soothing spa service in our unique treatment garden, cool off at the swim-up bar with a tropical drink or "chill" at the resort's five beachfront acres and two miles of white sand beach, just steps away. When dining is on the menu, you'll enjoy both international and authentic Jamaican cuisine at four restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset at the Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At The Palms Hotel Negril
Sunset At The Palms Negril
Sunset Palms Jamaica
Sunset Palms Negril
Sunset At The Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing