We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset at the Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset at the Palms
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent location, great staff - very friendly and helpful. Good selection of food and beverages.
Rooms were enchanting.
The beach is a short stroll away and there is nice kitchen available for the staff to cook you up some local cuisine.
The town site of Negril is very close and a taxi can get you there in no time.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the back where there is more tranquility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spektralgraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,704
    524
    125
    61
    22
See reviews for
161
1,751
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The place was great, the rooms were really cool and it really felt like you were in the jungle. the bugs were a bit bad at dusk, but not much can be done there. It would have been 5 stars but having the beach across the street is not ideal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is one of the best places to stay in Negril. As most of the reviewers have stated, the resort is designed very nicely and maintained well. The cabanas are somewhat different than your typical hotel rooms and add to the appeal of the resort. Each of the cabanas has a large covered patio or balcony that's nice to relax on and read a book during one of the occasional rain storms. The staff at the resort are very nice. The food is above average; it's much better than the food I've had at one of the nearby Riu resorts. The resort's beach is one of the nicer beaches compared to all of the other nearby resorts.

Our stay had a few minor bumps, but overall, it was a good vacation. When we arrived, the staff didn't seem to be ready for our stay, even though we completed their online check-in before we arrived. They asked for our booking confirmation paperwork, which I did indeed have. (I definitely recommend you bring your confirmation paperwork!). That seemed to clear up the matter, however, they told us they didn't have a smaller cabana (which we reserved) available for our first night. To make up for this, they gave us a free upgrade to the larger cabana for one night, then moved up to the smaller cabana for the rest of the nights.

If cost is not an issue to you, the larger cabanas are great to stay in! Very spacious! If you like for your room to stay very cool, the larger cabanas have sealed windows in the bedroom to maintain the AC's coolness. Be aware, as other reviewers have pointed out, the smaller cabanas' windows only have shutters. During the day, the AC's air will escape, so the rooms do get somewhat warm during the middle of the day. During the evening and night, the rooms stay plenty cool. The TVs in the cabanas offer plenty of channels. The rooms have free wifi!

Cabanas share water heaters. Hot water was hit and miss depending on if the guests in the neighboring cabana was also taking a shower.

SATP probably has one of the better bars and grills at the beach. They made good drinks! Many reviewers have indicated the SATP staff always carried and set up beach chairs for them as they arrived on the beach. I can't say this happened for us. Every day we were there, we had to pull chairs off the pile and set up our own chairs. Not a huge deal, but just be aware. The resort pool is small. There wasn't much happening around it, so we always went to the beach. The resort is very laid back.

The food on most nights was very good. You can either do their buffet or reserve to eat at their restaurant. When you arrive, sign up for the Chef's Table. Good food at that event!

As mentioned, this is a very good place. But since they are more expensive than many other places, I would expect a few improvements. The mishap at check-in was disappointing, but the resort reconciled the issue. Our smaller cabana had a faucet with half a broken handle, the shower head leaked, the AC was confusing (it would have been nice to either been instructed how to use the remote or have instructions in the room), and on a few days it had a short supply of hot water. These are all very minor issues, but based on the cost of this resort, I would have expected not to encounter these types of things.

Don't take me wrong. This is probably the best place in Negril. We had a great stay. I would recommend the place. Just make sure you have the right expectations based on what you're spending.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road that goes by the front of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here between 5/13 and 5/18, this place is amazing! STOP looking at other properties on Trip Advisor and book this place now, you will NOT be disappointed! Simply, this is the best vacation my wife and I have taken together (w/o the kids). The bungalows are beautiful and situated within a lush tropical landscape, the beach is only 2 minutes away and the ocean water is warm! In fact the ocean water was so warm it was warmer than the pool water! The food at the restaurants is fantastic, the grill at the beach is fresh and the drinks are never ending and strong. Harshly, my wife and I are the type of people that always like to experience something new and never say we'll be back, but in this case, Sunset at the Palms is strong contender. I've never stayed at a all-inclusive resort in the past, but if this is what they are all like, Sunset at the Palms certainly sets the bar high! SATP is small intimate resort, and not a mega resort like some of the others close by, so if you are looking for a fun, sun soaked and memorable place to get away, this place is it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ntwkstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This place is Fantastic! We needed to get away and just relax, and, this is the perfect place to do just that! The resort is small compared to the usual, and very cozy and quiet. It feels very secluded like you are in a cabin in the woods. The pool (and swim-up bar) is nice. The beach is beautiful. The staff is very friendly. The food is good and plentiful. And, the coffee is fantastic (This one is a big deal to me)! I would highly recommend this place for anyone who is looking for the perfect "do nothing but relax" vacation. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in 603 which is right next to the road. You could hear cars driving by, but, it was never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I were looking for a quiet getaway and we hit the jackpot! After reading reviews, we chose Sunset At The Palms in Negril as our vacation destination....and were we ever amazed! If you are looking for a quiet, intimate, BEAUTIFUL and friendly place...this is it! We are experienced travelers, and this was THE BEST vacation we have ever had. The beach is gorgeous and many times we were the only ones in the water! (How often does that happen at large resorts?? NEVER!) The rooms were awesome, the food was great (my husband especially enjoyed the endless bacon at breakfast), the water was pristine...we don't have one single negative thing to say about our stay. Wish it hadn't rained so much, but that's life on a tropical island! Even when it was raining, it was still amazing. We also really enjoyed sitting in the hot tub as the day wound down. So relaxing. Everything was perfect. Thank you Sunset At The Palms for making our vacation the BEST ONE YET!! We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the road....and we got the perfect location. Nice and quiet and away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

How do we compare what we have with our extended family @ *Sunset @ the Palms* Negril? This is one of 4 amazing trips my husband and i have taken to this Resort. Each and every time it gets harder and harder to leave. With the perks of a smaller resort,and our repeated visits..the staff knows us by name and always welcomes us home. The food is always good...and the (new this year) Chef's Table..was awesome.The Chef cooks up a special menu just for you. So thank you to all our family..Sharon, Opal,Lair,Mr. B,Clive,Leonardo, Melissa,Kirk, Kadian,Octavia,Kemp,Kenrow and the rest of the staff... see you all next Mothers Day. To anyone looking for an awesome beach and spectacular resort (adults only) THIS IS THE PLACE YOU WANT TO BE!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
2.4 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,094 reviews
26.3 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
14.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at the Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at the Palms

Property: Sunset at the Palms
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#6 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at the Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for romantics or a destination wedding. Nestled amongst tropical gardens and flowering plants at the edge of Negril, this unique all-inclusive gem is best described as intimate, chic and serene. The resort offers 85 "tree-house-style," elegantly appointed guestrooms on ten-acres of lush landscaping, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Melt away with a soothing spa service in our unique treatment garden, cool off at the swim-up bar with a tropical drink or "chill" at the resort's five beachfront acres and two miles of white sand beach, just steps away. When dining is on the menu, you'll enjoy both international and authentic Jamaican cuisine at four restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems and Ebookers so you can book your Sunset at the Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At The Palms Hotel Negril
Sunset At The Palms Negril
Sunset Palms Jamaica
Sunset Palms Negril
Sunset At The Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing