We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaica's Finest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset at the Palms
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently got married and spent one of the best weeks of our lives at at the Palms in Negril.
The staff and service was amazing! Yvette the wedding planner made us feel at ease from the time we met her and took the stress out of everything. Our wedding was perfect in a location in the garden that was better than expected. We couldn't be happier with the job she did. I would recommend this place for anyone planning on getting married!
Service at the resort was out of this world, honestly made us feel guilty for being treated so well! All of the bartenders and servers make you feel right at home! Kemp was our favorite! If he can't make you smile or laugh than it's prob not possible! Kemp is the man! Can't wait to go back and hit up Jamaica's night life with him outside the resort. Cornelius was our server for our private wedding night dinner at which he took service to the next level! We had great service the whole time and Craig and Shemoy also gave us some of the best dining experiences we could ask for!
The resort grounds are beautifully kept and the head grounds keeper can be found everyday expecting the property and keeping it pristine! Beautiful property!
I am saving one of the best parts of this resort for last, hard to compare with everything else because everything was amazing, but the food was top notch, from the private dinner, lotus leaf fine dining atmosphere, the palm grove buffet style dining, the beach bar grill, breakfast and especially the chefs table where we had the honor to meet the man behind the extraordinary dishes, Ravieon. My wife and I are big foodies and she works in one of the best fine dining restaurants in central Florida and we were blown away with his talent and ability to pare dishes and flavors. Along with mixing local flare and beautiful presentation. Not your typical all inclusive resort food. The limit is endless for Ravieon with that type of cooking ability!
If your looking for a romantic paradise vacation with your significant other or a quiet secluded vacation with a group of friends, than you can't go wrong with Sunset at the Palms in Negril! Truly an amazing resort where you can get away from it all and truly enjoy yourself! Whether at the one of the 3 bars, beach, dining or relaxing or resting in your private treehouse room where you will be sure to hear nothing but the sounds of nature!
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chase j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,198 - 1,204 of 2,769 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just spent a long weekend and have to say this place is AWESOME. I've been to Negril 2 times previously, and this will probably be the most memorable trip. It's not a large resort, which we really enjoyed. I was reserved about the beach being across the street, but the property made it worth it, and the walk was no longer than getting from one end of a large resort to the other, maybe less. The amenities on the beach are what you'd expect and need. Staffed well, comfortable chairs, bar, grill, water sports and the walkers offering everything from souvenirs and water sports activities not offered by the resort to anything else you want to partake in. The rooms are as described, not big, but you feel like you're in a tree house in the jungle. So the view from the balcony isn't expansive, but the trees and plant and grass make you feel like your in the middle of the jungle, which was really cool. The nature sounds at night was like the best sound machine you can imagine. The staff is unbelievably friendly and genuinely engaging. Everyone from the reception to the grounds folks are smiling and friendly. The food was great and the Jerk Chicken at the beach grill is outstanding. Would have liked a few top shelf liquor options, but the red stripe flowed freely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road. We didn't end up there, but spoke to others at the resort an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erez A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is the first time that we have travelled out of Europe and it was the best choice we could have made for our honeymoon. We stayed 26/05-09/06 for 14 nights.

If you're looking for complete relaxation accompanied by some of the best service we have ever experienced, SATP is the place to be. Talk about service with a smile!

We were greeted at front desk with a cold towel and a glass of SATP punch - just what we needed after 10 hours on the plane followed by the 1.5hour bus transfer from Montego Bay. They very promptly checked us in and asked the bellboy to take our luggage straight to our room. We stayed in 505 which was just close enough to all the facilities (although i cant see any of the rooms being that far to be unacceptable for most) but also far enough away to not be interupted by any late night guests if you fancied an early night!

Each treehouse is surrounded by landscaping which encompasses the building into its natural surroundings. Its truly beautifully designed. The rooms were stunning - just our taste! We had no complaints on any aspect. The A/C started leaking about 9 days into out trip but the maintenance guy was there in minutes to fix it. We also (somehow?!) locked ourselves out on the balcony and luckily our 'neighbour' was on their balcony and able to call reception for us - again, the maintenance guy was there to save the day!!

The only thing we would suggest (and this is probably just us being english!) is that they provide english tea in the rooms as they do at breakfast. We did ask for some but when the 'selection' was brought to our room, they only offered us the various fruit teas which we already had.

The resort is very much a place to wind down. Evening entertainment is limited but perfect if you are looking to just relax with your partner! The painist in the martini bar (Paul?) was absolutely fantastic and we spent many nights listening to and singing along with him(!). Other entertainment included Karaoke, Reggae and Steel Bands.

The beach is just simply, gorgeous. SATP has their ownsecluded area with bar and grill and it never feels too crowded (you only have to look at the resort next door with their multiple rows of loungers to know what I mean by crowded!). As you approach the beach choosing where you want to sit, one of the chaps will kindly bring over your loungers and plonk them precisely where youy want them - such gents. The food at the grill is spot on for the setting and tasted beautiful - a nice change if you dont fancy the buffet lunch!

Talking of food - serious yum! We've been told that it can be hit & miss with all inclusive food but we honestly thought it was amazing. Hats off to the chefs! There was always a varied selection for you to pick and choose from and we were never disappointed. We never got around to doing the a la carte but only heard good things about it. We did however eat at the Chef's table twice and both times we were really happy with our 5 course meal(!).

I think our only minor comment about the food (and this really is minor) is that we would cook some of the meat less. We generally like ours rare to medium and it was often medium to well done. We had tenderloin at the Chef's Table and it was well done (no pink). Maybe this is just how meat is cooked there, I dont know? Either way, its a minor thing and everything always tasted beautiful regardless!

The bars - all 3 were great and completely different atmospheres. We would generally spend the early mornings at the beach (before it got too hot and later on the holiday, before the storms set in) and then move on to the pool bar where we would stay all afternoon enjoying the beverages. Mellow Yellow & Bombay Sapphire and Tonic were our usuals! The bar staff were absolutely fantastic - particular mentions goes to our boys Clive, Kirk & Kemp. All three made us feel welcome and kept us entertained!!

Other mentions should also go to Shemoy, Alex, Claudette, Cornelius, Kerry and Sifford who made us feel very welcome. Everyone at the resort was always so willing to help and smiling. It was great to see such happiness around the place.

We honestly could not have asked for a better honeymoon and I am sure that without the quality of service given by SATP and their staff, that would not of been the case.

Thank you!!

Leigh & Penny.

Room Tip: Others have mentioned getting rooms away from the road which we had requested based on that advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We recently returned from 7 nights of pure bliss at SATP celebrating our 10th anniversary. The setting is relaxing and amazingly beautiful. We relaxed every day at the beach (in the morning) and on the outdoor day beds (during the afternoon rain). The staff at the hotel was exceptional especially our bartender Kemp. Elvis made the evening entertainment a blast also. We loved our room, our massages, the food, the beach, everything!! A few recommendations: Bring floaties for the beach, a big insulated cup, bug spray or bands. A must do is the chef's table! Such a fun experience. Also the chocolate croissants and pumpkin soup are to die for (from the buffet). We also met wonderful people staying at the resort that made our trip a lot of fun. I simply cannot say enough wonderful things about Jamaica and this resort. We loved it and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful property. The food is delicious and the staff is very friendly. Great private beach with bar and food available. Plenty of food choices and options for excursions from the hotel. A great hotel to relax and enjoy Jamaica.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I've traveled the world and stayed in everything from hovels to 5 star, I've seen more expensive and better appointed places but if you want great gardens to walk through, privacy, staying in charming tree houses 5 star service and the friendliness staff on earth this is the place. the check in and front desk are under a wooden open air roof in the style of asian and indonesian the tree houses are surrounded by lush jungle gardens,(birds of paradise, bamboo, ferns, palm trees, date trees and tropical grasses) even though the hotel was nearly full it felt as though my wife and I were alone in the jungle (Great) the food is wonderful and the menu changes daily, the Chefs table (make reservations) is a real treat for foodies. The Chef is a young man that has a passion for what he does and the skills to pull it off. The staff let me tell you there are no better staff anywhere! every want and need was addressed quickly and with such genuine care they make you feel like beloved family while maintaining the highest level of professionalism . I left my laptop, cell phone and other valuables in my room with no care that they would be there upon my return, Marvelous! this hotel needs to recognize that it has great people working for it and they really love their jobs and in my opinion could work at any 5 star hotel on the island, it was the staff that made my vacation Great and the reason I'll be back next year with a few of my friends! I'll be leaving in a day and I'll be taking memories of a life time and leaving cherished family behind. Thank you, Paul the piano man, Kemp, Stacy, Lolita, Claudette,Paul, Dorrine and so many more I didn't get to name for making a Dream vacation Peace and Love. Mark & Marion rm. #202

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you want quiet choose the rooms away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were lucky to finally find SATP after traveling the Caribbeen since 1988 and going to many different resorts. What a beautiful setting for cabins on stilts set back in a tropical rainforest, that's how it appeared to us everyday that it rained at 2:30pm. We loved this place and can't wait to return. Staying in room 508 was fantastic, the room was kept up perfectly by the staff cleaning and restocking the fridge with RED STRIPE and other beverages. The food is actually incredible, It's hard to please vacationers with a buffet for 3 meals a day. That's where the Lotus Leaf restaurant comes in with lots of gourmet choices, we ate there 2 out of 7 nights, just fantastic gourmet dining we thought. Also another choice CHEFS TABLE, A fantastic concept in dining Caribeen, we don't want to spoil it for anyone you just have to see it for your self. We really enjoyed both reggae bands that played that week, We like local talent, so it worked well for us.
The pool is small and mostly shaded during the day and very quiet if you want to relax and read a book. Some came from the beach around 3:30 pm to hang out at the pool bar or relax in the ( very nice) hot tub. Drinks were great at the pool and martini bar. THE BEACH complex was very nice lots of food choices and a great beach bar. This is one of the nicest beaches we have seen in our years of travel, Bavaro and La Romana beaches are very nice but BLOODY BAY has the calmest water we've ever seen. Come here too see this beach, it is amazing. Don't be surprised that the beach is across the street from the resort, We thought...what? Actually it worked out great for us...we loved it. Now for the real reason to come to this resort.

Sifford Byran- Shift Leader fantastic individual
Doraine - What a smile and what people person
Venroy & Shemoy-server at chefs table - great waitstaff
Claudette - at breakfast always there
Paul - waitstaff loved his attentiveness
Tamesha - waitstaff always there if you needed something
Andrew and Latoya - omelette makers great consistent smiles
Octavia-front desk - whatever you need she can do it
Kemp & Kerry-bartenders at the pool bar and martini bar A1 drinks all week
Lifeguard-Ian always came and set our chairs out at the beach NICE GUY
There were many more employees that worked hard to make our Vacay perfect and impossible to name them all, but thanks to all the employees at SATP for a perfect week!

Room Tip: Room 508 worked well for us, close to everything but far enough away we couldn't hear traffic et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Weluvdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
5.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 81 in Negril
5,500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
6.7 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 81 in Negril
1,053 reviews
2.9 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at the Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at the Palms

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Spa Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#8 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £184 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at the Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for romantics or a destination wedding. Nestled amongst tropical gardens and flowering plants at the edge of Negril, this unique all-inclusive gem is best described as intimate, chic and serene. The resort offers 85 "tree-house-style," elegantly appointed guestrooms on ten-acres of lush landscaping, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Melt away with a soothing spa service in our unique treatment garden, cool off at the swim-up bar with a tropical drink or "chill" at the resort's five beachfront acres and two miles of white sand beach, just steps away. When dining is on the menu, you'll enjoy both international and authentic Jamaican cuisine at four restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset at the Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At The Palms Hotel Negril
Sunset At The Palms Negril
Sunset Palms Jamaica
Sunset Palms Negril
Sunset At The Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing