We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset at the Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset at the Palms
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at Sunset at the Palms for our honeymoon. What a great experience! The scenery is absolutely gorgeous and the entire staff is friendly. The room was clean, and the balcony provided a serene view. I am a vegetarian, and very picky eater on top of that, but I was always able to find something at the Palm Grove restaurant. They have a variety to choose from for every meal, and the food was delicious! The beach was fantastic, although the people walking by trying to sell you things and sing to you can be quite annoying. We spent most of our days by the pool. he pool is very relaxing, with a swim-up bar my husband never wanted to leave. We booked our trip early (about 6 months in advance) which I recommend doing because we got an amazing deal. Overall, we had an amazing experience and we will definitely be going returning!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krista A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,704
    525
    125
    61
    22
See reviews for
161
1,752
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The grounds are beautiful, as is the rest of the resort. The beach is fantastic with lots of rum cocktails available and very tasty jerk chicken. We spent most evenings in the pool which is never busy and as it is part of the bar you can enjoy the entertainment from here. The staff make what is already an amazing resort extra special. They are always happy, friendly and attentive. All of the food is delicious, but the chef's table is not to be missed- the food and setting are magical. It is cool, relaxed and far more individual than any resort I've ever been to before. Simply didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuftstrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This resort was nothing short of amazing! The grounds were truly breathtaking, combining a jungle atmosphere with a beach-y vibe. The small size of the resort makes it impossible not to meet other amazing couples. I can't speak highly enough about the food. As a picky eater myself, I was a bit concerned. When I heard that I could drink the water, I was skeptical. Both the water and the food were PERFECT! With the country's natural resource of limestone purifying the water, and an AMAZING staff cooking the food, not only did we NOT get sick, but we couldn't have been happier! I have never eaten more in my life. :) Make sure to check out the chef's table to have a dining opportunity of a lifetime!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artbyariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I can't say anything bad about this place, and I am trying to. The resort was great. Staff was great. Food was great. Opal at the beach grill was the best. Stella at the coffee bar was pleasant and kind. She also makes a killer cup of coffee. I guess the only thing that took some getting used to was that the beach was across the street. For me it wasn't an issue but some guests didn't like that. Overall this place was a great value for the price. I have stayed at Couples Negril, Grand Lido Negril, and now here. Do yourself a favor and give these cool treehouse style rooms a shot. It was cool. Oh yeah, if your prone to bug bites bring the spray. I didn't have one bite. But my wife got a few.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troutski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The grounds of this hotel are exquisite. The food is amazing- very tasty with wonderful variety. There are beautiful pools on the grounds, and the beach is right across the street. I felt pampered the entire trip!
The true beauty of this hotel, though is in the people. The managers and staff were so welcoming and friendly. They made the trip so much fun!

Be careful on the beautiful wood floors and steps when it rains. They are highly polished, and there are no anti-slip strips in place on the steps.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_SU2792MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfect for couples, well kept gardens and charming cabins. Swimming pool and lobby well decorated. Convenient beach grill. The beach is a 10 min walk from pool and rooms. sea is very tranquil. I only wish hotel had more activities and more food choices. Jamaican hospitality is wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanita75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed for a week, and really enjoyed the clean, uncrowded beach and the laid back resort. Reggae music is in the background all the time.

We walked along the beach to check out the other resorts which are jam-packed several chairs deep with loud music, parents yelling at their kids, and other silliness.

Breakfast is a great start to the day. The beachside grill is fast and good. the beer is cold and you don't have to wait.

The dinners are okay but it gets boring, so two nights we took a cab ride into very nice seaside restaurants in Negril: $20 each way, plus tip, in addition to the meal.

After a hard day at the beach we enjoyed our private balcony in the jungle....snoozed there often, distrurbed only by birds.

The piano player in the evening is a true star!

Nighttime entertainment was okay; some are better than others; what do you want for free?

We found the pool to be small. Wifi only in the lobby.

Some of the staff are a little too eager for tips; just be aware that over-the-top friendliness, isn't.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road; it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidCanoeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
2.4 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,097 reviews
26.3 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
14.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at the Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at the Palms

Property: Sunset at the Palms
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#6 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at the Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for romantics or a destination wedding. Nestled amongst tropical gardens and flowering plants at the edge of Negril, this unique all-inclusive gem is best described as intimate, chic and serene. The resort offers 85 "tree-house-style," elegantly appointed guestrooms on ten-acres of lush landscaping, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Melt away with a soothing spa service in our unique treatment garden, cool off at the swim-up bar with a tropical drink or "chill" at the resort's five beachfront acres and two miles of white sand beach, just steps away. When dining is on the menu, you'll enjoy both international and authentic Jamaican cuisine at four restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Travelbag so you can book your Sunset at the Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At The Palms Hotel Negril
Sunset At The Palms Negril
Sunset Palms Jamaica
Sunset Palms Negril
Sunset At The Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing