We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation in the Caribbean so far!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset at the Palms
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Vacation in the Caribbean so far!!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I just got back from Sunset at the palms. We stayed there between July 19-27. A wonderful place to stay. This resort quiet, small and intimate. A great place for someone who does not want these loud, over crowded party places with young children running around. Everywhere you look at this resort you see well thought out design and beauty. A serene and Zen like atmosphere. The tree house rooms are unique, private, and nestled in a jungle like environment. They are surrounded with beautiful tropical flowers and nature. I would wake every morning to find my husband on the balcony enjoying the view and the sounds of nature. In the evenings you can fall asleep the sound of crickets and tree frogs. The beach is across the street from the resort. It is a beautiful beach. Everything about this place is heavenly. We met some great people here and we had a wonderful and memorable week. Food rocks and drinks are great! We are definitely thinking of coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms near the street might be noisier and you will hear cars on the street at night. Try to get a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,775
    544
    127
    61
    23
See reviews for
168
1,833
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I went to this resort for our honeymoon. It was beautiful, natury, clean, organized and so rustic. There were beautiful flowers and palm trees all around :-) We loved that it wasn't a big tall chain hotel that was filled with long halls. The tree house style rooms was amazing!! It was so nice to be in a room that was all wooden and romantic looking. The food was excellent. The buffet was very good with many choices. The hotel has 2 restaurants the lotus leaf which had an asain flare and the chef's table which was an outside restaurant in which you eat a 5 course meal that is prepared in front of you. We loved the beach. It was very clean!! We did the typical Rick's Cafe and some shopping. We loved it! We meet some nice people such as Yvette, Cornelius and Alex.

Room Tip: "Request a room in the 500-700 area" It is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

It's been about a week since I ended my vacation at Sunset. Let me start out by saying that First Impression and Customer Service goes a long way in my book.

The people who work the front desk should take a Year Long Course on how to treat customers. My check-in was outrageous, the way we were treated felt like we were about to enter into something crazy. Being told that we could only get 2 bottles of water a day is outrageous. The amount of fines you can get for losing a key, wrist band, and lock to a safe was the only thing pointed out to us. (Very Negative) We actually ask if there was anything positive or fun to do during the stay. (No Comment).

We found out later from ohter guest about Chef's Table and the Lotus Restaurant, now these were outstanding experiences (Very Positive).

I must admit that most of the staff are very pleasant and helpful. Not too sure about the Hotel Manager, we express our concerns to her and her response was, "need to balance the negative with the positive" I wish we were told about the positive things from the Front Desk staff and not just the Nagative.

The person they have booking the Tours, Chef's table, and the Lotus should take a life long course in Customer Service. All I can say is "WOW" so unfriendly and confrontational.

Overall the food from the Buffet was not bad, just need to skip Tuesday and Wednesday nights (Blah). If you are going to serve Asian and Italian food respectively for those nights. Please serve somthing else on the side for those who are in Jamaica to eat Jamaican food.

During my stay the resort decided to do a 2-3 day photo shoot. What a BIG inconvience it was for the guest. Especially at the Buffet, Pool, and certain parts of the Beach. Guest were told not to use the pool during filming, move from certain locations on the beach, and wait to use the Buffet and Chef's table. Filming was more important than catering to the guest.

Let me end by saying that my experience is "Not What I Expected.

Longball Out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Longball6900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Sunset at the Palms in July 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay.

Though the Palms is an All Inclusive, it will offer you a different experience than the typical Riu. The tree top bungalows are private, romantic and very clean. There is a rustic yet luxurious feel at the Palms. Be prepared for bugs, though :P

The beach (which is stunning) is across the street. There is s 24-7 security guard who will take care of you while crossing. There were more vendors on the beach compared to other resorts but they were respectful, funny and kind. If you say no thank you to their sales pitch, they will respect you.

The snack bar has some good jerk chicken and the red snapper is delicious! The buffet is smaller in comparison to typical AI resorts but quality and tastes lovely. It was unfortunate that they had specific nights for food -- we missed the ackee and salt fish since it was only offered on Mondays and Fridays.

The pool and pool bar are beautiful. There was a live band or entertainment every night.

We also did a couples massage which was relaxing. There are some hammocks around the resort -- fun to snooze and chat on.

My boyfriend surprised me with this trip and the staff made our vacation even more incredible. A big shout to Cornelius, Yvette and Shawn, who helped my boyfriend create a phenomenal evening for us.

We had a private dinner under the gazebo, which was lit up with torches, candles and beautiful flowers. During dessert, Cornelius helped by boyfriend create the most perfect and magical proposal =) It was a night I will never forget.

I would highly suggest the private dinner, for any special, romantic event -- Cornelius will take great care of you and your loved one.

Thanks also goes out to Everton, Sifford, Rayvon and Carla for making our stay so memorable.

There was also a super happy and smiley dred on the beach whose name we did not get -- he was awesome!

We would go back to the Sunset at the Palms in a heartbeat but with tons of bug spray!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank July E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

After and hour and a half ride from MBJ, the check-in process taking about 5 minutes was greatly appreciated. We were given a refreshing drink (I'm pretty sure it was non-alcoholic), that was pretty tasty. The bell man brought our bags to our room while giving us a small tour of the property. He turned our air on and showed us how to work it. It really looked like a spa relaxation resort....very calming.

We arrived just at the start of dinner, in which we decided to have right away and the food was delicious. We have stayed at other AI resorts and usually for food is ok, but it was really good here. The buffest is smaller than at the big resorts, but there is plenty of variety. The buffet is open air, so when it was really hot and humid, eating dinner was not very comfortable and there are only a few overhead fans in the dining area. We did not eat in the ala carte restaurant or at the chefs table. Since the buffet provided us with an assortment of food, we decided to not bother dressing up and just staying with the buffet.

The beach is across the street, but it is still closer than the beach maybe at some of the big resorts, and the crossing guard is awesome. There were plenty of shady and sunny sports and no issues getting a chair. The bar and the beachside restaurant were great, you didn't have to walk far to get a drink or food and it was never overly crowded since it is just resort guests there.

The poolside bar was the most fun place to be....it were all the guests really interacted with each other and the drinks were as strong as you liked them. They had nightly entertainment (live bands), which were pretty good.

The rooms were amazing, the bed was very comfortable, and the shower was heavenly. I loved the patio with the table and the lounger. We had banana's growing right outside our room. The flowers on the grounds were beautiful and the humming birds were darn cute.

The staff was so nice, always asking if everything was ok. I didn't meet one person who was not helpful when you had a question.

I will stay here again when we return to Negril....the only thing I can warn you about is to BRING BUG SPRAY!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dontelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindenhurst, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Me and my husband (Slevin) just got back from Sunset at the Palms and we are already eager to book our next trip there. Hotel is intimate and gorgeous. They have the friendliest staff we have ever encountered on a vacation and we have been vacationing for many years. The food was delicious as were the drinks. Met some of the nicest people who all want to meet back there next year. Can't wait to see Clevin, Kerri, Lynette, Niegel and Spice. Love you guys see you all next year.

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a bad room; they're all so secluded. Beds very comfortable, slept l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We came in mid June and arrived on a friday, stayed for 7 nights. When we arrived it was later in the afternoon, jet lagged after a 12 hour flights from LAX (thunderstorms delayed our flight). Since there was 6 of us we had 3 separate rooms. We had some problems checking in.....
1. We asked if we could make reservations for dinner at the Lotus and where when we can make reservations for the rest of our trip. The ladies told us that you can only make reservations on Tuesdays (mind you we arrived on a Friday) This ended up not being the case!!! The next day while walking to breakfast we saw on the activities board that they were indeed taking reservations! So we made them every day after that *except there are some nights they don't have
2. When we we arrived we asked the ladies in the front to have our rooms near eachother, we were told they were all booked and didn't have room, and got 1 room in the 600's, another in 100's and one in 400's. about 5 minutes after getting to our rooms we get a call saying they found rooms for us together and had to move rooms. (Not fun after 12 hours). We did end up moving and got 2 a joining rooms #609 and #610 #611.

I strongly recommend making reservations to the Lotus and Chef's table! Although everyone in my group prefer ed the Lotus. The food there is SO GOOD!

We loved having the beach across the street the walking guard was always helpful in having us cross.

Memorable staff that we all adored:
Cornelius was a great server! He was great in providing quick service with our drinks and was fun to talk to!

Calvin made the best grilled cheese! And was great to talk to. We had him teach us some local words, and talk to about what locals do.

The resort was great but being that we were a group of 6 friends (not couples). Although I do think the resort is geared more towards couples than groups.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
5.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
3.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at the Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at the Palms

Property: Sunset at the Palms
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#6 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at the Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for romantics or a destination wedding. Nestled amongst tropical gardens and flowering plants at the edge of Negril, this unique all-inclusive gem is best described as intimate, chic and serene. The resort offers 85 "tree-house-style," elegantly appointed guestrooms on ten-acres of lush landscaping, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Melt away with a soothing spa service in our unique treatment garden, cool off at the swim-up bar with a tropical drink or "chill" at the resort's five beachfront acres and two miles of white sand beach, just steps away. When dining is on the menu, you'll enjoy both international and authentic Jamaican cuisine at four restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset at the Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At The Palms Hotel Negril
Sunset At The Palms Negril
Sunset Palms Jamaica
Sunset Palms Negril
Sunset At The Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing