We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset at the Palms
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

We recently returned from our first trip to Jamaica ! What an awesome island to visit....the weather, the water....incredible ! The Palms has beautiful, meticulous grounds and the rooms are charmingly tropical. The staff works hard to make sure that you are enjoying your stay. I recommend tipping occasionally as we all enjoy recognition for work well done, and I don't think they make as much as they probably should.
The pool is the gathering spot for guests and the bartenders, espescially Rory and Garth, are extremely entertaining. You'll feel like the staff our old friends by the time you leave.
There is an older gentleman who serves in the dining room and he is marvelous! I wish I knew his name because he has the art of serving a fine meal down to an art !
My daughter and I traveled alone and I was uncertain how safe moving about the island would be. Luckily, on our first day we were directed to Gary from Respect Tours 1-870-889-4588. He is a cabbie/tour guide with a very nice van and he is the most respectful, friendly and protective guide we could have wished for. For $5.00 added to our cab fare to a destination, he stayed with us at every event or location we went to. We ventured to the downtown flea market and he made sure the vendors did not over-pressure us. We ventured to a local night spot and he made sure we were not bothered, even going so far as to walk us back and forth to the restroom. We never felt so safe in our lives! All the locals seemed to know him and respect him . Gary has lived in London for a few years so his English is very, very good and his manners are outstanding. But being born and raised on the island, he knows everything you could ever want to know.
Driving on the island on your own would not be a good idea. The roads are narrow and full of potholes, and traffic moves quite quickly, and there are lots of corners where you must stop to let opposing traffic pass before going around a corner! Gary was expert at dealing with the traffic and we always felt safe.
For the extra few dollars, let someone else do the driving and stay with you on your excursions. I
Sunset at the Palms seems to have a strong following of guests who come back year after year.....we talked to many people who were there for there 5th, 6th, 7th year in a row. That says alot.
The resort is near to town and all the things you might want or need......stores, bank, great restaurants.
Enjoy your trip!

  • Liked — This is a smaller, more personalized resort. No concrete walls. Nice, natural, intimate setting but still manages to entertain you and make sure you are always having the best time.
  • Disliked — The food is very good, but limited selections compared to larger resorts.
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sherrie7991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,735
    533
    126
    61
    23
See reviews for
162
1,790
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

My wife and I stayed at Sunset at the Palms (SATP) for an extended weekend from 2/5 - 2/9 and had a great, relaxing time. It was our first trip to Jamaica and we wouldn't hesitate to go again. I know that Jamaica receives mixed reviews, and although there is a lot of poverty outside of the tourist areas I can say that we never felt unsafe.

I'm not sure there is much to add to the hundreds of positive reviews SATP has received already. The resort is best suited for couples looking for a relaxing time. It is pretty, quiet and tranquil although it offers entertainment each night at the pool bar. Entertainment consisted of musicians and one night there was a fire dancer.

At the resort you stay in a "treehouse". Each treehouse has two units and each treehouse is spread out about 30 yards from each other with strategic plantings (palms and bamboo) in between to give each unit privacy.

The living quarters consist of a bathroom, bedroom and porch area. The bathroom has a great shower with 5 jets on one side and a hand held device and built in seat on the other. If you use all of the jets at the same time you will run out of hot water in about 10 minutes.

The bedroom had a king sized bed (nice firm mattress) with a vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan. There was air conditioning and a television - neither of which we used. There was always a nice breeze around. The outside porch contains the comfy day bed with pillows - perfect for an afternoon read and snooze.

We found the food at the buffet to be good with a nice selection of choices. The Lotus Leaf restaurant was excellent (beef and lamb) except the chocolate mousse desert had an odd consistency to it. The grill at the beach was very handy and served up good jerked chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches to help balance out the various rum drinks served nearby. Try the dirty banana - extra dirty.

The staff from waiters, cooks, bartenders and general workers always had a smile on their faces and were very friendly. No problems.

The beach is a short walk across the street. SATP provides a crossing guard. The beach itself isn't very wide, but was clean and surrounded by beautiful tropical water. Bloody Bay is very calm. Our first day at the resort was a little stormy and they had a no swimming sign even though the waves were less than 1 foot. There are also plenty of trees on the property should you wish to pull your recliner into the shade.

To the right of the beach is what is known as the Office of Nature where peddlers sell carvings, t-shirts, jewelry and other products Jamaica is famous for. The peddlers stay in their area and don't really come onto SATP property. You can lounge in the sun in peace. An occassional musician will come by and sing for you if you wish. If you weren't interested a nice smile and respectful "no thank you" was fine.

Boats and jets skis cruise by should you wish to take a ride, go fishing or go snorkeling. You can haggle the prices. The snorkel ride is a short trip to the left out of the bay to a reef. I was surprised by the amount of fish on the reef since the beach area itself was devoid of marine life. Bring an underwater camera.

We used Talk of the Town taxi for our airport transfer and a day trip to Mayfield Falls. They were great - they'll make as many stops as you wish for food or to take in the Jamaican lifestyle. Mayfield falls was beautiful. You walk up the river, sit under the many "natural jacuzzi's", jump into deep pools and swim under a small underwater cave. It's a 5-6 hour total trip from the hotel making a stop or two for food - patties and jelly coconuts on the way home.

The only small complaints I had were: (1) that the Office of Nature area next to the resort is under construction and they occassionally burn refuse. Depending on the wind direction the smoke would come across the SATP propery while we were in the water. Not SATP's fault, but is something to keep in mind; (2) the dive shop associated with the hotel (located on the left side of the property on the beach) arranged our snorkel trip with an individual who was only interested in smoking the entire trip rather than offering us any assistance. Smoke all you want on your own time, but while on the water where an accident can occur I would have felt a little better with a captain who wasn't as high as a kite. Stay away from the unnamed boat painted in Jamaican colors.

As a whole it was a wonderful trip (too short though) at a great resort. You won't be disappointed if you choose SATP for your relaxing get away.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wishinforfishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

We had a great relaxing vacation at Sunset at the Palms.
The people were great, the food was fantastic, and the cottages were clean and comfortable. The people at the sunset treats you like a family and they were all wonderful and very friendly. Unfortunately a hurricane had just passed before our arrival and the beach was inaccessable for a couple of days but we were content with the pool and we still hung out at the beach. The last few days at the beach were great because the ocean had cleared
all the debris. All in all a great beach nonetheless and a wonderful resort. We will be back most definitely. Thank you for all the staff at the front dest and all the waitstaff and the gifted gardeners.

bobby,sarah and mommy.

  • Liked — Peaceful
  • Disliked — The bugs but eventually you'll get use to it but it aint that bad just bring bug spray.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sanobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

We got a late start on the first plane out, and so instead of arriving around 5pm we arrived around 11pm, and on top of that, our luggage arrived the next day at 4pm. This caused us to be unusually tired the first 2-3 days of our 5 day 6 night stay unfortunately. But this was no fault of SaTP's.

So, first off, Staff was GREAT!!! They were very helpful and a big thank-you.

Bugs: Although we were very prepared, bugs were not even an issue! Maybe we just lucked out on that.

The Food: We enjoyed the buffet more than anything else. We could always find something that we liked. We would sample the foods which interested us and then go back for more if we chose. The fare was good but I would not go so far to say that it was excellent. Only a few items rated this. I liked the fish but it was just good. I really liked the pork. Loved the pineapple, and the salads were good but limited on the type of dressing available. My wife liked some of the chicken dishes, which is the only meat she tried. At the Beach Bar and Grill, my wife had the grilled cheese which was good. The hamburger tasted ok, but it just did not seem like beef. We did not try the hotdog due to this fact. The fries were very good. And Leone (not sure if this is correct spelling) was very sweet. The Lotus Leaf is also good, but we only went there once.

The Beach: Overall, we really liked the beach. The water wasn't pristine clear, but still it's the OCEAN! We enjoyed laying on our floaties. The sand was a fairly fine mixture of white, gray, and black. We enjoyed snorkeling and relaxing on the beach with our 16 ounce mugs, (very nice to have).

The Room: (600's) Loved the wooden decor and the overall design of the cabins. My wife really liked the wooden slatted windows. We were right by the road and the RIU and only Saturday and Sunday were they loud late into the night. The lighting was noticeably dim but for the most part was not an issue. We enjoyed lounging around half clothed after a day at the beach, watching tv which offered a surprisingly decent amount of channels to choose from. It was very intimate.

Souvenirs: Unless you are buying alot, the vendors at the beach and the ones they let in the hotel are fine and not much difference in price when you bargain with them. You may save yourself a headache rather than getting a taxi and going down to the market.

Tree frogs and Crickets: They were not too loud at this time. Instead, they were more musical and added to the ambiance of the place.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here, and would come again.

  • Liked — Privacy, ambiance
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tana16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2009

we stayed at sunset at the palms last april. and i have to say it was wonderful. we enjoyed the hotel, food,and surroundings so much. The staff are all great big hi to garth, greg, esroy and so many more all the barstaff are so much fun and make you fell so welcome.
when ever we went down to the beach you got the same welcome as you did at the hotel bars. the food at the beach grill is very good as is the hotel food plenty to pick from at all times.
I would also like to mention willy the night surcurity guy always helpful. and would always make sure we got back to our rooms ok when we left the bar well oiled at the end of the night..thank you willy.
we went on many trips and enjoyed them all dunns river falls, the black river where we saw many crocs and i had a swim in the river to totally safe give it a go if you go on this trip and your guide asks if you want to. we went horse riding on the beach what a wonderful day that was. and also river rafting so quite and peaceful and your guide points out so many things and offers you the chance to have a go to. so if your thinking of trying sunset at the palms do its wonderful enjoy as we did.

  • Liked — The tree house rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshinehunterxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

My brother got married here in July and we stayed for a week. The Hotel is absolutely stunning with tree houses for rooms set around the grounds in jungle like splendor. The rooms are of a very good standard and come with all modern amenities and your own personal balcony. The hotel has a pool bar and a sort of cocktail bar near reception, most people hang out at the pool bar and that is where they hold the entertainment every night. There is also a Tennis court and Spa although i did not use them myself. There are buffets at scheduled times throughout the day everyone agreed that the breakfast was best but I never arrived on time myself. The food was surprisingly bland and I did not really enjoy any of the meals including the one at the Lotus Leaf restaurant.

The beach is across the highway and is a 5-10min walk away, there is a private section of beach for the hotel with another bar and water sports desk. You can get burgers, fries and sandwiches most of the day. There are some local vendors just down the beach and if you venture in their direction for a browse practice saying no thank you.

We rented Jet Skies they are a lot of fun in the cove although make sure you agree a price up front and be prepared to be asked for a tip when done.

All the staff were really helpful and friendly especially Garth who was outstanding, we looked forward to heading to the bar when he was on duty and he has a vast array of specials for every occasion. Remember your Bubba Keg!

  • Liked — Grounds
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BobbyDazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2009

Just returned from Sunset at The Palms and all of the 5 star reviews are right! Staff was incredibly friendly and went out of their way to get anything needed. The beach was a short walk across street. Beautiful water. There were vendors on the beach but a quick no thanks mon and they left you alone. Food was all inclusive food. The Lotus Leaf restaurant was surprisingly good! Overall, very romantic, fun and so relaxing! The spa is also a must!

  • Liked — Amazing staff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
5.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,216 reviews
2.5 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
26.3 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,179 reviews
26.2 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at the Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at the Palms

Property: Sunset at the Palms
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#6 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at the Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for romantics or a destination wedding. Nestled amongst tropical gardens and flowering plants at the edge of Negril, this unique all-inclusive gem is best described as intimate, chic and serene. The resort offers 85 "tree-house-style," elegantly appointed guestrooms on ten-acres of lush landscaping, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Melt away with a soothing spa service in our unique treatment garden, cool off at the swim-up bar with a tropical drink or "chill" at the resort's five beachfront acres and two miles of white sand beach, just steps away. When dining is on the menu, you'll enjoy both international and authentic Jamaican cuisine at four restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset at the Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At The Palms Hotel Negril
Sunset At The Palms Negril
Sunset Palms Jamaica
Sunset Palms Negril
Sunset At The Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing