We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nirvana on the Beach(Negril)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rayon Hotel(Negril)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco La Palm(Negril)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
284
167
40
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
167
40
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm treesjazz nightocean frontjunior suitenegril beachseven mile beachevery morningmile stretchall inclusive planrestaurant staffjamaican breakfastvisited negrilgarden roombeautiful beachprivate balconyshrimppineapple
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Having just returned from our 3rd consecutive December vacation at Charela Inn I have come to understand it more fully. This hotel on every level is about the best I have ever experienced. From the character of the Spanish style architecture, the beautiful gardens, the color and staining of the knotty pine rooms, the diverse menu in the restaurant(check out the great cakes and breads), the wide and deep palm tree shaded white sand beach, there is only one thing that surpasses these features: There is a love and kindness extended beyond the well executed job description of every employee and owner, that is wrapped in an ever present smile that I don't think I have ever seen in such a genuine and consistent manner. I am preserving in anonymity, the names of all of those that made us feel this way even more this past trip, but you know who you are. You made us feel at home, and we are ever grateful.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Negrillovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My son and I enjoyed a week in a second-floor room garden-view room at Charela. All the hotel and restaurant personnel were very friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Charela has the most beautiful location on the beach with lots of shade under beautiful palm trees. The restaurant is a little pricey for dinner, but we really enjoyed dinner on Jazz and Folk-Loric nights. Breakfast on our balcony was very good and reasonably priced.
We're looking forward to returning to Charela as soon as possible!

Room Tip: The seaview rooms have beautiful views. The garden rooms are very quiet. Second floor rooms have private balconies and enjoy a better breeze than ground floor rooms. There were no children at the hotel while we were there. I am not aware if there is a fitness center, but the swimming from the beach is fabulous. There is also a small pool in the garden.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We've been all-inclusive vacationers when it comes to Jamaica since 1997 and our friend who lives in Orange Bay finally convinced us to try a smaller, local-owned hotel. Are we glad she did! We stayed from Oct 27-Nov 3 in a sea view room (308) and couldn't have been happier. The hotel is so charming; very reminiscent of the early days before Negril beaches became so over-populated with the super-resorts to the north. The wide beach and courtyard made you feel that you were in a secluded area (going off-season helped, too). There are only 44 rooms and they are nearing construction on 6 new suites, but we were not bothered at all by the noise (which was minimal) and activity.

The staff is amazing! Very friendly, polite and polished; our friend tells us they have a great training program and it shows. Not only did they immediately remember the names of everyone in our party (another couple travelled with us), but they remembered our preferences and had our tables waiting at each meal (we did the modified all-inclusive meal plan; b'fast and dinner--excellent choice).

The rooms are clean and the bed is so comfortable! Water pressure surprisingly strong and there were no hot water outages. The housekeeping staff does a terrific job and are just as friendly and helpful as the wait staff.

We never had such great food! It was delicious and different every day with a French flair. Portions are so large we had a hard time finishing some of them. Soup, appetizer, salad, entrée and dessert with each dinner; preset menu but you could substitute from the general menu if you wanted.

There is security at all times on the beach, but dressed in street clothes so very unassuming; however, they were on their toes! Charela Inn is very convenient to everything we needed; Catholic church a short (3-min) walk across the street; nice walk down the beach to Times Square so we could visit our friends who work there, Sheldon at the bar and Denise (Trisha) who owns Reggae Roots (very unique items made by Jamaicans) and shop at Sunnyside Gift Shop (Adrian has the best prices on many souvenirs and other items people like to bring back home or eat/drink while they're there:~)).

Sandra and Merleen (sp?) have a little "hut" with two massage tables inside; magic hands for sure!

We will definitely be back to Charela!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the house; your budget will dictate, but even the rooms on the courtyard are quiet (no street noise due to a wall along the road and the hotel sitting back a bit) and have a beautiful view of the pool and grounds.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IrishEi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

A friend and I had dinner at charela inn which was wonderful. I had a steak which was pricey ($32) but well worth it. My friend had a really delicious pasta and chicken dish which was much more reasonably priced at $12. A complimentary and delicious salad is served with all meals which is a nice touch. Staff was also wonderful. The only thing that could use improvement was the bread. I think a restaurant of this caliber ought to have freshly baked rolls.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank nmezhebovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed from Oct 05 to Oct 19/13. in both Jr. suites. Both rooms are great There was a problem with the air conditioning so we had to change rooms for a couple of nights. It was not a big deal. They are building 6 new rooms so there was a bit of construction noise. That should be finished soon. The people at the hotel are great. Everyone had a smile. The food was good and the Red Stripe cold. The beach is well kept and the water and sand are out of this world. You can sit near the water and meet with the beach vendors that try to sell you everything or sit a little further back under the palm trees and relax. The hotel is in the middle of 7 mile beach so you can walk in either direction for site seeing and beach souveniers. Charela is THE place to stay. Thank you to everyone at the hotel for taking care of my wife and I during our stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brian1475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews