We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay and relax”
Review of Rondel Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rondel Village
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This resort the best for all, from a great beach, bar, dining area, and of course a spa. Two freshwater pools on property, rooms are immaculate and there is private jacuzzi in most rooms. Staff is great and upgrades are going on to always improve your experience

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stevan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Rondel Village was our second pit stop on our holiday in Jamaica. It took us about hour and a half to get there with the shuttle from Montego Bay. The staff was friendly, especially the security guards were nice. The usual scenario was that we were just walking to the beach and then ended up having long chit-chat with the guard on the beach gate.

Our hotel room was located on the other side of the road. The road that splits the village is quite busy but they have installed traffic lights for extra safety (although some of the cars don't care so don't blindly trust the lights). We stayed in Nectarine room which was on the second floor. The view from the balcony was okayish (local apartment house to the left and pool on the right). The WiFi wasn't complimentary and neither was the safe but they were reasonably priced. The wifi signal was pretty strong everywhere in the village with my phone (Blackberry).

And of course the beach. Even though we didn't have a nice view of the beach, it's right there and it takes you like a minute from the other side of the road to walk there. A part of the beach is reserved for the hotel so guards will keep the vendors out of your hair and you can just focus on lying there & relaxing. Although you have to remember that when you leave the comfort of the hotel, you'll be bombarded with vendors selling boat rides, snorkeling trips and hand-made jewelry. The best tip that I can give you is to bargain and you will find out how much the prices will drop. If you're not interested in the first place, just refuse politely and keep on walking.

The breakfast was not included in the price but it was inexpensive. Options ranged from typical American breakfast to few Jamaican ones and I can easily recommend Jamaican ones. If you don't like to pay all the time for your meals (or drinks from the bar), you can add everything to your room bill and pay when you leave. The front desk also exchanges money to Jamaican dollars although if you have dollars they are accepted everywhere you go (except in the post office which was a bit weird).

The center of Negril is not far away from the hotel and you can get there easily with a taxi or if you don't mind walking, you can walk there in about 30 minutes. When you get bored of the beach and you want to see other attractions (like Blue Hole or Rick's Cafe) you can get a private (shuttle) taxi or a route taxi.

In case you are a light sleeper, then you may want to get a room on the beach side since there is some sort of a night club close by the "other half" of the village. The music they played was really loud on Saturday evening and one of the locals said that they are allowed to play until 2 am which they did. I don't know how often they have these parties but we only experienced this once during our stay so I didn't feel too frustrated about it.

All in all Rondel was a nice place with a lovely staff. I would definitely stay here again if I ever get the chance to travel to Jamaica for the second time. Although the last night was a bit sleepless from the music I would still recommend this place without a doubt.

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach side might be less noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We had a birthday party here for my sister-n-law, what a great job the staff did! They provided heavy appetizers, open bar for two hours and a steel band, fabulous! We were there for 6 days and it was a blast! The bartenders took such great care of us, checking on us as we laid on the beach, can't beat that!

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a short visit at Rondel and loved it, our room was spacious and clean. The resort is very quiet and has a pretty nice piece of seven mile beach. Tried the Jamaican breakfast at the restaurant it was very good. Staff friendly and attentive. The security guard Hugh at the front gate is very friendly and welcoming, he helps to make this place what it is. The beach guard also made us feel secure he did is job keeping beach vendors at bay. Awesome experience would stay again.
We stayed on the beach side with 2 double beds.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Beach side of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshinefalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This trip was to be an escape for my husband and I away from it all. I wanted a stay away from the package all inclusive resorts. The staff from begining to end was very nice and helpful from letting me know what chicken patty vendor was good to having great conversations with them. I like the fact this resort was built and owned by a Jamaican family. You could see the staff had a real pride in their resort and employer. The walks on the beach were spotted with vendors, a polite "no thank you" was typically sufficient to keep moving. Definitely recommend doing the snorkel tour with Desmond and crew!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skitt003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at rondel village on our second week of our honeymoon, fabulous staff, great food - the best cocktails especially the Delroy Special - Negril was fun with lots of water sports or sailing trips to the caves & Ritz Cafe. Also great for lovely rest on the beach fabulous.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and i stopped here last year for a few days and we loved it, the place was very clean the location was fanstastic for the nightclub that is in Negril , it is right next door.

We had the room that was not on the beach front but over the road, and we loved it, i am hoping to stay there again, just a fantastic little place

Room Tip: the ground floor room over the road from the beach was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhamblett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.5 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#17 of 80 in Negril
668 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bourbon Beach Hotel
Bourbon Beach Hotel
#46 of 80 in Negril
116 reviews
1.9 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#9 of 80 in Negril
1,162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Home Sweet Home Resort
Home Sweet Home Resort
#31 of 80 in Negril
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rondel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondel Village

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Negril
#17 Spa Hotel in Negril
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#27 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £71 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rondel Village 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rondel Village is an exclusive beachfront resort on Negril's beautiful seven mile beach. This unique property offers privacy and tranquility in spacious, elegant accommodations, amidst lush tropical gardens. An enchanting paradise where service is personalized and the surroundings are comfortable and relaxing. Rondel Village has 56 rooms each named after individual Jamaican fruits. We have an Environmental Management System and our goals are to enhance the Environment and help to secure the long-term sustainability of the Tourism Industry and our Citizens. A prototype of indigenous Negril Architecture. Spacious, octagonal shaped beach villas with kitchens and private whirlpool spas. Beachfront and superior rooms on the beachside, garden rooms adjacent to the swimming pool and jacuzzi across the street from the beach. Services include Rondel Restaurant & Bar and The Village Spa, our full service spa and salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rondel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rondel Village Negril
Rondel Village Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing