We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”
Review of Rondel Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rondel Village
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 26 December 2008

Just needed a quick getaway before the holidays, so me and my friend booked in advance (August) for a great price. Upon arriving at the hotel we were a bit disappointed that we were not on the beach side, however, we ended up enjoying the garden side more than we thought we would. Due to it being low season, we practically had the pool and jacuzzi to ourselves. We stayed in the Grapefruit room, which had the feel of a pool house and was less than 5 feet from the pool. The room was clean and had everything we needed for our 4 night stay. The only downside was that there was not a coffee maker in the room. We didn't have much interaction with the staff but when we did they were very friendly. RV is in a very convenient location, a little over 1 mile to the 'turn about' in the downtown area; pedicure $10, Jamaican patties, $1.50, gift shops and the grocery store. I found the prices in the grocery store and the shops much cheaper than Duty-Free at the airport.

But let me tell you that the best part of the trip started when our driver, Everton, picked us up at MoBay airport, which we arranged through the hotel in advance. He is a great resource and can give you a REAL Negril tour (876) 425-9158.

Both my friend and myself have travelled extensively throughout the caribbean, this was one of the best ones ever. Bypass the all-inclusive and enjoy the 'local flow.'

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — No Coffee Maker
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adm0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    173
    46
    15
    14
See reviews for
122
185
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princess290441
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

We rented a 2 bedroom villa with a kitchen, the day after we arrived we where greeted with a house maid that insisted that we count all the plates,cups, pots, and silverware in the kitchen. Then she proceeded to clean the room and inform us that we where missing a towel and did we know where it was! I felt as though we where being treated as if we where going to steal the stuff. The beach area also is not very big and kinda makes you feel cramped. I recommend not staying here but if you stay anywhere pay for one night and see if you like it before you give them your money because they do not refund you money!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Princess290441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2008

I was really pleasantly surprised upon our arrival to Rondel Village. Our accommodations in Montego Bay were acceptable enough, but RV is really nice. Make sure you are on the ocean side, and not the garden side, though. I didn’t go to the garden side, but it looked a bit run down, and it’s across the street from the beach. The rooms are like big condos of multiple rooms in one building, and there are like 7-8 buildings. I went with a group of 7 people, so we had the bottom floor which is a kitchen (fridge, stove, microwave, toaster, sink, all utensils) a living room area, a bathroom with shower, a bedroom with two double beds, another full bathroom and a private Jacuzzi. Upstairs were our other two bedrooms, one with one bed, and one with two. They both had a full bathroom, private entrance and a large balcony. My only complaint is that the shower water pressure kind of sucked, but other than that, everything was new and clean and very nice. The even put fresh flowers in the room. The maid was awesome (be sure to tip!). They even clean your dishes, and will cook you one meal a day if you let them know and buy the food.

The beach is nice. There are hustlers, but its not THAT bad. There is a security guard at all times. He also will give you towels or water noodles/ rafts and beach chairs. The restaurant is pretty reasonable and has good food (not great though). Cheap coffee and the cheapest red stripe on the 7 mile beach (100 jays, about $1.30). The jerk joint next door rocks, too. Its about $5 for a whole meal.

When getting a taxi, ask the security guard out front to flag one down for you.

Also I recommend going to the supermarket, the HI-LO to get snacks, etc, especially since you have a full kitchen. Plus it’s cool to see how the locals shop and eat. They have a lot of American brands, but also great Jamaican stuff, including the cheapest coffee – don’t buy it at gift shops!

I would stay at Rondel Village again in a heart beat.

  • Liked — the rooms and proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — not a private beach
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krispix84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

My girlfriends and I; "The Ladies of Leasure" arrived in Montego Bay on a rainy Holloween afternoon/ Oct 31. Our regular driver picked us up and then we were off the one of the best places that I have ever stayed in. This was our first time at Rondel Village, we were really amazed that the pictures in the brochures represented a true picture of what Rondell Village really looks like. Sometime you get disappointed, however we were not. All the villas are named for a fruit; we checked into the "Cherry" villa, living room, fully equ'ed kitchen, two bdrms, three baths, and our own Juccuzi spa . This place was really nice. We met our housekeeper/cook. We worked out the menu for the next few days, went to the market and from that point on we had some of the best Jamacian food we've ever had. We made arrangements for our house keeper to fix two meals a day, breakfast and dinner.
The swimming pool was just a few steps from our front door and the beach was just beyond that. The beach was great, and ofcourse you will encounter beach vendors, that how they make their living. If you don't want it, just say no.
Jamacian night life is a shor distance away, you can walk to the "Jungle" night club, Alfred's and Roots Bambo two "beach party" clubs. This vacation was so great, we extended our stay, our checkout was Nov 5, we did not leave until Nov 8.
The only downer was the overcast skies and the rain we had to deal with. However rain in Jamaica is liquid sunshine. This was not my first time in Negril and I will assure it will not be my last. We are already checking into Rondel Village for our "Ladies of Leasure" vacation next year. Office staff professional, the housekeeper/cooks are the best, groundkeepers are good and great security. We highly recommend Rondel Village.

  • Liked — Location, staff, Jaccuzi in the villa etc
  • Disliked — does not apply
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LadiesOfLeasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonville, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Arrived at Rondel Village on the heels of Hurricane Fay. The only problems were; I did not get the room that I requested and the beach was half gone from the waves. Hotel was in top condition, Irie on the Beach resturant was outstanding as usual. The security is impeccable on and off of the beach, same security men as in January. Rooms are spotless, beds feel new. Very clean.

Booked an in room massage, it was wonderful. Ask the front desk and they shall deliver.

By the end of the week the beach was coming back, as was the next hurricane.

  • Liked — The ambiance and people
  • Disliked — having to go home
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank topwaterjig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans,La.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

my daughter found ronel in 2007 when we couldn't take our group annual jamaica all inclusive to Mo bay trip due to hurrican katina.The price,comfort couldn't be matched. June 2008 we brought the group. upgraded to a villa with aliving room and jaccuzi in our room. Staff was very accomadating to our group of 13 people Management even gave each room a beautiful welcome basket.We stayed 3days and went to our usual mo bay resort for 4 remaining days. most of the group asked could they leave and go back to Rondel. Rondel 's rooms are clean ,large. you can walk up and down the beach and enjoy the local food,and people.The group will return in June 2009.

  • Liked — beach, massages on beach ,riding jet skies jacuzzi in room
  • Disliked — on site resturant portions
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ackiesgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

we stayed at rondel village for 5 nights 9/17-9/22.
we rented the beachfront villa called ortanique.. this was my first beach stay not going all inclusve and it was very interesting but alot of work in my opinion...I dont think we will do that again in Jamaica.. anyway the property is in a very good location, the balcony we had was great and we hung out on alot throughout the day or night - it was fantastic and the view from this villa was truly great ... The price was reasonable...

as far as the room goes - there was a large sized living area with 1/2 bath and then a seperate bedroom with couch and full bath with another doorway leading out to your private hot tub which was a nice feature...- the beds were so so for comfort but then again nothing is ever as good as your bed at home, the a/c was cold and the creature comforts were good ( fridge, coffee maker, etc etc).. I admit it was nice to be right on the beach with the villa right there to go run back to if you wanted or needed something....
The property was well maintaned but its old and I dont do old that great... the staff was professional and eager to help and or be at your service... security did a good job for the most part....
this is the off season but still there was nothing going on at all at the restaurant -- they are repairing and building a new bar area -- I am thinking ot could be done very soon as they were working on it daily..the old one was destroyed in the last hurricane they had last month
we did not eat anything formt he restaurant except the jerk chicken pizza and it was good but not very big (14 bucks US and the size of a dominos medium 5 dollar pizza)

If you are looking for a moderate property in a good location and dont mind many extras or a non inclsuive environment with a small pool then this could be the place for you -- in my opinion the only rooms I woudl stay in there are the ones directly on the beach... Families like this place because the villas are spacious and can have many bedrooms (up to 3 - I beleive) they are diligent about maintaining this property and everyone was very nice...
Happy travels.....

  • Liked — location/view from our room
  • Disliked — older more budget property
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneLove4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.4 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
1.9 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#39 of 81 in Negril
227 reviews
1.5 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 81 in Negril
1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rondel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondel Village

Property: Rondel Village
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Negril
#17 Spa Hotel in Negril
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#27 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rondel Village 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rondel Village is an exclusive beachfront resort on Negril's beautiful seven mile beach. This unique property offers privacy and tranquility in spacious, elegant accommodations, amidst lush tropical gardens. An enchanting paradise where service is personalized and the surroundings are comfortable and relaxing. Rondel Village has 56 rooms each named after individual Jamaican fruits. We have an Environmental Management System and our goals are to enhance the Environment and help to secure the long-term sustainability of the Tourism Industry and our Citizens. A prototype of indigenous Negril Architecture. Spacious, octagonal shaped beach villas with kitchens and private whirlpool spas. Beachfront and superior rooms on the beachside, garden rooms adjacent to the swimming pool and jacuzzi across the street from the beach. Services include Rondel Restaurant & Bar and The Village Spa, our full service spa and salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rondel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rondel Village Negril
Rondel Village Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing