We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back and comfortable stay”
Review of Yard Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yard Beach House
Ranked #12 of 46 Negril B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I got a Groupon for the Sea Splash for three nights. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a suite for no extra charge. The check in staff was very nice and helpful. The room was great especially for the price. It had a kitchenette with a full size fridge, king size bed, large closet, and a patio right across from the pool. The beach is perfect and there are two umbrellas already set up, first come first serve. There are additional loungers for guests' use but we were told the hotel had no extra umbrellas. Red Stripe was $2 which was great compared to other bars' prices. Definitely try the bar, great bartenders! The only two things that kept me from giving it a 5-star rating: the food and lack of internet service in the room. Stay away from the restaurant, the food is expensive and bad. As far as internet, it was only available in the lobby area. Hopefully that's something that will change in the future.
I would return to this hotel without any doubts. It is clean, well maintained, and most of the staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed 6 night and at Sea Splash Negril.I will admit my first take on this hotel was ,is this going to be a bad experience or a good one!It didn't take long before I got my answer! Sea Splash was better than I expected.Loved my ground floor room and the beautiful lush green plants surround it.Housekeepers were 100% kind and thoughtful always a bright gorgeous smile everyday.Never a problem running out of bathroom towels or beach towels for the beach.Norma's Restaurant is also a big added plus for Sea Splash Negril.Their jerk chicken and fries on the day of my arrival scored big time with me the remainder of my stay.I would without a doubt love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Enjoyed staying on the ground floor room better.Excellent lush gardens surrounded my room and window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed 6 nights here in July 2013.
It was fine, the staff are ok, not overtly friendly, but I think jamaican service is generally kind of chilled, but they could have been a bit nicer.
Norma's restaurant was not good. Breakfast was a joke, vegitarian option was the worst pasta ive eaten in my life.
The room was fine, a bit dark.
But if your looking for somewhere on a good part of Negril beach with a nice hang out area on the resort then this is perfect. And its not too expensive. My ownly real issue was the food. And the prices of drinks changed each day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuileEile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Will never stay at this hotel again. Just horrible. Nothing worked in the room. The toilet didn't flush, The a/c did not work. The rooms are rundown and in desperate need of renovation. I was there Memorial Day weekend with friends and one couple left to stay at another hotel while the rest of us just suffered. Do not waste your money this is not a resort. More like a dump.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Witfame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Overall, I enjoyed my time (3 nights)at Sea Splash in spite of the hiccups. I will say first the service is phenomenonal! They go out of their way to accommodate you. Shaneek was exceptional! Always pleasant. Marley was a gem, he offered me a ride into town. Both of them went above and beyond consistently.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Najat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have been here once before, this time we booked direct and got a really Good deal, it is just about the Best spot on Negril Beach, there have been some not so nice reviews but it is a long story so I will keep it short, Yes it was a Fab hotel a few years ago, but after a change in Management things started to slip just a bit, I am Happy to report that it has come back under the Direct control of the Owners, and is on the way back to being Great once again, hence the refurbish, some people have complained about some of the rooms, fair comment, But you can not then moan, if they then try to put things Right, also there are two types of people who go to Negril, All Inclusive, and the People really in the know who go for the Real Jamaica ! nothing wrong with all inclusive, if you have money to Burn, and you do get Prompt service for food etc, But when you do the Maths it usually is a better deal to sort it out yourself, and if you have ever spent circa 11 hours on a plane (bad weather etc ) you do Not want to be in a Bucket seat, also if you go to one of the smaller hotels, you get to meet the Real People, as the all ins tend to try and keep you on the Reservation, in case you find just how friendly People are, and how Cheap it can be to be on the same beach, and see the same Sunset, OK so some people are a little intimidated by the Beach sellers, but really if you are Polite they will leave you alone, and after all they are only trying to make a Living, don't forget there are No Hand outs in Jamaica ! getting around is quite Easy always ask for a Route Taxi, you will have to share But the price is Really cheap, ask at the Front desk and they will tell you the going rate, but if you are a bit shy, You can always go for a Charter, again ask at your front desk, and remember Always haggle a bit, I have stayed at several different small hotels over the years, But Seasplash is by far the Best, Good food, Nice staff, Nice rooms a stones throw from the beach, and almost in the middle of Negril, so guess what I will be going back there again One day !

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMcKeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I'm late writing this but returned from Seasplash 12/12. Having stayed in Negril many of times...It was ok. Lets just say it was my least favorite. Rocky start but got better. Check in...We were informed they had run out of locks for the room safe and were unable to get more for a day or so. Yes they were still using old school lock/key safe. Anyway...This meant I was to hold my passport and all of my cash on me until a lock could be provided? I requested to transfer to another hotel. Wouldn't you know a new lock appeared w/in an hour. I am usually a guest of Co Co La Palm or Tree house, just wanted something new. I heard the had turned over management so a lot of renovations going on while I was there. Which can be a little annoying. The air con vents were super super dirty which led to being sick all week. However, the room was always clean. I am not the type to complain but rooms/hotel needs TLC. I guess the renovations will help but just stinks to have them going on while staying there. Good thing they have some great specials/rates going on. The food is ok not bad just ok. I usually eat roadside so for the $ better food down the beach or in the cliffs if you want a sit down. On the upside the staff from the bar, lobby, and housekeeping were all wonderful. They would maybe get me to come back and give it another go. This hotel has a lot of repeat guests, I guess it's all a matter of preference. I would not book this for young children. Headed back in November 11/13, not to Seasplash, I will check on progress.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DKD d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.3 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 80 in Negril
527 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
674 reviews
3.3 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Club
Beachcomber Club
#50 of 80 in Negril
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#9 of 80 in Negril
1,171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#39 of 80 in Negril
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yard Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yard Beach House

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Sea Splash Resort)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range: £83 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yard Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership this boutique resort is on the white sands of Negril 7 Mile Beach. The renewed atmosphere of Yard Beach House aims to cater to a service demanding clientele, people looking for good premium brand drinks with the service that they should expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yard Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasplash Negril Hotel Negril
Seasplash Hotel Negril
Seasplash Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing