We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place is closed”
Review of Royal Palm Reserve

Royal Palm Reserve
Ranked #35 of 58 things to do in Negril
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two-mile stretch of swampland, part of the Great Morass.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“this place is closed”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

While I've heard wonderful things about this place, and I really wanted to go and see it, it apparently had been closed for well over a year now... a pity indeed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luna-14_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    29
    13
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Royal Palm Reserve Visit - April 2014”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We hired a taxi from the Negril beach area, which took about 30 minutes each way. Although officially closed we were able to negotiate a $10 entrance fee and one of the people working there took us around. It is a lovely place with all sorts of interesting birds and flora. Well worth a trip, especially now when there is nobody around. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave us lots of detailed information.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ExpatzCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“"closed" but you can go there”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

No crocks, fish, birds, wood walkway gets you into the wet lands of the Negril area. We used Juju tours and a great trip up the Negril river to get there. Be ready to walk, take a bottle of water as there is none to buy there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank WmM903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This reserve is "closed" officially but to make it clear it is definitely open to those who wish to visit. The security guard took on us on a lovely tour acting as a very knowledgeable guide. He was very nice and we could have chatted to him all day.

It looks ancient and untouched like the Jurassic park movie. Beautiful, nature, colours and birds to appreciate.

It would be a shame if this place did not reopen to what it once was. We think the government should officially reinvest and reopen the reserve so that more people can appreciate it.

Lena and Richard

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place for bird watching.”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hired "Angel's Tour" taxi for a fully-escorted trip to Royal Palm Reserve. From the Grand Lido Resort, the total trip was about 3 hours. We stayed at the Royal Palm Reserve for 1½ hours. You can contact Angel at 876 426 7188

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Palm Reserve also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Royal Palm Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing