We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CocoLaPalm Has Changed with the Times; Longtimers Haven't!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
CocoLaPalm Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“CocoLaPalm Has Changed with the Times; Longtimers Haven't!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

What we did not know about CocoLaPalm is that it has a strong following from "back then" - visitors who return year after year; mainly Minnesotans and Midwesterners. Now before I get wacked, I am a midwesterner; grew up in Iowa and have family that live in MN. Midwesteners are good people. But more on that later. And for good reason. The hotel property has been beautifully maintained, staff friendliness is outstanding, and it's clear the owners have tried to stay up with the times. However, the long standing returnees can become a bit much and can be very loud. It's definitely a clique with its own tribal customs. Smoking is one of those customs. It's been a long while that I have seen so many Americans smoking in one place. I don't mind who chooses to smoke, but on the beach it begins to become difficult to escape smokers. Sure you can move after you have settled into a shady spot, but most likely that will be into the sun.

The breakfast was a delight every morning; the dinner menu is fine and somewhat pricey but lots of other dining options are available and I would recommend checking those out.

I also would recommend booking a deluxe room for not much more $ as the standard rooms (which we were in for most of our stay) can be a tad dark and not as comfortable. Not a huge problem as we were also out and about. Also, if the room is not acceptable (of which there were a few of those rooms by the road and also by a generator) the staff is extraordinary in accommodating request to be more comfortable.

If you like a beautiful beach this is as good a place as any.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BriaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    406
    88
    29
    16
See reviews for
169
514
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

If you understand Negril, this is a great place to stay. Great location, nice property, great time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowdog35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We just returned from a week at CocoLaPalm in Negril. We had a fantastic time. The resort is relatively small (75 rooms) and very, very friendly. The staff never passes you by without a kind word. We chose a "Deluxe" Room and it was near the pool and 30 seconds from the beach which was a perfect location! The room as very nice and clean --It had a king bed, refrigerator, table, etc. -- All we needed. The Air conditioning is great. We had heard some resorts don't have screens but be assured CocoLaPalm does. We will definitely return to this resort!
We had so much fun exploring different restaurants and trying local foods. Jerk Chicken across the street at "Best of the West" is great. Or, if you want to explore the west end try it at 3 Dives--more spicy but really good. Also found the next door restaurants -- Sun Beach and Idle Awhile--had very good food. My husband had Snapper at both places and it was super. Idle Awhile's serving was smaller than Sun Beach but both were good. Prices were all in the $15.00 range at the local places, except for daGeno's. daGeno's is an Italian Restaurant at Mariposa Resort a short distance west of CocoLaPalm. We had Lobster Linguini for about $22.00 and it was great.
We took a cab (about $25.00 round trip) to the West end one night. We were dropped off at Ivan's and had a couple of beers there. It is a fun place to go. We opted not to eat at Catch a Falling Star as the prices are quite high. However, it is a neat place and would recommend at least stopping there. I heard the food is very good. From Ivan's we walked to Rick's for a beer (another cool place but were told the food is average at best) and then to LTU. The only problem at the West end is that the streets are very narrow so walking from one place to the other can be a bit challenging. We chose to take a cab back to 3 Dives, where we ate supper.
Breakfasts at CocoLaPalm are a great deal and very, very good! My husband had the local dish, Ackee and Saltfish, two times and really enjoyed it. He also had the steamed snapper and really liked that also. They also have more american breakfasts which were really good also. All breakfasts are served with juice and coffee.
If you like Spinach be sure and try the Callaloo. It is a green leafy vegetable and really nummy!!
If you like Curry be warned that Jamaican Curry is not the same as Indian Curry---not in the least. It is okay, but not the usual curry.
One hint we were given there was to bring a small flashlight, which I would highly recommend. The beach is poorly lit, as are the beach restaurants so a flash light would have really been good to have.
If you choose to go to Negril and CocoLaPalm no doubt you will have a great time!!

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe or Higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CAC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Just returned from our 10th year in a row of staying at CoCoLaPalm Resort in Negril! As always..the resort was Fantastic as was the staff. I HIGHLY recommend this resort to everyone. Although not an all enclusive, it is the absolute best place for your money and the quality you will get for your dollar. Also, I highly recommend Dudley Warren's "Big Ship Tours" for any transportation needs while in Jamaica. We utilized his services to get from Montego Bay to Negril and back again when we left.He is hands down the BEST we have ever used. Punctual, courteous, reasonable and by far the cleanest transportation we have used. My wife and I were the only passengers on the mini bus and the trip took half the time the traditional Jamaican "Greyhound" takes and the were NO stops along the way. That is a huge plus when you fgure 1/2 your day is wasted getting to your resort in the traditional manner. Hats off to Big Ship and CoCoLaPalm for truely OUTSTANDING service!

Room Tip: All rooms are good...however if you can afford a suite or a deluxe room, they are definately worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Here's the thing...you go to Negril to cruise the beach, try different foods, check out bars, and visit with vendors. For these reasons, we chose CCLP. Modest but comfortable accomodations that we would only use for sleep and getting ready. We chose a standard room, and although they mentioned being near capacity, it did not seem crowded at all! Plenty of beach loungers, only a couple people at the pool at a time, and the restaurant never having a wait.

We were never bothered by bendors walking the beach as the security was great. The snack hut at CCLP was food too, and the wood carver here was good and his prices were very fair. All in all, I would stay here again for a no frills hotel with a prime beach location.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank callmej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Just returned from another great stay in Negril. Due to our last minute decision to go to Jamaica we had hard time finding rooms available at the regular places i stay. So we went with Coco since i have seen it before just by walking by i knew it was in a nice stretch of beach. We were pleasantly surprised with our room. There were three of us and they upgraded us to a junior suite room 226. Room was very spacious and very clean. We had two queen beds which worked out nice for the three of us. Nice big patio with table, chairs, two loungers and huge bathroom with nice double shower. I would stay here again if my others are not available. Only problem we had is with front gate security personnel. We came home late from night out on town and invited one of our friends up for drinks and they called every minute for an hour straight at 3am. We did not issue a complaint, we just left and went to my friends hotel where it was not a problem for having guests. Other than that, great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdub1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

This resort couldn't have been better. The room we stayed in (817) had a fridge, coffee maker, two beds (one king and one queen) and a huge bathroom with a shower and two sinks.
The resort has two pools and a hot tub. We only went in the family pool, the other pool is right on the beach. The hot tub is awesome, but it's way too hot! Went in the hot tub about 4 times and I couldn't stay in for more than 5 minutes each time.
There are two restaurants and the main one was really good. The beachside restaurant was more of a lunchtime snack bar. Stay away from the hot dogs-pretty nasty to a hot dog critic like myself. :)
The staff does an incredible job at their work and providing entertainment. We'll definately be back next winter!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheeseheadFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#37 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
2.9 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
3.8 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Property: CocoLaPalm Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CocoLaPalm Resort was established in 1994 and is the largest of the small hotels in Negril, Jamaica. We are a family resort located on a beautiful expanse of Negril's 7-Mile Beach, with non-motorized water sports, mouthwatering cuisine and exciting entertainments for the convenience of our guests. We invite you to come and claim your spot at CocoLaPalm, we'll keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing