We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CocoLaPalm Resort
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We just recently returned from our second stay at Cocolapalm. It was so nice to be remembered and welcomed by everyone. We stayed in our favorite room the Jr. Suite again. (We had a problem with the air conditioner in the first room and were moved to another one without a problem.) The staff at Coco is great and everyone took great care of us, from Patrice at the front desk to Shirley in the restaurant. I definitely can’t forget the security guards who made sure we weren’t bothered by the vendors unless we wanted to be. (Often times I did, especially if it was the patty man or the jerk pork man.)

Before this second trip, we actually thought about trying out another hotel, just because there so many on 7 mile to choose from. After our research, we ended up deciding to stay with Coco. For us, this is a great hotel and you can’t beat the small intimate feel, the location, the staff, and the price. We also like the fact that there is also a pool for the kids (there’s an adult only one as well.) My five year old actually learned how to swim this summer at the pool there!

We understand why Coco has repeat visitors, because that’s what we are now. We’re actually planning our third trip...

Room Tip: The Jr. Suite is perfect for a family of 4. Ask for 2 queen beds. Room comes with small fridge, sink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emerson37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    413
    88
    29
    16
See reviews for
171
525
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

First I would like to say that I enjoyed my stay at the coco la palm and would possibly stay there again because I know I will be safe, my room will be clean, and the price is worth everything you get. When we arrived we were greeted by some of the housekeeping staff with warm inviting smiles and welcomes, they made us feel like we were returning home, once inside the office, Patrice I believe her name is was just as friendly and inviting, our check in was fast and easy no surprises on rates deposits or charges check out was just as easy as well. The bell staff was great I tried to carry my own bag, and was advised that I was on vacation not workation lol, I thought that was nice and welcoming also. Once inside our room a jr. suite I belive, we were impressed with the huge size of it, there was so much space especially in the bathroom and shower. In the bathroom there was a built in chest where the safe is and the only problem with the room our entire stay was that teeny tiny ants were coming out of the corners of the huge chest and were in and around the safe as well. Instead of complaining we just sprayed some of our OFF deep woods in the corners every day and that pretty much took care of it. Most days we kept our do not disturb sign on the door but each day housekeeping left a bag of clean towels and wash clothes out side our door. Along with the courtesy police for negril that stay out on the beach and street 24 hours a day, Coco La Palm also has their own private security that stays on the property 24 hours a day as well so we felt safe no matter what time of the day it was. The only other problem we had besides the ants is the staff @ the coco bar and grill, particulary Michelle, let me just say this if you are african american and staying here you will be second class to the white guest on the resort, I wont get into details but just know this if you choose to stay here. Its ashame because every guest should be treated the same and as a priority no matter the color of there skin, age, and or sex. The water was beautiful, there will be hagglers every where you go, just say no thank you until you are ready to buy, some of them are slick and will try to give you something for free, tell you to enjoy it but if you take it will then ask for a tip, so I suggest dont take anything and only buy when you are ready and dont be rushed. We also snorkeled for 25 dollars per person which was great. Also, we didnt have travel booked so once we got to the airport that was arranged also for 50 per person roundtrip by JUTA tours, which going to negril provided a air conditioned bus, which was full to compacity, our driver made one stop to let us stretch our legs and buys soda or drink, dont be afraid. On the way back to the airport, we had a private driver George he was great you can ask for him I believe. If you are 35 and up hang out at roots bamboo for bar and live music, if you like a younger crowd bourbon beach and if its a weekend the Jungle, also downtown there is a club called American Pie which played like 90s r&b which was ok too, Venture out on the street mingle with the locals you will love Negril we did.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip4Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The best thing about Coco La Palm is the location. Beach front and proximity to town is well worth staying here. On the way to the hotel, we passed other resorts such as the RIU and Grand Palladium and these were quite a distance from town. In all actuality there was nothing around them. You have nothing in walking distance if you choose to stay at one of these other resorts. At Coco we could walk across the street and get a meal rather than eating at the resort if we wanted. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Donovan one of the waiters/bartenders who was exceptional. (please take care of him if you go). Also, didn't catch her name but the lady who does security at the front gate was very helpful in getting us taxi's and giving advice on places to go. The rooms at Coco are kept clean but don't expect them to be five star. The standard rooms are small so upgrade if you can. How much time are you planning on spending in the room anyway?!...Can't forget about Captain Kirk and his glass bottom boat. Great job! Use him if you plan a snorkeling excursion to the reef. He was very polite and not pushy like some of the others on the beach. We also took an excursion to the Black River and YS Falls through JTL tours which was great. All in all, Coco La Palm is a great place to stay and if you chose to stay here you too will find out why vacationers keep coming back. Enjoy your travels!

Room Tip: Upgrade your room if you can...standard rooms are a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duke01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Coco LaPalm was an overall great option!! Just keep an open mind and know you are not staying in a 5-star property! The beach is gorgeous, staff friendly, and the security staff (esp Gibson and Gordon) are especially great at keeping the vendors at bay and making you feel safe around the clock. That being said, be sure to try some local goods as they come by! Look for Norman the patty man on his bicycle with the cardboard box. His coco bread is wonderful! The property is well located and situated within walking distance of restaurants and stores. Be sure to cross the street to the Best in the West Jerk Chicken stand. Down the beach, the "Wild Thing" restaurant was good too!! The property is well maintained and clean. The pools were clean and nicely placed. Our particular room was fine for sleeping and air conditioning worked well. The bed was not very comfortable, but that didn't matter too much after a tiring day at the beach. The TV worked but would definitely recommend getting a remote (for $25 returnable deposit) as the buttons on the TV were unpredictable! Food at the restaurant was ok, but nothing to write home about. The continental breakfast included with the superior room consisted of breads, pastries, and fruit and coffee or tea. Good value and you could upgrade to a meal of your choice for just a little more. I agree with a previous review though that you may get annoyed with the wait time if you aren't on island time!

Other activities to consider are the Red Stripe Catamaran sunset cruise (they will come around to sell on the beach) and the One Love Bus Bar Crawl. The Bar Crawl was great because it was free, just pay for your drinks at the different bars (great hidden jems) and tip the driver at the end of the night. Negril is a great getaway, offers a beautiful beach scene, and provides a very local flair versus the big resort feeling. In order to enjoy, be sure to take on the native attitude: relax and don't take life or yourself too seriously! Definitely would stay again at Coco LaPalm!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kepachis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I booked a Jr. Suite through Onestop for July 15-21 for me and two of my girlfriends. Bob, Susan, and Derek are a great team, and were happy to answer many many questions for me before the trip. Most definitely book through them... We got a great summer deal, and had the added bonus of knowing our reservation and transfer would go smoothly.

The three of us arrived at the airport about an hour apart, but the OneStop representative pointed us to the bar, and kept any other drivers from bothering us while we enjoyed our first Red Stripe on the Island. Our driver Tulla was very entertaining, pointing out different towns and scenery along our drive to Negril. We requested beforehand to make a quick stop at the grocery store, which was no problem.

Check in was smooth, and I was especially glad to hear we would not have to switch rooms for our last night as we originally had thought. Small deposit for the TV remote, a few towel cards, breakfast vouchers, the one stop discount card and we were all set.

We stayed in Jr. Suite #316, which was even nicer than we anticipated. Very spacious, pretty wood ceiling and ceiling fan, air conditioner, mini-fridge, electronic safe, flat screen TV, huge bathroom with double shower heads, double sinks and big counter top. We also had a nice balcony with a table, chairs and lounge chair. Though it was set closer to the road, we were never bothered by noise and the grounds were kept beautifully. No, it's not state of the art, but we were more than pleased. Our housekeeper Erika was also prompt and very friendly, leaving us extra towels every day since there was a third person in our room (and sometimes a fresh flower she had picked near our pillows). The room was big, and even with three people, we didn't mind hanging out there for a couple afternoon hours while the rain cleared.

CoCo La Palm has the best beach, hands down. It has a lot of beach front (across and deep), and we were able to find shade under a grape tree every day. There is also a beach volley ball court right next to the bar. The continental breakfast included a basket of pastries and a couple slices of banana bread, which was included with our room (outside of tip of course). Most days, we upgraded to the full breakfast and only paid the difference between that and the continental breakfast-- which was around $6 when all was said and done. Delicious and affordable, there were several options but we loved the banana pancakes. Make sure when you book your reservation that the continental breakfast is included (it is if booked through OneStop).

We walked all the way up and down seven mile beach and easily agreed CoCo had the nicest beach front. Although there were two large pools (one of which is adult only), we mostly just enjoyed the ocean. Gibson the security guard did a great job keeping the beach clean and free of leaves, and also made sure our stuff stayed put while we swam. He was helpful when negotiating with vendors, as we asked him many times to call various people when we weren't sure where they were (to book the glass bottom boat and Red Stripe Cruise). There is also a craftsman/woodworker named Donovan on the CoCo beach, he will not bother you or try to pester you to buy anything. We looked at his table of pretty jewelry and wood statues many times, and all of us ended up buying something from him by the end of our trip. He sits quietly and makes the wood statues right on the beach which is neat to see, and I watched as he carved his initials in my little giraffe.

Monday night included a free cocktail hour, with free food and drinks. (Fruit, cheese, pretty little deserts, meat.... plenty to eat!) and Red Stripe, wine or rum punch. They had a live group of guitarists/singers, and we really enjoyed it despite the evening rain. The hotel also usually has a trivia night on Wednesdays, but it was cancelled on our week.

We didn't eat dinner at the hotel restaurant, mostly going to other places on the beach and up to the Cliffs several nights. We were picked up for free for dinner at Ivan's (and paid $5 pp to get back), which I believe is the same for Rockhouse. Our favorite meals were on the Cliffs at Ivan's, Rockhouse, and Xtabi, as well as a little place on the beach called the Wild Parrot, two properties down from CoCo. All delicious. Both Alfred's and The Jungle were a very short cab ride away-- we used Roger 876-412-4669 many times (he drives a taxi with red plates). He was always on time and waiting, and picked us up promptly after calling.

Overall, we loved our stay at CoCo La Palm and would definitely go back. We had a very relaxing vacation, and wouldn't have picked any place else. We enjoyed meeting the other guests, but the hotel was still small enough to not feel crowded or overwhelmed. Book the junior suite, which was worth every penny, and you will be happy and well on your way to a great vacation!

Many thanks to Onestop and all the staff at CoCo La Palm!

Jennifer Nelson

Room Tip: Book the junior suite, well worth the upgrade. We also heard the next level down was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

No it's not fancy pants like some spots on the beach. But it is just what you need. Clean, close to the beach, pool bar and resto . Not even ten minutes from the club . I definitely recommend

Room Tip: My room was poolside so I did get dirty looks from prudish American parents who disagreed with us sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mynameisntyours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The restaurant can make you cranky if you are not on island time and expect proper service. The employees seem a bit overworked, a few apathetic but I guess that is island time attitude. we preferred sandy haven for breakfast and the hotel amenities for snacks . Beach front is truly some of the best in our price category on the beach. we did have someone call the room and try to give a tip for someone to bring dry towels to the room. total scammers who seemed to be rampant in negril. i felt that i prepard my self and live in an urban environment but i was still a bit shocked at some of the stuff going down . overall a great vacation and cocolapalm was exactly what we expected and served its purpose. we were able to get free wi fi the whole time but very slow during peak times .

Room Tip: next time will get a room with a view of the caribbean 2 adults and 2 kids - loved the layout and...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lhr762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.0 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#36 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
2.9 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
3.8 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Property: CocoLaPalm Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CocoLaPalm Resort was established in 1994 and is the largest of the small hotels in Negril, Jamaica. We are a family resort located on a beautiful expanse of Negril's 7-Mile Beach, with non-motorized water sports, mouthwatering cuisine and exciting entertainments for the convenience of our guests. We invite you to come and claim your spot at CocoLaPalm, we'll keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing