We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CocoLaPalm Resort
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

it is like home away from home. like "Cheers" (where everybody knows your name"). we have been here a few times, and has never been disappointed with anything. Rooms are great, food off the chain and the people to die for. Everything is always perfect. Oh and don't forget the great parties. Love it. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raquel11236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

This was our 12th stay at Coco LaPalm. All I can say is there is no better place to stay in the world. It is the most laid back, clean, friendliest spot in Negril. Beach is the nicest. I could easily stay here every vacation the rest of my life and know that spot is the closest spot to heaven you can get. Love it! Cannot say enough good things. Very accommodating to every need. Love you all at Coco!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bowbow1jamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was our fifth stay at Coco and once again we enjoyed our stay. We always book a standard room and were fortunate enough to have gotten a room out front, instead of the backside of the hotel which faces the neighboring resort's kitchen and laundry facilities. If you get these rooms the view is non-existent and the noise can be a bit much especially first thing in the morning. We got room 821 which is out front and has a nice size and good balcony. We have found that standard rooms are larger and have better balconies than the upgraded rooms which surround the pool area. Some of these rooms don't even have a covered balcony. Standard is the way to go unless you can afford an upstairs room or beachfront. The bed was very comfortable and the housekeeping staff did a great job. The rooms were always cleaned at a decent time and they always made sure there were clean towels, etc.

The beach was fantastic as usual. Coco has the best beach in Negril in my opinion. Steve does a nice job taking care of the beach and sets up chairs with fresh towels most everyday. The security guards did an excellent job as well. The ocean is fantastic, warm and clear. The vendors on the beach can be a bit overwhelming at times, but can be entertaining and most of them have great products. I recommend the fresh juice, lobster, and fantastic beef patties and coco bread. The vendors that do however get annoying are the guys trying to get you to go parasailing or jet skiing.

The food at Coco is okay at best. Breakfast is the best meal and is a good deal given you can use the breakfast vouchers to discount the meal. Lunch at the beach bar was just okay and twice the chicken sandwiches had bones in them. We found that Idle Awhile next door had a good lunch menu and the food was great. Having stayed at Coco 5 times we knew that the dinners are not good. We did want to try dinner one time this year to see if the food had gotten any better and were sad to say that dinner was not good and pricey. This is such a shame as it would be so convenient to be able to stay on site for dinner. Not sure why the hotel has not done anything about the cook as it was always appears very slow and the dinner crowd small and other guests agree that dinner leaves a lot to be desired. We did find that Ciao on the Cliffs had great food, surprisingly Alfred's had great fish and chips, Norma's, Idle Awhile and Sheretta's all had good food. We did go to Cosmo's and were disappointed with their food this year.

If you prefer a more laid back resort this may be the right place for you. The rooms are nothing fancy but are clean. The beach is the best in Negril. The resort's two pools are refreshing and provide convenience whether you prefer to relax next to the ocean or lounge in the shade in the larger pool in the center of the resort.

Coco is a great little resort and for the price can't be beat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My wife and I recently spent five nights at CocoLaPalm, just returning on March 1st. We have visited Jamaica many other times, but had always stayed at an all inclusive. We have also been to many other places and I think are reasonable people without unrealistic expectations.

We stayed in a Junior Suite. The one thing that I would tell anyone that is potentially booking at CLP, is too make sure that you request a specific room or location. When we arrived, we were originally given unit #126. While not a terrible room, it was above the lobby with a lot of road noise and a view of nothing from the balcony.

When we asked to be moved to another location, we were originally rejected, but eventually were accommodated. As the hotel was busy, we had to move from one location to another. This was actually a pretty good chance to check out a couple of other rooms.

The second room we had was #236. This same Junior suite was much nicer than the first one and had a view of the pool (no road noise), with a very nice balcony. The third room that we had (unfortunately for only 1 day) was #426. This was the best room of all - with a beach view. All the prices for these junior suites were the same.

We both agree that we would stay here again. It is in a great spot on the beach, the staff is friendly and the rooms and grounds nice. The breakfast in the AM was slow, but who cares? You are looking over the beach.

The location cannot be beat and there are many great places nearby. Without kids, it is doubtful we would stay at an all inclusive in Negril again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah&Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We visited CCLP for the second time in 5 months last April 2012. Again we had a fabulous time. The beach was beautiful, staff amazing (especially Marie), room spacious and clean.

Because I arrived with a bad cold, we spent lot more time eating food from the hotel restaurant, instead of going to the local restaurants. Had the pumpkin soup 4 times, just amazing. Also on Saturday nights the fried chicken is the special, it is not to be missed. FYI if you want room service there is no extra charge, just tip the waiter. You place your order at the restaurant and tell them when you want it delivered. It will probably arrive about 15 minutes late..LOL

We stayed in a superior room, on the ground floor, which we found vary spacious, with a large bathroom and huge shower. It also included a fridge and wet bar.

The garden pool is a great place to just relax and the jacuzzi is surrounded by huge trees. A great place to wind down at the end of the day.

We are hoping to visit again this April and get out to enjoy the local fare which is amazing.

Room Tip: Though there are some beach front rooms, I like the rooms that face the garden pool. They are a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioTravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We are return customers it was our 8th time at Coco la palm. Our first time we stumbled across this hotel due to price & reviews. Last summer we were able to bring our 4 kids and traveled with friends their 2 kids. Our families had a wonderful time and the staff always treats us like family! We have already booked a return trip for this summer to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we talked about going to other Caribbean locations but we love Jamaica & Coco la palm :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melby709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Whenever we stay in Negril, we book at Coco La Palm and I've recommended it to family members who are also repeat guests. Staff is friendly, courteous and helpful - super staff - they make you feel welcomed. Best part of seven mile beach with soft powdery white sands. Excellent Jamaican breakfast enough to serve 2; continental breakfast is very good too - fresh baked banana bread, pastries, juice and coffee. Rooms are clean and well kept. It's not a high end property but has all the basic requirements and well worth the stay. I look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Junior suite is a huge room and own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChineseJamaican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
668 reviews
2.7 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
524 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £78 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CocoLaPalm Resort was established in 1994 and is the largest of the small hotels in Negril, Jamaica. We are a family resort located on a beautiful expanse of Negril's 7-Mile Beach, with non-motorized water sports, mouthwatering cuisine and exciting entertainments for the convenience of our guests. We invite you to come and claim your spot at CocoLaPalm, we'll keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing