We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again Will I Stay Here”
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CocoLaPalm Resort
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Temple Hills, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Again Will I Stay Here”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

My trip to Negril turned out to be a very uncomfortable last leg of my stay in Jamaica. My family and I stayed at a Villa in Montego Bay for 7 days and then stayed at the Coco LaPalm for the last 3 nights. Our accomodations were the 3 bedroom. First, we had to wait at least 1 1/2 to get out suite. The paint in the master bedroom closet was dripping off the wall. The pink paint was smudged on my suitcase and the smell was horrible. The smell was unbearable. There were holes in the ceiling. The kitchen looked spooky and old. We decided to stay on the beach as long as we could so that when we returned to the room we will drop off to sleep without thinking about the horrible condition of the suite. We just could not do it, we went to the front desk to ask for another suite. The front desk clerk was very helpful and tried her best to get us the best rooms they had available. We ended up with 2 rooms, one that ajoined and one single room. The room that I occupied the toilet overflowed and would not stop running. My boyfriend had to shut the water off in order to stop the flooding. Maintenance came to fix the problem so all was well again. Overall this property is in need of a major renovation.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamaicamecrazy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    421
    88
    29
    16
See reviews for
174
534
50
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We stayed at Coco La Palms end of September-October and had a great time.

The rooms are comfortable although a little dated but hey with the hotel being right in the middle of the amazing 7 mile beach you will not be spending much time in your room anyway!

Breakfast tasted great with lots to choose from but dinner was well over priced for the quality of the food. We found a great little place called Sweet Spice tucked away from the touristy area of Negril with really good food and great prices too.

Overall we had a great time and will certainly be paying a visit to Coco La Palm next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicky25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williston, North Dakota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Its not "all inclusive" and its not a 5 star, but the restaurant has great food, and you can walk down the sandy beach a little ways and find more good places to eat with all the Jamaican atmosphere and friendliness that the "All Inclusives" dont have. Great beach, with a fun mix of people. Its owned by a Minnesota family, but you still feel the Jamaican touch - they also keep property up nicely. The rooms aren't the "Grand Lido", but seriously - how much time do you spend in your room?....the beds are comfortable, air conditioners work, big bathroom, 2 pools, beach bar, restaurant that serves blue mountain coffee (add the sweet cream) & banana bread....We sometimes stay at the Lido or the Riu, depending on rates...but we have no problem staying at Coco La Palm..they also have some great beach-front rooms.

Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Coco la Palm boasts some of the best beachfront on Negril Beach in Jamaica. The staff makes you feel like part of a larger community and the Junior Ocean View Suites with octagon ceilings or Beach Front rooms are the way to go as is traveling off season. The rooms are clean but could use a bit of updating in decor. The hotel restaurant makes a great banana bread for breakfast but is not our favorite for dinner. Rooms really vary so use their website to check them out or call them before booking. Jerk chicken at their beach hut and a Red Stripe...All you need is at the beach!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW ORLEANS
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We got married at Coco Lapalm. It was beautiful. Its on the best part of the white sandy beach. Very laid back, relaxing, and low key. Staff was very accomodating. Made my day special! We were looking for a place to get married in JA and settled on CoCo Lapalm. I'm glad we did because the other hotels didn't seem nearly as intimate. We felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. We had the honeymoon suite. LUV the tub! I have some incredible memories that wouldn't have been quite as nice at another hotel. Sure its not Sandals or RIU, but if you are looking for laid back, boutiqish type hotel on the beach. This is the place to go. Beautiful gardens very kept up. And the Best is the West across the street has the best jerk chicken in Negril! Just don't eat it in your wedding dress ;)

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolanmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We spent a week at the Coco La Palm in Negril this past july and enjoyed the hospitality and location of a great jamaican hotel. We stayed in the old honeymoon suite above the bar area with a great view of the water from the balcony. the room was spotless and had a great ceiling. besides the tapesties being a little dated it was large, roomy and had a fridge, sink, and coffee maker.

the people at the coco are wonderful, everyone we met on the grounds and at the bar/restaurant was so kind, helpful and genuine. it was great to be at the coco because it has everything you need but is not an all inclusive so you are free to roam around and have experiences outside your hotel-- a must!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lil_sayrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA - USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I've stayed at several properties in Negril. Coco La Palm was great! The two pools, jacuzzi, beach and Jamaican breakfasts were great!! I received the complimentary continental breakfast, but upgraded each morning to the Jamaican breakfast options. The breakfast food was amazing and worth the value! There is an excellent jerk shack across the street, which was extremely convenient and yummy for a low-budget meal late at night. Nothing like a cold Red Stripe and jerk chicken. The shower was huge with EXCELLENT water pressure, which was a nice treat! I loved the almond, sea grape, breadfruit and ackee trees on the property. The gardens were well kept and lush. The service was excellent as all staff members were very friendly and customer service oriented, which isn't always the case in Jamaica. I would definitely stay at Coco La Palm again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzanneS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.0 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#17 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#36 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
2.9 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,254 reviews
3.8 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Property: CocoLaPalm Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CocoLaPalm Resort was established in 1994 and is the largest of the small hotels in Negril, Jamaica. We are a family resort located on a beautiful expanse of Negril's 7-Mile Beach, with non-motorized water sports, mouthwatering cuisine and exciting entertainments for the convenience of our guests. We invite you to come and claim your spot at CocoLaPalm, we'll keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing