We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip, great location and great room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
CocoLaPalm Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
terre haute, in
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great trip, great location and great room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed at the Coco LaPalm for a couple of nights prior to heading to a all-inclusive resort. We booked the honeymoon suite as it was our 15th wedding anniversary trip. The room was wonderful and everything we expected. My wife loved the huge bathroom with shower and jacuzzi tub and huge walk in closet. The room was well decorated, very clean and comfortable. The balcony overlooking the beach was a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the great weather. Grounds were well kept and beautiful. Vendors walked the beach but were not pushy. Food was good in the on-site restaurant. We did find the drinks were half the price next door at For Real so we would get our drinks there. Great vacation and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamaicabnd00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    406
    88
    29
    16
See reviews for
170
515
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

The only positive thing is the beach front location, best in Jamaica.
We reserved a deluxe room, but there was nothing deluxe about the room nor the garden view. I had to clean the spider webs and move the ants off the table daily.
The bathroom had an awful sewage smell from poor ventiation. The room needs to be updated to be more modern and competitive. There was no wireless internet despite being told they had it and despite 5 times request by me to fix the problem. Nothing was done by the staff nor the management. Nothing came of it, no call, no follow up, no customer service. Staff did not care, only smiled blankly.
We wanted to leave 1 nite earlier, still 3 nights left, but they wanted to charge us a penalty of 1 nite to leave. Never experienced this in the past and I spend about 4 months a year in hotel rooms.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Expat_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

Coco LaPalm was everything we wanted - close to the water, friendly, clean and close to everything else. We had 2 rooms (we have children age 20 & 18) and it was about 30 seconds to the beach. Housekeeping we great and everyone was very attentive. The beach was well kept and we had our own security guard who watched over the peddlers trying to sell us their wares. It was very comforting. We would absolutely go back!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nenglebret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, MO.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

I went to Coco La Palm for Halloween 2009 week & had a blast!
They had great specials for repeat guests, activities for guests Wed. thru Sat. culminating in a fabulous fun Halloween party with a Jamaican feast that was Awesome! The Coco staff went out of their way to try & include all guests in the variety of activites; I think everyone that participated or just viewed Coco guests had a fun time.
I planned for a week of relaxation with a friend & we ended up joining in water balloon games, beer drinking contest, HOT patty eating contest, sand art sculpture, ladder golf, coconut boccee ball & got dressed up for Halloween. I will definitely return for this event next year since it's a great place to celebrate my favorite holiday.

Regarding thefts at Coco, all the safes have been replaced with new electronic coded safes. I had shoes stolen off my patio before but I had a beach front room so it could have been anyone (local, staff or guest) so I no longer leave sandy shoes outside. I left my expensive camera out in my room & was never touched except to be cleaned around. Coco maids are phenomenal; friendly good hard workers & they earned their tip. I'm happy to say nothing was stolen nor did I hear of anyone having that issue there, maybe the new safes resolved the problem?

Coco has redone both of their pools with beautiful tile inlays of Coco La Palm insignia. The irridescent tiles glisten in the sun & newly surfaced pools are great. Coco added a gazebo in the gardens & waterfall in the entrance which masked the road noise in their huge Hot Tub situated behind in the gardens. Sitting in the hot tub late at night listening to tree frogs & gazing at the stars is awesome. They got a new electronic thermostat which resolves the TOO Hot water sometimes. Coco continues to improve & we both had the best time there! I will certainly return to see old friends & make new ones...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JA-Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

We love the cliff road in Negril but decided to split our trip between the ciffs and the beach. We spent the first 3 days at CLP. We chose CLP because it was a reat deal coupled with airfare through WorryFree.
There is nothing wrong with CLP; it's a spacious resort, the room was large and clean. We had no security issues. The beach and swim area were wonderful and the pools was very nice. The grounds were well tended. The staff was very accomodating. We used the restaurant but not the bar. We spent time at the bars at Sunbeach and For Real (next door). We used the restaurant for breakfast and for one dinner and it was just fine. The addition of about 6 cats underfoot while eating was a bit much and past the point of charming.
The place was well decked out for Christmas with a great light display but the additional light watered down our star gazing .
Anyway, nothing much to dislike here; a good middle of the road with not a lot of Jamaican flair. Mikey's Grocery and Best of West are just across the street; good people at both locations!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lidobraco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

We have been to Negril several times and usually stay in the smaller places, e.g., Kuyaba, Sea Splash, Mariposa, and decided to try Coco LaPalm this time because of a good deal on Cheap Caribbean. We were very happy with our room; it was extremely clean and well laid out with lots of storage space. We did have a room that connected to another and it was a bit noisy one night for awhile but other than that it was very relaxing. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to accommodate your needs. We will definitely consider staying at Coco LaPalm again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrendaCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

I took my fiance here for his birthday and because it was so reasonable we ended up with 20 of our friends going. CocoLaPalm was the perfect place. It had a great location and very comfortable rooms. I would definitely stay here again, we had a ball!

Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank BronxTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
2.9 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
3.8 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Property: CocoLaPalm Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CocoLaPalm Resort was established in 1994 and is the largest of the small hotels in Negril, Jamaica. We are a family resort located on a beautiful expanse of Negril's 7-Mile Beach, with non-motorized water sports, mouthwatering cuisine and exciting entertainments for the convenience of our guests. We invite you to come and claim your spot at CocoLaPalm, we'll keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing