We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better hotels on the blvd” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
CocoLaPalm Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“better hotels on the blvd”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

On a recent stay at this hotel I felt like I was trapped in 1970
The staff were unhelpful during my stay I think this hotel is in a wonderful location but need to be renevated

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zena_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    406
    88
    29
    16
See reviews for
169
514
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navesink, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

After a terrible time at a most unpleasant B&B in Maine (my charitable review of the place was answered with transparent lies by the innkeeper), we needed a relaxing vacation. We went to Jamaica on a whim and were very happy. We just returned from our second trip to CocoLaPalm this year. If possible, this trip was even lovelier than our first visit. We were greeted warmly by the staff, taken to our king suite, (a HUGE octagonal room with kitchen area, very large terrace with lounge chairs and an outdoor dining area and a large bath with double shower and sinks). Each day when we returned from the beach, our room was made up with fresh flowers on the pillows, just one of the welcoming touches. We made use of the two large swimming pools as well as the garden hot tub, but spent most of our time on the beach. Whether sitting under the almond trees watching the endless parade of 'beach people' or enjoying the warm, clear turquoise water, our relaxing week at CocoLaPalm went by much too quickly, and we are already planning to return during our winter break.

The restaurant was quite good, as usual, with friendly service and delicious food. Our only complaint was that the snack bar on the beach is exceedingly slow. Count on waiting at least 30 minutes for your order...even if you are the only customer. Time to slow down and enjoy 'island time'. Frankly, the food at the snack bar is not that enticing nor is it worth the wait as there is a wonderful 'chicken shack' BEST IN THE WEST, almost directly across the street. Great jerk chicken, lobster and more in an unpretentious roadside setting. There is also a tiny convenience store across the street.; a small pink house that stocks everything, literally, from soup (packaged powdered chicken noodle) to nuts (bags of peanuts). They have hot homemade patties, breads and packaged cakes, sodas, liquors, aspirin, ice cream, and virtually anything else that a visitor may want. The owner's small son is often there, watching the grownups playing dominoes and coloring in his one coloring book. He asked us to send him some new ones. We will do that, but any visitor to the area would be doing a sweet child a favor by bringing him some art supplies. The hotel is also directly across the street from a Catholic church.

Remember to tip well; these are hard-working people. There is a family of friendly cats who like to visit with the guests...they are adorable and quite well-behaved. Enjoy the sunsets, they are spectacular, as is all of Negril, Jamaica; truly the capital of casual relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Coco LaPalm was an absolute STEAL for the money! The price was so great that we upgraded to the Junior Deluxe Suite and it was more than we had hoped for! We were about 10 steps from the beach and practically in the center of Seven Mile Beach. There were natives that walked up and down the beach selling fresh fruit and lobsters, there are opportunities to horse back ride, jet ski, para sail, you name it, you can do it! Not to mention there is miles of beach to walk up and down that embody other restaurants, clubs, activities and anything else you may want to get involved in! I definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in Negril. As a matter of fact, I'm already planning my next trip there!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1nternational-Player
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

I've been to jamaica over 20 times, stayed at various hotels. I originally booked for another hotel that i'm used to, they could not accommodate me. No love lost, I had a wonderful stay at CLP. I must say, I was not disappointed, for the price, location, staff and the well kept rooms( i'm big on clean), it was well worth it. Security is great, you have access to the 7 mile beach, other restaurants and activities nearby. I stayed in the junior suite, very happy with the room. Remember, this is not a 5 star hotel, simple , but nice, it has more of a rustic feel. i would definitely recommend and return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lah1546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

After spending our honeymoon at CCLP 7 years ago and having a super time, my wife and I decided to return. Once again, it was absolutely wonderful and perhaps one of my favorite places, anywhere in the world, to spend a vacation ! We hated that we had to leave and return to reality. We upgraded to a beachfront in the new building and loved it. 20 yards from the ocean. The room was very clean. The staff are so sincerely friendly and gracious, and always a smile from them. They are there to help you in anyway possible. The morning breakfasts are very tasty and the beach grill is most accommodating. Marley's restaurant is good in the evenings when sand gravity has had it's way. It is quiet and the grounds are beautifully kept. We felt as secure there as in our own home. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguelito4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

I'd stayed at Cocolapalm 4 times previously, but it had been about 5 years since my last stay there. I'd ventured away only because of financial reasons, and no other. I've stayed at many places on the beach, such as: Country Country, Rondel, White Sands, Legends, Caribbean Sunset, Hedonism, Rooms on the Beach, and Grand Pineapple, so I have a broad experience of hotels in the area. Coco is in a great location. I was traveling solo and this was a wonderful choice for me. I felt safe and the staff was just so nice. I had booked a standard room. Because I am disabled, I spend more time in the room than the average traveler probably does, so the hotel I stay in weighs a little heavier than it used to. The standard room was in the long building closest to Idle Awhile. My room faced the garden side-room 821. It had a little covered veranda area with a table and two chairs. Inside the room, I had a king size bed with a colorful bedspread, an end table beside the bed, a table and two chairs, a loveseat, a small refrigerator, dresser, and safe. The bathroom had a walk-in tiled shower (no tub). The cost of the room came with continental breakfast, which I believe was $6.50 US. If you didn't want the continental breakfast, the money could be used towards something else on the breakfast menu and you'd be billed the difference. I was stuck on the ackee and saltfish :) It came with a boiled banana, two fried dumplins, yam, plantains, and sweet bread. It also included your choice of juice and coffee. It was very tasty!
Getting back to the room.....the air conditioning worked very well. It actually got too chilly and I had to turn it off at times. I am a person that likes my AC so saying it's too cool isn't normally in my vocabulary. There was also a ceiling fan. One of the things I really liked was there was an in room safe that was also INCLUDED in the price of the room. At most places, you always have to rent them, so I thought that was great! Also internet access, which again there is normally a charge for at other places, was available free to everyone on property. You'll just need to ask for an access code and password when you check in and they'll give it to you at the front desk. I had brought a netbook, which fit perfectly into the safe. When I checked in, they said the internet works best by the pool, but I had no problems picking up a signal from my room. The ladies that cleaned the rooms were also very friendly. The room was really spotless. In looking at the corners of the floor, on the window sills, or in places that would show dust, there was none. It was quite impressive. Even though it's a little more than some of the other hotels, it's well worth the price because of breakfast being included, a safe, and internet access. Plus the beach is wider there than a lot of other properties. The almond trees give good shade for those seeking breaks from the sun. I really can't say enough good about the place. I would recommend it for families or solo travelers.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sherryva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

This is my third stay at Cocolapalm from July 9-July 16.. The friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the rooms, location in the middle of the seven mile beach, not to mention you get more for your money says it all. I only stay in the junior suites which are very spacious with a huge balcony. Beach is very clean, clear and shallow with sun or shade. Food at the beach grill is very tasty. Security is great and management is very accomodating. If you have champagne taste and beer money, you will at least feel like you're getting good wine.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whisper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
2.9 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
3.8 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Property: CocoLaPalm Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CocoLaPalm Resort was established in 1994 and is the largest of the small hotels in Negril, Jamaica. We are a family resort located on a beautiful expanse of Negril's 7-Mile Beach, with non-motorized water sports, mouthwatering cuisine and exciting entertainments for the convenience of our guests. We invite you to come and claim your spot at CocoLaPalm, we'll keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing