We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot... its a lighthouse”
Review of Negril Lighthouse

Negril Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
US$90.00*
and up
Private Negril Tour From Montego Bay
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Private Negril Highlights Tour
More Info
US$135.00*
and up
Private Negril Highlights Tour from Montego Bay
Ranked #15 of 58 things to do in Negril
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This lighthouse, built in 1894, affords breathtaking views of the coast.
BC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice spot... its a lighthouse”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were already at Ricks so we went down to the lighthouse too. Its a nice spot on the point, but not much content. Apparently if you can find the lighthouse keeper he will take you to the top for a few bucks which would be fun, but we couldn't find him.
Probably not worth the long drive down from Negril unless you are already down that way.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jabo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    152
    124
    24
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Cache, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Truly a Jamaica Mon....”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Came by taxi from 7 Mile Beach to check out this famous landmark.... Well....Expected a lesson in history, instead met an ungroomed dude who looked like a drifter and appeared to be high on an unknown substance, and wanted to charge us a random amount for entry fee. We declined the tour, but did some cliff exploration and took pictures of the shoreline. Splendid landscape indeed, but why do the locals use the best spots on the rocks as their dumping grounds for dead washing machines, dated computers, fridges and - in big numbers - diapers???? Such a shame....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bogna1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Saw it from a distance”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very cool view from Rick's Cafe. We got some really cool pictures. We saw it all lit up when the sun went down. Didn't know you could go right up there. Maybe on my next visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“History Lesson and great view”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I made the climb and enjoyed hearing the history of the lighthouse including how the LIGHT technology has changed over time. The Keeper of the lighthouse was friendly and accommodating and the view, albeit a little scary to be so high was breath-taking... highly recommend taking time out to enjoy this historical piece of Negril.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Out of the way”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Not a lot of shade from the mid-day sun but worth it to see the diver jumping off the rocks and into the beautiful turquoise sea.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DandFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Negril Lighthouse also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Negril Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing