We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of a kind”
Review of Tensing Pen Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tensing Pen Resort
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“one of a kind”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

a wonderful hotel/resort with great service, very good food and a view not to be believed. the hosts were quite gracious, and our pillar room had a breathtaking room. after a sense-assaulting stay at a negril beach resort, tensing pen was just what was needed for full relaxation. no television or telephones, just a very comfortable room with a view that could not be beat. the pool was nice, and the cliff and bridge diving great fun. the water is beautiful, and the setting simply among the best we have experienced. we WILL go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    113
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
121
534
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

One of the most stunning locations one could ask for is what puts Tensing Pen as "the place to stay at in Negril". It is an absolutely gorgeous and well maintained property where you feel one with nature. The property blends in extremely well with the cliffs as well as the fauna and flora of the area and kudos to the owners/managers in ensuring the perfect blend between comfort and nature. The food at the restaurant is excellent and the staff is extremely courteous and friendly!
All in all, if we were to go back to Negril, there is absolutely no doubt that we would stay only at the Tensing Pen!!!!

Room Tip: Would definitely suggest a sea facing cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Where to start?? TP is a phenomenal unplugged getaway. The setting is pristine and stunning. The accomodations are made to complement the environment, not to shelter you from it. If you want max pampering and creature comforts, this is not your kind of place. There's no TV, little A/C, and minimal internet - which all make for a very relaxing stay.

The staff vibe is "laid back professional". Helpful, courteous, and friendly, they deliver top-notch service with a genuine smile. From the check in desk, to housekeeping, to the bar and restaurant, I could not offer a single point of improvement.

Excellent food, all made from scratch - the only thing average is the price. The continental breakfast is free; the lunch and dinner menus are very reasonable. I'm already plotting my next stay.

Shout out to Malcolm, Owen, and Sheldon!

Room Tip: Garden rooms have A/C - waterfront cabins do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Just returned from Jamaica and our stay at Tensing Pen in Negril. The driver the hotel had arranged was waiting for us, our check in was great. Had lunch while waiting for our cottage to be ready, saw dolphins from our table just swimming on by. We stayed in the Garden Studio, super cottage with great balcony overlooking the ocean. All the cottages looked great. Pool area was clean, beds were always available with towels. I think there was only 4 couples staying the whole week we were there, so it felt like you had the place to yourself. Hammocks were amazing for afternoon naps swaying in the ocean breeze. Cliffs and the ocean were beautiful. Lots of ladders for entry into the ocean, or you can jump from the cliffs or the bridge (which is a must do). Food was super, no complaints, French toast was awesome! Make sure you have a massage in their hut by the sea, (ask for Maxine). Sunsets were amazing at the resort, but only a few doors up is Ricks Cafe, which is a fun place to hang out for Sunset and to watch the cliff divers. We live on Grand Cayman, and so this was a short hop for us, and well worth it. Would definately return!

Room Tip: Cottages further away from the road would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We have stayed here before but could not get a room this time because it was booked up. We stayed next door at Catcha. We came over for 2 massages from Georgia and Maxine and they were awesome. I wish I could have them in the states. These ladies know how to give a massage. We do couples massage and love being by the sea while getting our massage.
We also went for dinner and the food is always excellent.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank goldhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgely, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The resort was absolutely beautiful. We were greeted with cold towels and beverages. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful with information regarding local activities and hotspots. The service was GREAT from the maids and the grounds keepers to the office staff and cooks/bartenders! The food was awesome and the view was AMAZING! The staff was very organized, prepared and helpful with the rehearsal, rehearsal dinner, wedding and reception. I will absolutely return and I have already recommend Tensing Pen to my friends, family and coworkers! I couldn’t thank them enough for hosting such a beautiful and memorable wedding!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I am not really a "resort" kind of person, but I was really impressed by Tensing Pen. The service was excellent, everyone was laid back and friendly, and the atmosphere was unbeatable. I really had a fun, relaxing time! I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
85.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#6 of 80 in Negril
683 reviews
6.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tensing Pen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tensing Pen Resort

Property: Tensing Pen Resort
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Negril
#6 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#9 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tensing Pen Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the West End of Negril, Jamaica in its own private cove, Tensing Pen is the ultimate destination for the discerning traveler offering a unique collection of beautiful hand-carved wood, thatch and cut stone cottages of varying sizes for the ultimate secluded and relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Tensing Pen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tensing Pen Hotel Negril
Tensing Pen Negril
Tensing Pen Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing