We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!”
Review of Tensing Pen Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tensing Pen Resort
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We absolutely loved everything about Tensing Pen! We stayed in the South Pillar and couldn't get enough of the view. We watched the dolphins playing several mornings. Our room was clean and well equipped, although as mentioned before the bathroom is a tad small. We got along just fine though! The outdoor shower actually turned out to be really nice and no worries, its pretty secluded. The food was very good and I thought it was fairly priced. My favorite was the grilled cheese at lunch and jerk chicken for dinner. We found the staff to be pleasant and friendly. They were always helpful but were never overbearing. We had a great time and will definitely stay at TP again if we return to Jamaica.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    113
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
116
524
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I came here with a bunch of friends for a wedding and we had a blast! The vibe, the scenery, the staff are all wonderful and it was incredibly relaxing and fun. Highly recommended for couples, a group of friends and/or family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JilliaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I spend my time in Negril split between the fun and wild times of the beach hotels and the serenity of Tensing Pen - up in the West End. The accommodations are the most romantic on the island. Friendly and helpful staff, great food and awe inspiring sunsets.

Tensing Pen is the antidote to life !

Room Tip: Rock cottage #1 ROCKS!!! beautiful / private view - steps away from the water. Very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PimentoWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Highlights: this property is nestled into the cliffs very nicely, with so many little areas to explore. The pool and snorkeling are lovely, and the whole family loved the bridge (no handrails!). It's a fairly quiet hotel, so if you're looking to stay away from the crowds this is perfect for you. The resident rhodesian ridgebacks wandering around are a fun addition. It seems that almost everything on site is hand-made and/or unique. I thought the food was fantastic, and lunch was a good value. Gardeners, cleaning staff and life guard were super friendly.

Drawbacks: The restaurant wait staff have a real attitude problem- they are very aloof, almost resentful, and lack genuine friendliness (although they aren't outwardly rude). Like, if you're paying $20 a plate for dinner maybe the waiter could at least look at you while taking your order? Bar drinks are pricey.

If it wasn't for the wait staff, I'd be falling over myself gushing over this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HazelsMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPManager, Manager at Tensing Pen Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We thank this guest for reviewing our resort. The comments will be helpful as we strive to improve our resort.

Joseph Smith
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent a relaxing, sun soaked week at Tensing Pen with a buddy and five 22 year olds- the boys stayed in the Long House and we took Red Birch Cottage-both were extremely comfortable and spacious. Really liked that we could get coolers for our cottages and have them filled with ice, beer and water everyday-made life very simple.

Many thanks to Gail,Ruth and Webster for keeping everything clean and never flinching about our odd sleep schedules.

Much thanks and praise to Georgia for the awesome daily deep tissue massages-best my back and body have felt in a long while-try her out -you will not be disappointed.

Shout outs to the kitchen and staff for some great dinners-particularly the curried shrimp, pumpkin snapper and nutty grouper.

Tensing Pen-every time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnorkelMan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed there 2 nights on our all around Jamaica trip.

The setting of the place is absolutetely fantastic : our room (north Pillar) had a high terrace with a direct view on the sea where you can sometimes spotted dolphins and enjoy fantastic sunset.
The resort, build on rock cliffs, surrounded by the sea is really beautiful, no doubt about it.

Unfortunetaly, service and confort are not up to the place.

Our room was original and cute, all in wood which was charming. But the bathroom was really small, with an outside shower barely ok regarding water pressure. I kind of like the experience to take my shower outside but some won't. It lacks confort and it is not suited for longer stay (unless you don't mind not washing your hair but i do mind ;). The room is a hut which means no isolation which is very nice to hear the sea (you feel like being in a boat) but less nice to hear dogs barking close by in the middle of the night. Insects are also of the party but luckily we had some big gekos in our room to take care of them. Again, I think it was fun and i enjoy it but some won't so be prepared.

My biggest disapointment was the service (not at reception nor parking nor housekeeping : they were all right, helpful and nice) but at the bar / restaurant area was really poor. The "manager" seems to be very not motivated and make no effort at all to make you feel welcome. Smile must probably be an expensive option on this model of "manager" and greetings are as rare as monkeys in Jamaica. The breakfast was really worth nothing. Bad coffee, some toasts with jam, and that is nearly all, no explanations when you arrive.....only the excellent fruits save it a bit...... Don't go there for food, very average (at least for breakfast and lunch).....but again, as i'm writing this, i just saw some dolphins popping in the sea in front of my balcony.....that makes it better.

It is also possible to do some yoga on a beautiful setting just right in front of the sea. The teacher Fanette has a long experience of teaching yoga in Paris, New York and Negril. We really enjoyed the class and her charismatic personality.

As a conclusion, I won't recommend this place if you' re looking for comfort, great service and food. I would also advise to avoid if you are thinking of a long stay. If you don't care about service, comfort and food, but satisfy with a more "hippie" standard, the great views of that place would do it.

Room Tip: North Pillar is great for the view and the hippie feeling....not good for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luve_Luxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPManager, Manager at Tensing Pen Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We thank this guest for the review. We find the some of the claims made by this guest simply shocking! My own personal recollection of the service offered to this guest is completely opposite to the asertions made about the "manager" and the restaurant staff.

I recall numerous occassions on which myself and the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to extend great kindness and excellent service to this guest and to grant the requests of this guest.

We are very proud of our accommodations. Our pillars our signature cottages. Obviously they are not for someone seeking the penthouse suite on the 50th floor of some grand luxuy hotel in Vegas. We not pretend that they are either. But if you want a truly unique tropical experience which you will find no where else then a pillar cottage at Tensing Pen is your best bet.

Think outside the box of a regular hotel room...make your booking for a cottage in our tropical wonderland today.

We wish this guest all the best and look forward to welcoming many of you to TP.

Joseph Smith
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Good: The property looks just like the pictures. The room was clean, though a few little things were broken (shower control, lamp, etc.). It is beautiful, safe and secluded.
Bad: Food was less than what I would have expected and so was the service. I'd eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in South Cottage and you can hear a dog bark all night. Ear plugs will take care of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodieHaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#5 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
6.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
3.8 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tensing Pen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tensing Pen Resort

Property: Tensing Pen Resort
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Negril
#6 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#9 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tensing Pen Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the West End of Negril, Jamaica in its own private cove, Tensing Pen is the ultimate destination for the discerning traveler offering a unique collection of beautiful hand-carved wood, thatch and cut stone cottages of varying sizes for the ultimate secluded and relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tensing Pen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tensing Pen Hotel Negril
Tensing Pen Negril
Tensing Pen Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing