We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful ~ will go back in a heartbeat !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tensing Pen Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tensing Pen Resort
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful ~ will go back in a heartbeat !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week at Tensing Pen. We have been to Jamaica a few times but this was our first time not at a huge, all inclusive.
This place is perfect if you want to relax in beautiful surroundings and have a more authentic Jamaica trip than at a monstrous all inclusive.
There are some insects and lizards ~ its the tropics after all. If you want a completely sanitized experience with nonstop pool games, loud music and tequila shooters this is NOT for you.
The property is a natural paradise. The service is unobtrusive ~ ie. No swim up bar... its not that kindof place.
The Rhodesian Ridgbacks: I made a love connection with the old matriarch, Shuga. I am a huge dog lover and these beautiful dogs obviously picked up on it. Shuga followed me everywhere: she laid under the massage table when I did that, she came to every meal with me, she waited at the boat launch for me when I went snorkeling and slept outside our door every night. I was very happy to have them around ~ they are guard dogs and do a valuable job keeping watch over the property. Tensing had some kind of nasty looking cyst that I think they were trying to treat so the staff had locked him away one night and he barked incessantly for about 4 hours that morning. The next day was better ~ they're just doing the best they can. Would be no different if your neighbor had a screaming baby or rowdy kids ~ sometimes you have to roll with it when you're traveling.
While on our snorkle boat we got to see all of the West End hotels from the water and Tensing Pen hands down has the best water frontage.
Even the much more expensive places have a small cliff front area where all the guests congregate but TP has lounge chairs and hammocks in enough spots that you never really have to see another guest if you don't want to.
We had the opportunity to stay in 3 different rooms during our stay. We had booked Garden A then on arrival just asked what else was available if we wanted an upgrade. The office staff was super in negotiating an upgrade to Rock Cottage II (our favorite) and Pine Pillar.
Pine Pillar has no air conditioning but its fine with 2 huge ceiling fans and a floor fan.
Our overall feeling was that Tensing Pen is a wonderful combination of the service and convenience of a hotel with the intimacy and quiet of a private villa. We absolutely LOVED it and will be back for sure!!
Thank you Tensing Pen staff from Tim and Heather :)
One Love.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesTP, Guest Relations Manager at Tensing Pen Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Tim & Heather,

Thanks for your review

It was a great pleasure of mine to have met you both.We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Glad we could assist you with an upgrade to enhance your stay even more. Tensing Pen is a laid back hotel, a tranquil and unique hotel that appeals to guest that needs complete relaxation. The staffs of Tensing Pen will go the extra mile to ensure that our guest needs are met.


Shuga ,Tensing & Beezie are great dogs, they are super friendly. Tensing is doing much better now. He is recovering fine. Shuga sends her love :)

Thanks again for coming and we look forward to your continuing support.

One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    111
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
112
501
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We've stayed two weeks in the Red Birch Cottage with our son and loved it. The view at sunset is amazing. Beds are really confy. Crew and specially Miky and Malcom are just adorable. Food is great, just do not arrive after 9 pm for dinner... No more smiles... We loved this place, anyway.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecile H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesTP, Guest Relations Manager at Tensing Pen Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for you review

It was good to have had you and your family at Tensing Pen Hotel. The memories still lingers with us, especially Mikey. The couple weeks spent was truly amazing.

We apologize for your unfortunate experience at the restaurant and we are looking into making future experiences better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ma.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just back from quick trip to Jamaica. This place is so relaxing , get up in the am walk down to lobby at 6:30 get that fresh cup of coffee, sit on the deck and watch the sunrise. Food is excellent, am free cont. breakfast - fruits, cereal, toast/bread (fresh and soft ) juice and coffee.

Walk across the street up 200 feet to the market - pick up your rum cream and 6 pack of red strip - put it in your room frig and relax on the private lounge areas on the cliffs sipping away and jumping into the ocean.

The dogs are cruisers - always around but never a bother. The staff is helping if needed - unseen if not.

Stayed in the Garden Cabin , cheapest room at Tensing Pen. Perfect ! it is at the end of the main driveway, sunken staircase to unit, king bed, only thing I can even think of that was a issue was the window lock in the bathroom was broken - so we stacked all of our red strips in there just to sleep a little sounder, most likely fixed by now.

The best burger in Jamaica - no make that the Carribean - is right across the street from the main gate - 30 feet AhhBees - It is sooo good DONT MISS IT !

Before going was worried about the road, vendors ect. harassing you walking to Ricks Cafe , it was fine.

When you hear this high screeching noise coming from far away , go find it - its the peanut man selling hot fresh peanuts from his cart - yumm! I think he walks up the road to Ricks every day.

Tensing Pen your the best ! We'll be back !

Room Tip: Not a bad room there, we stayed in the cheapest the Garden Cabin and loved it and the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plymouthmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesTP, Guest Relations Manager at Tensing Pen Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review.

This sounds like real vacation, just to get your fresh coffee in the morning and your icy cold restripes in the evening is a good feeling. This is what Tensing Pen is all about, finding time for yourself.
The staff members here at TP tries to give you space to enjoy the amenities while at the same time delivering good customer service.

Sorry about the broken window lock, the housekeeping staff told maintenance and this was fixed immediately. Once again sorry for any inconvenienced caused.

Thanks much for choosing Tensing and see you next time .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was our 8th February visit to TP.
It is more lush and beautiful then ever thanks to the hard working grounds crew, Niney and company. It is so great to see so many of the same staff year after year, they really are a huge part of what keeps us coming back. The wait/bar staff, Owen, Voliver, Malcolm, Donique and Sheldon all provide excellent service and many smiles. The food just keeps getting better and better. I look forward every year to Jennifer's special tofu dishes and my husband thought David's grilled lobster was the best he ever had. Love how Michael and Racine keep everything running poolside. The office staff and cleaning people could not be more helpful, totally gracious. The weather was perfect, actually everything was perfect! As always, we totally enjoyed the 3 dogs, especially Beezy, the youngest. Thanks for a wonderful week, TP!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rock cottage 2 for the first time this year, we loved it!! Then moved to pine pillar s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancsign5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Tensing Pen is located at one of the most beautiful locations I have seen in the Caribbeans. The dogs were great and the staff was friendly. Perfect place to stay to get away from the touristy areas and relax. There is plenty of great restaurants in the area and can get there by taxi. The restaurant at Tensing Pen was also very good, always a fresh and good meal.

I do need to mention and the only reason for a lower rating as I could not get the sleep desperately needed from my recent oversea work travels; please call ahead to ensure you are not staying in the South House. Other guests who have stayed at the property several times explained that the South House use to be one unit, but have divided it into an upper and lower unit. Well, there is NO sound barrier between the units and can hear everything (I mean everything) the guests above or below you are doing. The front desk stated there is nothing they could do for us as all the units were booked during our stay. I travel the world from Asia to Europe for work, just being in London prior to this trip to Jamaica for a much needed vacation and have had to stay at hotels which were more of a 2 star rating and never experienced anything like this before (I prefer not to know when the guests above me are in the restroom, their nightly routines and what they are planning for the day - I literally heard every conversation and motion they made). On a positive note the other units on the property appear not to have this problem. Guess I was just unlucky and thought I had booked one of their better units on Expedia which stated ocean and balcony views.

Room Tip: South House is great for a family for which a door can be opened to gain access to the upper and low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaniecw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have stayed at Tensing Pen for 4 nights in February 2014 - Garden A was the cottage we had.
In short: it was just amazing!

The whole property is located directly on the cliffs. You will get wonderful views of the sunsets and the sea, swimming is great here and for the brave there's a bridge you can jump from.
The rooms as well as the whole property were very clean and well taken care of. Three rhodesian ridgeback dogs were guarding the grounds, but don't be afraid, they are very calm and very lovely. Wifi was well available in almost all areas of the Tensing Pen. The food in the restaurant was quite good (possibly a little pricey).

Although this place is called "Resort" - don't expect to get one of these busy and crowded places with an animator to keep the people entertained or pumping beats from a far-too-loud music system. This place is calm, there's always a chance for a retreat on one of the well placed loungers or hammock but yet if you wish there is also the chance for chatting with the other guests or the staff.

Yeah, the staff! We've barely met so many nice people around on our trips. Everybody was so friendly and always smiling and you could really feel how lucky everyone was. It's just too much to point out all the names here but everybody did the best they could!
Yet I must specifically name Shanique here. For the next station in Jamaica we had already booked another room in Treasure Beach yet there was some trouble with overbooking. Shanique made it her personal goal to find us the best replacement for that other hotel possible, called what it seemed like hundreds of other hotels to check for room availability and finally got us an solution. This was not expected but SO helpful to us! Thanks a million times again!

All in all: We had a perfect stay!

Room Tip: Garden A is located a bit set back off the cliffs to the street side. On Jamaica car drivers usually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a week in Tensing Pen, Negril, from Jan. 3 to Jan. 9 this year. We chose Tensing Pen because it seemed to be the perfect location to relax and take in Jamaica’s sun and sea, in a romantic and cozy setting. Tensing Pen exceeded our expectations by far! Not only are the pictures you see on the web exactly what the resort looks like, but they actually don’t do justice to its beauty as well as to the breathtaking views of the sunset!! The resort is very well kept, with lush gardens and pathways, beautiful huts, hammocks and secluded areas to relax and soak up the sun. The pool overlooks the cliffs and the resto-bar area is very cozy, with a great authentic feel to it. Of course, our preferred way of going in the sea was cliff jumping from the resort’s various access points; the 7-mile beach is about 5-10min away by car, but the cliffs were a lot more fun for us than the sandy beach would've been (it seems one gets approached by local vendors quite often on the beach). One can do daily activities directly from the resort (snorkeling, pick-up and drop-offs for scuba-diving, adventure and sightseeing tours, and dolphin swimming – a must!). There are a few very nice restaurants only 5-10 minutes away. But before going out you might want to experience the in-house restaurant first: we were astonished by the quality of the food! The recipes combine French, local and international cuisine, with fresh daily fish and seafood that will blow your mind!! And the service is very professional and friendly (of course, tips are always appreciated and a friendly smile goes a long way). My boyfriend and I were celebrating our first anniversary there, so the staff arranged for a very romantic private dinner in a secluded hut away from the general resto-bar area on our last night (a service they offer). It was magical!

Rooms: we stayed in Garden Room A, which has air conditioning. It doesn't quite overlook the sea but you can get a glimpse from the porch. Regardless, we found it lovely, quiet and very clean! (Although there wasn't always hot water in the shower - but that didn't really annoy us given it was 30 degrees outside - and we're sure that if we had mentioned this to the staff they would've repaired it in an instant) ! (A note: wherever you stay, don’t forget to follow the staff’s advice and always keep your valuables locked in the room’s safe).

The resort’s dogs are the sweetest creatures you’ll find on the island, very friendly without being annoying and just so gentle. And the resort is small enough (not like a run-of-the-mill impersonal all-inclusive) so that you can get to know other guests if you feel like it. We met a few very interesting and fun people which we ended up hanging out with during a couple of evenings there. And all guests were very nice and polite, friendly.

Last but certainly not least, the staff: we were amazed at how friendly and helpful every single Tensing Pen employee was!! The staff was just delightful!! Always in a good mood and very respectful. We had some good laughs with the guys at the bar, our nice waiter, the maintenance staff and all the girls at reception!! A big thank you to: Tracey, Owen, Voliver, Razor (RB), Terrion, Sharon, Carlene, Webster, Mike, Bruce, Malcom, Shanik, Rasine and Shernette for their wonderful welcome and for making our stay so enjoyable (sorry for any misspelling)! Tensing Pen and its staff contributed to making our stay in Jamaica unforgettable. Next time we come back to the island, there’s no doubt: straight to Tensing Pen from the airport! :)

Wishing everybody there a great year and thanks again!! Christine & Dave

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the street which can get quite noisy at night. If you go with one of the Garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesTP, Guest Relations Manager at Tensing Pen Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Christine & Dave,

Thanks for your review.

We are over joyed to have had both of you at our little piece of paradise. Knowing that you have left our hotel with nothing but great memories.
We have an amazing team of staff members, that are very dedicated and devoted to our jobs. We go above and beyond to ensure that our guest needs and expectations are met.

I must apologize whole heartedly about not having any hot water, I wish you had reported this to the front office because I know it would have been dealt with ASAP, nevertheless your trip was amazing.

Please remember to spread the word to your fiends and we look forward to hosting you again at TP.

One Love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
128.8 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#2 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#4 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
6.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tensing Pen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tensing Pen Resort

Property: Tensing Pen Resort
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Negril
#6 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#9 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tensing Pen Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the West End of Negril, Jamaica in its own private cove, Tensing Pen is the ultimate destination for the discerning traveler offering a unique collection of beautiful hand-carved wood, thatch and cut stone cottages of varying sizes for the ultimate secluded and relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tensing Pen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tensing Pen Hotel Negril
Tensing Pen Negril
Tensing Pen Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing