We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting”
Review of Tensing Pen Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tensing Pen Resort
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Tensing Pen is a lovely property in a nice setting. The rooms (although very nice) were very musty and in dire need of a thorough cleaning! The staff were also lackluster and didn't really help to create a holiday experience for guests. All in all, I probably would not stay at Tensing Pen again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NixDHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    113
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
116
521
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This boutique resort was AMAZING! I stayed here back in October of 2013 for a wedding that I was apart of. Everything was absolutely wonderful. From the staff, to the food, to the awesome views, Tensing Pen is the perfect location for getting away from it all. Unlike many other resorts, this one is unique because it is very small and intimate. Although there is free wifi availiable, there is no tvs, computors, or any other stressful amenities. I do not know if I would recommend taking children, however. This resort is more for adults, since there is not much there to entertain a child. It is the perfect place for a couples vacation.

Everyone there is nice and caters to your every need. Oh and the pictures that you will see online WILL NOT do this place justice. GORGEOUS. All the rooms are unique, some with AC and some without. Although they say there is a cool breeze, I still would recommend the air conditioned rooms. Some of the other people who we traveled with us had the non AC rooms and complained that it was a little hot (in October).

The wedding itself was absolutely fabulous. If you are planning on getting married there, I would recommend booking way in advanced in order to have the entire property reserved for you and your guest. That way you get a more private feeling.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tesababy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Tensing Pen was the perfect place to spend our honeymoon. The hotel is kept immaculate, the people are so helpful and friendly, and you really feel like you've gotten away from it all. We loved the relaxed feel and the beautiful views from the cliffs. It was great to be able to come back to this relaxing location after being out on 7 Mile Beach. It east enough to take a 5 minute cab ride to 7 Mile if you want some quality beach time, but it was definitely nice to have the option to leave the area which feels very touristy. We stayed in the Cove Cottage which was really beautiful, but I don't think you could go wrong with any of the rooms. We'd like to stay in the Middle Pillar next time for the high view of the ocean and sunset. The food was amazing. The swimming was amazing. The people in the front office were very helpful with restaurant suggestions and arranging taxis to take us wherever we wanted to go.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cove Cottage which was really beautiful, but I don't think you could go wrong w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccccaaatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I got married at Tensing Pen in a bride and groom only ceremony last week. I first have to say thanks again to Shanique the T.P wedding coordinator who we exchanged multiple emails with in the months prior to the wedding. Very professional, patient, and hardworking (she also helps setup the wedding site) and she had everything we requested ready for the big day.

About Tensing itself; really gorgeous resort that never felt crowded at all (50% booked at the time we stayed there I believe). There are multiple ledges to jump into the water from (including the famous bridge) and multiple outdoor daybeds around the property. We felt very safe and everyone on staff we interacted with was very courteous and helpful. A self-serve continental breakfast spread is offered which consists of cereal, bread, PB&J, fresh fruits, coffee, and tea. We ate dinner at the resort twice which was good but if you want more of a local fare for breakfast or dinner you might have to go off-site (Sips and Bites a 5 min drive away has really good local food).

We stayed in Rock Cottage II which is their most popular room. The room has adequate AC and ceiling fan as well as a large porch with 2 outdoor daybeds, safe, in door bathroom, and a queen bed I believe. It is in a semi-private area of the resort with great views of the ocean from the front porch. We will definitely be back at some point in the future.

P.S If the couple that bought a bottle of Champaign for the bride and groom is reading this; we really appreciated it and wished we had the opportunity to say thanks!

Room Tip: We were in a room near the ocean (Rock Cottage II) and heard very little noise except the ocean. Gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Tensing Pen was a perfect vacation for relaxing. The staff was unbelievably attentive and helpful. The food was incredible. The first night I was there, I got a seafood rice dish that came with fresh vegetables. All of the food and juice was fresh and delicious! Every staff member was wonderful to deal with, especially the bartenders and servers! As a somewhat nervous traveler, I felt extremely safe at Tensing Pen (it was a gated community with a guard at all times). The views are absolutely breathtaking. There are cliffs with dazzling turquoise water. There are hammocks in the shade if you want to take a quick nap. There are also ladders into the ocean, which is so blue and clear. Overall, this was one of the best vacations I have ever taken!

Room Tip: There are some rooms that have AC. We stayed in the Red Birch Cottage and it had a powerful AC syste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a great time at Tensing Pen! The setting is beautiful, the room was comfortable and spacious (not fancy or modern). The location of Tensing Pen is really good !The staff were so friendly, the food at the hotel was delicious and all round an an amazing time - we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have been coming to Tensing Pen for 30 years and are always thrilled to be back. Laid back, beautiful, and fun, we can't imagine a better place to stay in Negril. The food is very good. Razor, the bartender, is hilarious. The staff can't do enough for you. We'd go on, but fear we won't be able to get reservations in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter. Most rooms close to the sea have dramatic views, but no air con...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mtsulvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesTP, Guest Relations Manager at Tensing Pen Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for making Tensing Pen your next home. Its a pleasure of ours to host you. Razor is indeed a character, he is energetic and full of life. He loves what he does. He loves serving you all.
Our food remains one of the best in Negril, clean and freshly prepared. We love what we do here at Tensing Pen Hotel and that's serving you.

Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Tensing Pen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#5 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
6.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,250 reviews
3.8 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tensing Pen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tensing Pen Resort

Property: Tensing Pen Resort
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Negril
#6 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#9 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tensing Pen Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the West End of Negril, Jamaica in its own private cove, Tensing Pen is the ultimate destination for the discerning traveler offering a unique collection of beautiful hand-carved wood, thatch and cut stone cottages of varying sizes for the ultimate secluded and relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tensing Pen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tensing Pen Hotel Negril
Tensing Pen Negril
Tensing Pen Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing